Marine recreation sector pitches in for cleaner seas | WWF Hong Kong

Marine recreation sector pitches in for cleaner seas

Posted
18 July 2018


Local marine recreation businesses and groups conceived ways to reduce marine litter generated by the sector at the recent WWF “Marine Recreation Brainstorming Workshop” under the ECF Sea Without Litter project. 
 
Several recurring themes emerged from feedback gathered from participants, which ranged from junk boat companies, diving companies, sailing and water sports groups.
 
“At boat parties, customers tend to forget which cup they were drinking from or where they placed it and use a new cup instead. More than 100 disposable cups can result from a single boat trip,” according to one participant. 
 
Another common refrain: “There is virtually no recycle bins at major public piers at Sai Kung, Aberdeen and Central. Even if we do waste – sorting on our boats, we don’t know where to put them.”  
 
While another says: “When we go for sailing activities and remind participants to prepare sufficient water, they often do so by buying bottled water rather than bringing their own reusable bottles.” 
 
According to a government-commissioned study, marine litter in Hong Kong commonly increases starting from May and peaks in August1, coinciding with the peak season of marine recreational activities. Although rainfall also contributes to the problem by washing shore litter into the sea, leisure activities generate large quantities of marine litter. 
 
WWF’s Sea Without Litter project, set up with support from the government’s Environment and Conservation Fund (ECF), encourages marine-related stakeholders to take a proactive role in reducing marine litter.
 
“Through our ECF Sea Without Litter program, we aim to engage the marine recreation sector to aid us in changing sector operations to reduce waste, encourage recycling and help us raise awareness on marine litter and our disposable culture to their customers and members,” said Patrick Yeung, WWF Project Manager, Oceans Conservation.“We have more than 30 groups joining our program and many more in support of us. It has been encouraging to know that awareness is rising within the sector and many are willing and prepared to change.”
 
One program participant, Hong Kong Yachting, was awarded the “Plastic-Free Transformation” Role Model Award for its efforts. In two of its boats, which receive more than 200 charters per year, the company replaced disposable plates, cutlery and serving trays with quality reusable ones. Water-dispensers were installed and single-use bottled water has been eliminated with no plastic bottled beverages provided. On-board waste is also sorted for recycling.
 
“Since these changes were adopted, we have cut eight rubbish bags of waste down to one bag for each of the two boats,” said Jessica Hargraves, Managing Director of Hong Kong Yachting.“It is also interesting to note that customers tend to abandon their canned beverages when they go lukewarm. We now provide cooler wraps for cans and 30 per cent less drinks are wasted as people tend to finish the whole can!”
 
The trend is catching on and a number of diving boats and junk boats are already using reusable and water dispensers,or have shown willingness to change if further support is provided by WWF. However, recycling boat waste remains a major issue as the lack of recycling facilities at piers provides no convenient outlet for recyclables. WWF is following up with relevant government departments to rectify that but progress will take time, which makes it important for customers to play their part by reducing waste and taking their recyclables with them to shore. 
 
Diving Adventure, winner of the “Creative Waste Reduction” Role Model Award, has taken a step further by reducing other types of waste. It has worked with a charity group to encourage the donation of diving equipment from retired divers to re-use in diving courses for the disabled. It also installed solar panels on six of its boats to extend the lifespan of their batteries and reduce fuel usage.  
 
Apart from boating activities, regattas, dragon boat festivals and water sports practices are held all year round, but summer time sees the highest gathering of these activities, generating large amounts of disposable plastic water bottles used by athletes.
 
Green Dragons Hong Kong, which is a collection of dragon boat teams, is the winner of our program’s “Member Involvement” Role Model Award. It is actively reaching out to members to pledge “ditch disposable” and to bring their own reusable water bottles to dragon boat practices and races. In addition, it supports regatta organizers efforts in switching to sustainable operations.  
 
“The problem is that teenagers and young adults do not find bringing their own reusable bottle trendy,” said Suzanne Younan, founder of Green Dragons Hong Kong.“We have to start with education to promote “Reusable is Trendy” and encourage these age groups to ditch single-use plastics for the sake of our environment.”
 
To bridge the gap, the Life Front-Line Sailing Ministry, winner of the “Clean Sea Education” Role Model Award, is incorporating educational material provided by WWF into some of their regular sailing training courses, such as by including talks on marine litter and 30-minute-beach-cleanups. Several other water sports groups are following suit in trying to raise awareness among their own members and students. 
 
“We look forward to more marine recreational groups joining our cause and doing what they can. But at the same time, we as customers and visitors of the sea must learn to take up the responsibility for our own litter,” said Patrick Yeung. “It takes changes in habits on all fronts, customers and businesses alike, to reduce waste generation and keep our seas clean.” 
 
More details about the ECF Sea Without Litter: http://wwf.hk/ECFSWLe


Reference
  1. Mott MacDonald (2015). Investigation on the Sources and Fates of Marine Refuse in Hong Kong.

