Caterers, retailers and seafood suppliers gather for a good cause | WWF Hong Kong

Caterers, retailers and seafood suppliers gather for a good cause



Posted 29 May 2017
CW Cheung, Assistant Director, Conservation, Climate and Energy, WWF Hong Kong
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong
On 9 May 2017, WWF-Hong Kong organized the “Sustainable Seafood Business Seminar 2017 - How to Minimize Risk When Exploring Seafood Opportunities” to discuss the risk associated when sourcing seafood. Shrimp was one of the key seafood products highlighted in the seminar.
 
65 participants came together, including chefs and representatives from hotel chains, catering groups, clubhouses, theme parks, retailers, seafood suppliers and the Hong Kong Government. Speakers shared their experiences about the potential risks related to the supply chain such as environmental, legal and social risk.
 
Pakawan Talawat, Fishery Project Manager – WWF-Thailand cited shrimp farming in Thailand as an example to demonstrate how sourcing shrimp from farms using unsustainable farming practices could bear social and environmental risk because in some cases mangroves are destroyed to build farms, which will destroy the nursery areas for many marine species.
 
William Lau, Head of Supply Chain & QA – Maxim’s Caterers Limited and Makiko Karasawa, Ocean Gems Specialist – Indoguna Singapore Pte Limited talked about how their companies implemented sustainable seafood policies and shared their experiences and challenges from the perspective of a caterer and supplier.
 
To minimize the risk associated with the supply chain, sustainability and traceability should be addressed. Dr Allen To, Assistant Manager, Footprint Programme – WWF-Hong Kong and Sheryl Torres-Wu, Program Director, SE Asia and Hong Kong – Marine Stewardship Council explained the importance of local businesses sourcing sustainable seafood using the WWF Seafood Guide. He also outlined how companies can look for ASC and MSC certified seafood, and collaborate with WWF on a holistic sustainable seafood sourcing strategy, to ensure that seafood was sustainably and responsibly produced and is traceable from fishery to our plate.
 
To get every participant involved in the seminar, a poll was conducted identifying the biggest challenges of sourcing sustainable seafood in their company. Results showed that “lack of customer demand” was the biggest challenge followed by “relatively higher prices than non-sustainable seafood”. It implied that public engagement and education of consumers about sustainable seafood is an important element when implementing the policy. Although “relatively higher prices than non-sustainable seafood” ranked second out of the possible challenges to companies, some restaurant representatives in the seminar argued that the cost difference now was less of a problem compared to a few years ago on products such as lobster, shrimp and salmon. Participants were further encouraged to proactively increase the product range of sustainable seafood choices.
 
As the number of companies that serve sustainable seafood is gradually increasing, internal education and communication continues to be important. Due to the high turnover rate in F&B industry in Hong Kong, knowledge of sustainable seafood should be transferable among senior management and staff at the operational level, including frontline staff. Only in this way, the concept of sustainable seafood could truly take root in the minds of all the staff.
 
This year, the seminar was a great success as it gathered both established business leaders and new comers to exchange experiences and share what can be done to conserve our oceans by minimizing the risks associated with sourcing seafood. Together, we have to live and operate within the boundaries of what our planet can support, only then can we create a sustainable future for humans and the oceans!
CW Cheung, Assistant Director, Conservation, Climate and Energy, WWF Hong Kong
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge
Sustainable Seafood Business Seminar 2017
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge
Panel discussion in the seminar
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge

環保海鮮商界研討會2017:海鮮採購‧轉危為機  | WWF Hong Kong

環保海鮮商界研討會2017:海鮮採購‧轉危為機 



發表日期 29 May 2017
世界自然基金會香港分會環境保護副總監(氣候變化及能源)張志華
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong
世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)在2017年5月9日舉辦了名為「環保海鮮商界研討會2017:海鮮採購轉危為機 」的商界研討會。是次研討會以採購海鮮時所帶來的風險為主題,並以蝦作為引子,帶出更多討論。
 
研討會匯聚了65名來自不同界別的業內人士分享及交流意見,包括連鎖酒店的廚師及代表、餐飲集團、會所、主題公園、零售商、海鮮供應商及政府人員。大會亦邀得多名來自非政府組織、餐飲集團及供應商的講者,向參加者分享有關供應鏈的潛在危機,包括環境、法律及社會風險。
 
世界自然基金會泰國分會漁業項目經理Pakawan Talawat以泰國的養蝦業為例,指出泰國不時會有「先夷平紅樹林、後建立養蝦場」的情況,破壞了許多海洋物種的「育苗場」,若採購以此種非可持續方式養殖的蝦,便會為企業帶來社會及環境風險。
 
美心集團供應鏈管理及品質監控總監劉錦彪及供應商Indoguna Singapore Pte Limited的Ocean Gems Specialist唐澤真輝子分別從餐飲業及供應商的角度,講述如何開展採購環保海鮮政策,並分享當中的經驗及挑戰。
 
為減少涉及供應鏈的風險,企業應加倍留意可持續性及可追溯性的問題。世界自然基金會香港分會生態足印項目助理經理杜偉倫博士及海洋管理委員會(MSC)的Sheryl Torres-Wu(Program Director, SE Asia and Hong Kong)建議,本地企業可根據WWF的海鮮選擇指引採購環保海鮮,並尋找獲水產養殖管理委員會(ASC)及MSC認證的海鮮,與WWF合作制定環保海鮮採購政策,以確保海鮮是以可持續及負責任的方式生產,而且整條供應鏈從漁業捕撈至供給予消費者,均是可追溯的。
 
與會的參加者亦即場投票,選出公司於採購環保海鮮時遇到的最大困難。結果顯示,公司最大的挑戰為「缺乏客戶需求」,其次為「環保海鮮價格較高」,意味着應加強公眾對環保海鮮的參與及教育,以增加需求。雖然「環保海鮮價格較高」被選為另一大困難,但有部分餐廳代表反指,近年價格差距的情況已大有改善,部份海鮮如龍蝦、蝦及三文魚,來自可持續漁業及非可持續漁業的價格幾乎相同,業界可更積極增加環保海鮮的產品項目。
 
儘管提供環保海鮮的公司數目持續上升,公司的內部教育及溝通亦同樣重要。現時香港餐飲業普遍的員工流失率偏高,要將環保海鮮的概念真正植根於全線員工,企業必須將訊息傳遞予不同階層,包括領導層至營運層及前線員工,以向內部及公眾展示出良好的企業形象及信譽。
 
今年的研討會反應熱烈,為企業提供交流的平台,分享保育海洋、如何減低採購海鮮涉及的風險、以及怎樣才可讓本港環保海鮮市場更進一步。讓我們攜手以可持續的方式生活及營商,為人類及海洋的未來出一分力!
世界自然基金會香港分會環境保護副總監(氣候變化及能源)張志華
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge
環保海鮮商界研討會2017:海鮮採購‧轉危為機 
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge
小組討論
© David Teng / WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge