Earth Overshoot Day arrives worryingly early! | WWF Hong Kong

Earth Overshoot Day arrives worryingly early!

Posted
02 August 2017


Today, 2 August 2017, is Earth Overshoot Day, meaning that humanity has used up the amount of renewable natural resources that the Earth is able to sustain for the year. From today until 31 December, the natural resources we use will be “borrowed” from the future.

To put it another way, humanity would need 1.7 Earths to sustain its current lifestyle according to the latest research by the Global Footprint Network, which sets the date for Earth Overshoot each year.  In Hong Kong, the figures paint an even more dismal picture: if everyone in the world live a lifestyle of over-consumption on par with Hong Kong, we would need 3.9 Earths to fulfill our needs.

If we look at the past dates of Earth Overshoot we see a trend emerging, with the day arriving earlier and earlier each year. This means that we are consuming natural resources faster than ever before! It’s time we step back and reflect on our current lifestyle.

This year, Global Footprint Network launched #movethedate, in which people are encouraged to pledge to try out new habits to lower their personal Ecological Footprint in the hope of pushing back the date of Earth Overshoot to 31 December!

One way to lower our Ecological Footprint is to identify in which areas we are consuming the most and tackle those directly. Globally, carbon emissions account for 60 per cent of the Ecological Footprint – if we cut the emissions by half, we could push back Earth Overshoot by 89 days. Taking public transportation instead of driving, or riding a bicycle, are both ways to do this. In Hong Kong, personal transportation is the number one contributor to our Ecological Footprint, at the individual, family and company level, followed by food.

Remember, it’s up to each person to adopt a holistic, sustainable lifestyle and safeguard our planet’s renewable natural resources for future generations. We only need to push Earth Overshoot back 4.5 days each year to #movethedate to 31 December by 2050. Together, we can create a better and more sustainable future!
Earth Overshoot Day
© WWF-Hong Kong

地球透支日又再推前,自然資源消耗速度令人擔憂 | WWF Hong Kong

地球透支日又再推前,自然資源消耗速度令人擔憂

發表日期
02 August 2017


今天8月2日是地球透支日,意味着人類在未滿八個月的時間,便把2017年全年可用的自然資源消耗殆盡。從今天起,我們所消耗的自然資源都是從未來「借來」。
 
我們只有1個地球,但根據全球足跡網絡(GFN) 的最新研究,全球人類需要1.7個地球才足以應付我們所需。香港過度消耗的情況更甚。假若全球人類都以港人模式生活,將要耗用3.9個地球的資源才能滿足需求。
 
不難發現,每年的地球透支日愈推愈早,由2000年的10月提前至2014年的8月,日子亦由14年的8月19日步步推前至15年的8月13日及16年的8月8日,到今年已是8月2日。我們消耗的地球資源一直有增無減。是時候停下來了,反思一下自己的生活方式,給地球一個喘息的機會。
 
今年,全球足跡網絡(GFN)推出一個名為 #movethedate的活動,鼓勵參加者作出承諾,改變生活習慣,減少個人生態足印,務求將地球透支日的日期推延至每年最後一日。
 
我們首先要知道自己消耗最多甚麼資源,再去思量改善辦法。現時,全球60%的生態足印來自碳排放。假若所有人都能將自身的碳排放量減半,便能把地球透支日推遲89日。而身處香港的我們,大可以為減少碳排放盡一分力,例如選搭公共交通工具代替駕駛私家車,便是眾多方法之一。另外,每名香港人平均消耗最多為個人交通,食物排行第二。多購買本地貨品同時避免過度消耗,絕對有助減少碳排放。
 
除了減少碳排放外,培養出一套全面的可持續生活模式,也是替下一代守護好地球天然資源必不可少的一環。別再過度消耗地球資源,從今天起改變生活方式!其實我們每年只需將地球透支日推延4.5天,便足以#movethedate,在2050年前將透支日推延到12月31日。你我攜手,定能共創美好綠色將來!
 
地球透支日
© WWF-Hong Kong