Fighting for our future – OPY results sharing | WWF Hong Kong

Fighting for our future – OPY results sharing

Posted
07 August 2019


In 2017, WWF-Hong Kong launched the One Planet Youth (OPY) Education Programme to motivate young people, from ages 15 to 30, in different conservation actions. 

In the past year, over 260 new members joined the OPY Education Programme and worked with us on nature conservation. To acknowledge their efforts in the past year, a sharing on youth motivation in conservation was held in Hoi Ha Marine Life Centre in July. Youth participants of the OPY education programme, Mr. Peter Cornthwaite, CEO of WWF-Hong Kong and Ms. Sylvia Chan, the Chair of WWF-Hong Kong’s Education Committee gathered to discuss the projects youth led in the past year. 

“OPY is providing a platform for all young people who are passionate about nature conservation to implement their ideas and take action with us. WWF-Hong Kong OPY participants collectively contributed over 2700 hours in the projects, Earth Hour and citizen science in the past year”, stated Peter during his opening remarks. 

During the gathering, OPY leaders shared the results of the self-generated conservation projects.  During the year, project topics covered  various conservation areas including market research  on coral-safe sunscreen products, a hand drawn storybook to promote ocean conservation amongst children,  production of a guide for waste reduction,  promoting a zero-waste life and zero-waste camping. One of the OPY Leaders, Yiu Chuang, reflected, “I was fortunate to meet friends with the same values. Through the market research on sunscreen products, I   reconsidered what ‘responsibility’ is… As a consumer, we have to make responsible choices for ourselves, the community and nature”. 

OPY citizen scientists also shared their experience of conducting ecological surveys, such as recording the amount of marine litter under the sun, counting Black-faced Spoonbills in the rain at Mai Po, collecting photos from infrared cameras installed in Mai Po.  Wing Chan, one of the citizen scientists said, “The most memorable experience was to conduct crab, dragonfly and firefly surveys in the mangroves. It was my first time to walk along the floating boardwalk. The feeling was so special, like visiting a wonderland. The most surprising thing was to spot two species of fireflies in Mai Po—there weren’t many, but I was so lucky to see them.”

Four OPY Leaders traveled to Tokyo in April to participate in the City Nature Challenge 2019. Karol Fong, one of the participants shared, “When I compared the biodiversity between Hong Kong and Tokyo, I realized the richness of biodiversity in Hong Kong. I hope the people in Hong Kong will treasure what we have now. We should conserve our environment now before it is too late”. 

Concluding the event, Ms. Sylvia Chan, the Chair of WWF-Hong Kong’s Education Committee encouraged young people saying, “I am glad to know young people can turn ideas into action in creative and pragmatic ways. I hope all of you continue to support nature conservation in the future.”

WWF-Hong Kong will continue to support young people to take a spend on conservation issues and gain skills in our training workshops. The details of the 2019-20 One Planet Youth Leadership Training Programme and One Planet Youth Action- Citizen Science Programme will be announced in late August. Please stay tuned to the WWF-Hong Kong website and social media channels for further updates.

為未來出一分力 OPY青年分享努力成果 | WWF Hong Kong

為未來出一分力 OPY青年分享努力成果

發表日期
07 August 2019


世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF) 自2017年開展了One Planet 青年教育項目,希望透過不同活動,讓更多15至30歲年輕人參與自然保育。

過去一年,我們招募了超過260名新成員與本會共同為保育出一分力。為表揚他們的努力,WWF早前在海下灣海洋生物中心舉行了One Planet青年教育項目計劃分享會。當天出席的WWF行政總裁江偉智(Peter) 先生及WWF教育委員會主席陳美娟女士,連同各個One Planet青年教育項目參加者,就他們發起的小組項目作交流。

Peter在開幕辭中提到:「OPY為所有對自然保育充滿熱誠的年輕人提供了一個平台,與我們一同採取行動。過去一年,所有OPY成員進行了超過2700小時的保育及教育工作,包括小組項目,地球一小時及公民科學研究調查。」
分享會中,One Planet 青年領袖們分享了各個小組項目的成果。今屆的小組項目議題廣泛,包括推廣珊瑚友善防曬產品、自製繪本向小朋友傳遞海洋保育訊息、製作大型活動減廢指南、挑戰零垃圾生活模式及零廢露營等。其中一位青年領袖莊瑤道:「有幸遇上志同道合的夥伴,以市場調查及問卷調查的方式去了解防曬油污染,令我重新審視『責任』二字……作為使用者,我們應在衣食住行等方面作出對自己丶社區及大自然負責之決定。」

此外,One Planet 青年公民科學家也分享了進行生態調查時的經歷,如烈日當空下到沙灘進行海洋垃圾調查、毛毛細雨下在米埔記錄黑臉琵鷺的數量、走遍整個米埔收集紅外線相機內的相片等。其中一位公民科學家陳頴宜分享道:「最深刻是在紅樹林進行蟹、蜻蜓和螢火蟲調查,尤其是第一次踏上浮橋,感覺很特別,好像進入了仙境。此外,晚上找到米埔的兩種螢火蟲也絕對是個驚喜,雖然數量不多,卻非常慶幸可以看得到。」 

為了開拓年輕人的國際視野,One Planet 青年教育項目亦提供機會讓青年參與其他國家的保育項目。今年四月,4位青年領袖遠赴日本參與「東京城市自然挑戰賽2019」。參加者之一方梓熒在比較香港與東京的生態後,發現香港的生物多樣性確實非常豐富:「希望香港人可以更珍惜我們現在擁有的資源,好好保護環境,不要完全發展後才後悔。」
活動完結前,WWF教育委員會主席陳美娟女士特別勉勵青年人:「見到青年人將理想化成有創意及『貼地』的行動,真的非常高興,希望他們能繼續努力,為環境保育作貢獻。」

WWF將會繼續積極為青年提供參與自然保育的機會,透過工作坊及親身體驗,提升青年對環境保育的熱誠。有關2019至2020年度的「One Planet青年領袖培訓計劃」及「One Planet青年行動公民科學計劃」詳情,我們將於8月下旬公佈,請密切留意WWF網站及社交媒體。