海上康樂業正為潔淨海洋努力,你呢? | WWF Hong Kong

海上康樂業正為潔淨海洋努力,你呢?

發表日期
18 July 2018


遊艇公司、潛水公司、帆船及水上運動等團體最近出席了由世界自然基金會(WWF)舉辦的「海上康樂業研討會」,一起尋求從源頭減少海洋垃圾的方法。當日我們收集了不同團體的聲音,了解到業界的營運習慣和難處:
 
「在遊艇派對上,顧客不時會忘記用過哪隻杯或忘記將杯放置到哪裏去,最後會貪方便而使用新的杯。一次船河就棄置超過100個膠杯!」
 
「西貢、香港仔及中環的主要公眾碼頭都沒有回收箱,即使我們在船上進行垃圾分類,也不知如何處置。」
 
「我們舉辦帆船活動時,會提醒參加者自備充足的水。他們通常會購買樽裝水,而不攜帶可重用水樽。」
 
根據政府委託的一項研究,香港的海洋垃圾從五月開始增加,八月達至最高峰1,不約而同地與海上康樂活動的旺季一樣。雖然夏季的雨水會將岸邊垃圾沖入海,增加海洋垃圾量,但無可否認海上休閒活動亦會產生大量垃圾。
 
「透過『環保基金攜手護海洋』計劃,我們希望與海上康樂業合作,改善業界的營運習慣,從中減廢並鼓勵回收。同時,亦希望業界幫忙提高會員及顧客對海洋垃圾和即棄文化的意識。」WWF海洋保育項目經理楊松表示。「現時有30多個團體參與計劃,表示支持計劃的團體亦不少。業界內的意識正逐漸提高,許多團體已經或表示願意作出改變,令人鼓舞!」
 
這個計劃的參加者之一Hong Kong Yachting,獲得我們的「走塑轉型」綠色模範獎。他們於兩艘船轉用可重用的碟、餐具和托盤,又安裝了飲水機,以及停止在船上提供樽裝飲品以減少即棄膠樽。船上的垃圾亦會被分類回收。這兩艘船每年舉辦多達200次活動,措施減少了不少垃圾。
 
「自從採取了這些措施,每船的垃圾由八袋減少至一袋。」Hong Kong Yachting的常務董事Jessica Hargraves表示。「另外,我們留意到顧客往往會丟掉放暖了的罐裝飲品,我們特此提供了保溫套,他們現在多會飲完整罐飲品,減少浪費達三成!」
 
減廢潮流漸漸興起,不少潛水船和遊艇開始轉用重用餐具及提供飲水機,亦有公司表示如有WWF進一步的支援,會願意改變。然而,回收船隻廢物仍是一大難題。公眾碼頭欠缺回收設施,令不少船家因而卻步。WWF正與相關政府部門跟進相關措施,不過過程需時,當務之急是消費者盡量於出海時減廢,或幫忙把可回收物品帶返岸上回收。
 
除減少日常垃圾外,潛水歷險會進一步與慈善團體合辦儀器捐贈計劃,收集不再潛水的人士器材,供有需要的殘疾人士體驗潛水,減少浪費。公司在六艘潛水船上裝設太陽能發電系統,能延長電池壽命及減少消耗燃油。潛水歷險會於計劃下獲得「創意減廢」綠色模範獎。
 
遊船活動外,全年皆有賽船、龍舟及水上運動比賽和練習,夏季尤其頻密。此時,運動員會耗用大量的樽裝水。
 
Green Dragons Hong Kong,由數支龍舟隊集合而成,是「積極參與」綠色模範獎的得獎者。他們會招攬各龍舟隊成員承諾「踢走即棄」,在練習及比賽時自備重用水樽。此外,他們亦會協助比賽的主辦機構改善營運,減少比賽期間製造的垃圾。
 
「問題在於很多青少年和年輕人都認為自攜水樽很『老土』。」Green Dragons Hong Kong的創辦人Suzanne Younan道。「我們必須從教育着手,宣傳『可重用好潮』,並鼓勵這年齡組別為了環境着想而踢走即棄。」
 
生命前線帆船事工亦有此意。生命前線帆船事工是「海洋清潔教育」綠色模範獎的得獎者,他們在部分帆船課程中加插WWF提供的海洋垃圾教材,例如加入講座及30分鐘的清潔海灘活動。其他一些水上運動團體亦有意提高會員及學生對此議題的認識。
 
「我們期待更多的海上康樂業加入我們,並盡其所能減廢。與此同時,作為消費者和出海遊玩的我們必須學會承擔減少垃圾的責任。」楊松頴表示,「我們需要在各方面一起改變,消費者和企業攜手以減少製造廢物及保持海洋清潔。」
 
「環保基金-攜手護海洋」計劃詳情:http://wwf.hk/ECFSWLc


參考:
  1. Mott MacDonald (2015). Investigation on the Sources and Fates of Marine Refuse in HongKong.