Bedfellows in a sea of trash | WWF Hong Kong

Bedfellows in a sea of trash

Posted
23 November 2017


The issue of marine litter in Hong Kong is a complicated one that must be tackled from a variety of angles. Source reduction is one important process that involves examining the origin of litter to stop it from entering our waters. In the case of Hong Kong, besides addressing our local sources, we must also look to our neighbour mainland China, and form cross-border partnerships, if we are to comprehensively tackle this problem and find a workable solution.

Why mainland China? Hong Kong is located at the mouth of the Pearl River which feeds marine litter into the SAR from a variety of sources. Litter comes from populated areas along the coast of China as well as cities and countryside areas located along tributaries of the Pearl River, especially during the wet season.

The recent China Ocean NGO Forum held in Dapeng, Shenzhen on 27-30 August provided a space for the mainland Chinese government and NGOs to jointly explore initiatives to reduce litter generation. WWF co-hosted a panel on marine litter, which discussed on the solutions through legislation to manage the production, usage and disposal of plastic products, developing a circular economy to prevent waste disposal, encouraging technological innovation and industrial transformation, and supporting extended producer responsibility.

WWF also organized a field trip for forum participants to Hong Kong to showcase its marine litter stakeholder engagement projects in Aberdeen and Tai O which spoke with a variety of groups from yacht clubs, dive clubs and water sports associations, to fishermen, villagers and district councilors. It also inspired them on new directions to educate and involve key stakeholders to conserve our marine environment, as well as highlighted the importance of inter-governmental and inter-NGO cooperation.

According to a study published in Science in 2015, China is one of the top contributors to plastic waste entering the ocean with an estimated 1.32-3.53 million metric tons of plastic marine debris generated in China in 20101. The major challenges that the country faces in combating marine litter are insufficient waste management and a lack of awareness of the problem.

To raise awareness, a group of environmental NGOs in China established the Coastal Cleanup and Monitoring Project with 17 monitoring sites along the Chinese coastline. This citizen science project has served to motivate and educate the public as well as provide useful baseline data about the source and magnitude of the marine litter problem.

Cleanups only address the superficial issue, not the core of the problem. Progress has also been made to this end, with the Mainland government stepping up enforcement against pollution sources, NGOs promoting waste management in rural villages, and corporations developing alternative materials to replace plastic. WWF also hopes for a closer partnership to be built between the Hong Kong and mainland governments. Although these steps are only the beginning of this new phase of tackling marine litter and the initiatives need to be scaled, there is hope that we can gradually tackle the root of problem and restore clean seas to the region.
 
1 Jambeck, J. R., Geyer, R., Wilcox, C., Siegler, T. R., Perryman, M., Andrady, A., Narayan, R., & Law, K. L. (2015). Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean. Science, 347(6223), 768-771.

中港攜手打擊海洋垃圾 | WWF Hong Kong

中港攜手打擊海洋垃圾

發表日期
23 November 2017


香港海洋垃圾問題嚴重,必須從多方面尋求解決方法,找出垃圾源頭,阻止它們流入大海。香港海洋垃圾除了來自本地,亦來自鄰近的中國大陸,所以我們需要建立跨境伙伴關係,以制訂全面而可行的解決方案。

香港位處珠江河口,河流經過的城市和鄉郊,以及沿岸人口密集的地區,都為香港帶來大量海洋垃圾,情況在雨季尤其嚴重,因此內地是香港其中一個主要垃圾源頭。

第二屆中國海洋公益論壇在8月27至30日於深圳大鵬舉行,為中國政府及環保組織提供平台,商討如何減少產生垃圾。世界自然基金會(WWF)參與主持其中一場有關海洋垃圾的專家會議,與各方討論立法規管製造、使用和棄置塑膠產品、發展循環經濟以減少產生垃圾、鼓勵創新科技和工業轉型,以及支持擴大垃圾生產者責任等議題。
WWF亦安排了一場實地考察,與參加者分享WWF在香港仔和大澳進行的海洋垃圾清潔計劃的成果,展示如何透過與不同的持分者,包括遊艇會、潛水會、水上活動團體、漁民、村民和區議員等溝通和合作,一同處理海洋垃圾問題。這次考察亦成功啟發參加者,如何透過開拓與持份者的關係,共同保育海洋環境的新方向,同時強調政府間及環保組織之間協作的重要性。

根據2015年在《科學》期刊刊登的一份研究顯示,中國是其中一個產生最多海洋塑膠垃圾的國家。單在2010年,估計有接近1.32至3.53百萬公噸塑膠廢料進入海洋1。國家缺乏完善的廢物管理系統和民眾欠缺海洋垃圾問題的意識,都是中國對抗海洋垃圾的一大障礙。

為了提高大眾對海洋垃圾問題的關注,多個中國環保組織發起了名為「守護中國海岸綫」的海岸清潔及監察計劃,並在中國沿岸設立了17個監測點。這個公民科學計劃旨在推動和教育群眾保護海洋環境,以及為海洋垃圾問題的來源及重要性提供有用的數據。

單靠清理海洋垃圾是無法解決問題根源。因此,內地政府加強執法,打擊污染源頭;環保組織在鄉村推廣廢物管理;企業發展其他材質代替塑膠等措施均有助改善情況。WWF同時期望香港和內地政府能建立更緊密的合作。雖然這些只是解決海洋垃圾問題的新開始,當中仍有很大空間繼續擴展和改善,但願大家能同心協力,逐步從根源解決問題,一起重拾清潔的海洋。
 

1 Jambeck, J. R., Geyer, R., Wilcox, C., Siegler, T. R., Perryman, M., Andrady, A., Narayan, R., & Law, K. L. (2015). Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean. Science, 347(6223), 768-771.