WWF Hong Kong - Symposium on Deep Bay Wetland Conservation

Symposium on Deep Bay Wetland Conservation



Posted 22 December 2016
© WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge
For a relatively small city Hong Kong has an incredibly rich biodiversity, especially in our wetlands. One example is the one-of-a-kind Mai Po Nature Reserve. Under the management of WWF-Hong Kong, the Reserve has become an iconic wetland for Hong Kong and South China – providing food and habitat for 60,000 individual birds from over 400 species every year. Alongside the Mai Po and Inner Deep Bay Ramsar site, the Reserve is home to various types of local wildlife including aquatic fauna, insects, amphibians, reptiles, fish and mammals.
 
Thanks to a generous donation by HSBC, starting from March 2015, WWF-Hong Kong has commenced a two-year project called “Discovering Biodiversity in Hong Kong Wetlands”. This project conducted over 15 types of ecological studies with the help of 450 openly recruited citizen scientists, in which the results determined the current biodiversity status of the Mai Po and Inner Deep Bay wetlands.
 
The Symposium on Deep Bay Wetlands Conservation will act as the wrap-up ceremony for “Discovering Biodiversity in Hong Kong Wetlands”. WWF will present the key findings of the DB project and, together with Shenzhen Mangrove Wetlands Conservation Foundation, host presentations and discussions with local and overseas wetland conservationists and environmental educators.
Date: 11, 12 February 2017
Time: Day 1 (11 February 2017): 9:00a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Day 2 (12 February 2017): 9:00a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum
Target audiences: Day 1 (11 February 2017): General public, students, teachers and environmental educators
Day 2 (12 February 2017): wetland managers, academics and researchers in ecology
Language:
 
Day 1 will be mainly conducted in Cantonese;
Day 2 will be mainly conducted in English and Mandarin
Symposium fee: Free of charge
Online application deadline: 31  January 2017 (application accepts in first-come-first-serve basis)

后海灣濕地保育研討會 | WWF Hong Kong

后海灣濕地保育研討會



發表日期 22 December 2016
© WWF-Hong Kong
香港面積雖小,但擁有富饒的生物多樣性,當中以濕地尤甚。由世界自然基金會負責管理的米埔自然保護區是本地及華南地區的標誌性濕地,除了為每年超過400種、60,000隻雀鳥提供食物及棲息地外,保護區連同整片拉姆薩爾濕地亦為多類本地生物如水生動植物、昆蟲、兩棲爬蟲、魚類及哺乳類等提供重要的居所。
 
承蒙滙豐的慷慨捐助,本會由2015年3月起舉辦了「香港濕地生物多樣性普查」。這項為期兩年的活動公開招募了超過450位「公民科學家」及本地多位物種專家參與研究,為米埔及內后海灣一帶進行超過15項的實地生態調查,全面更新米埔自然保護區的物種名錄。
 
這次《后海灣濕地保育研討會》將是「香港濕地生物多樣性普查」的總結活動。世界自然基金會將連同深圳市紅樹林濕地保護基金邀請本地及海外不同的濕地物種保育及教育專家,帶令香港市民認識濕地多元化的生物多樣性!
活動日期:  2017年2月11至12日
活動時間:  第一天(2017年2月11日):上午9時正至下午5時正
第二天(2017年2月12日):上午9時正至下午6時30分
地點 香港科學館演講廳
對象:
 
第一天(2017年2月11日):公眾、學生、教師及環境教育工作者
第二天(2017年2月12日):濕地管理人員、學者和研究人員
語言:
 
第一天:粵語為主
第二天:英語及普通話為主
費用: 免費
報名截止日期: 2017年1月31日 (先到先得) 
© WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge
© WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge