Trawling Ban in Hong Kong Waters takes Effect from Today: Estimated 20 to 30% Increase in Population of Marine Fish in Five Years



Posted 31 December 2012  |  en  |  zh
Since 2005, WWF-Hong Kong has tirelessly campaigned for a ban on trawling in Hong Kong waters. We are delighted to note that this long-waited trawling ban finally comes into effect on 31 December 2012. We applaud the ban and see it as a bold and encouraging step taken by the government on local marine conservation. This first-ever fisheries management measure will safeguard the diversity of marine life and ecological integrity of marine environment. Populations of marine fish like croakers and groupers should increase by 20 to 30 percent from now on. WWF hopes that the Hong Kong government will continue to provide support to the affected fishers and help them switch to other livelihoods such as marine eco-tourism. We also urge the government to implement Marine Spatial Planning, which will allow Hong Kong to allocate marine resources most sparingly to achieve ecological, social and economic objectives.

The practice of trawling has resulted in the indiscriminate catch of different marine species and has brought detrimental damage to the seabed over the past few decades. It is also believed to be one of the main reasons leading to the almost collapsed status of the marine ecosystem in Hong Kong. According to the fisheries scientists, it was predicted that five years after the implementation of the trawling ban, populations of squid and cuttlefish would increase by 40 percent and those of reef fish by 10 to 20 percent, populations of larger fish, such as groupers and croakers, would surge by 30 to 45 percent (See attachment). In the long term, the increase in fish catch will result in the stability of supply and quality of local seafood, and the public will also be able to enjoy a healthier marine environment.

Responding to the argument that trawling ban may impact the livelihoods of fishermen, Ms Samantha Lee, Senior Conservation Officer, Marine of WWF-Hong Kong stated that, “WWF has been actively engaging with fishing communities, marine related business operators and the government for one year. We believe that developing marine eco-tourism would unlock the potential of the sea and provide viable alternative livelihoods for the fishermen. WWF also urges the government to continue to help the affected fishers to switch jobs, consult the relevant stakeholders and formulate a holistic policy towards sustainable marine eco-tourism.”

WWF points out that apart from overfishing, the rampant coastal development also contributes to the depletion of marine resources. WWF urges the government to implement Marine Spatial Planning (MSP) immediately, which will put sound strategies and plans in place while ensuring better conservation of marine life, and better utilization of marine resources. Through this proactive and integrated planning approach, society will be able to achieve the ecological, economic and social objectives.
Hang Trawling
© Alan Leung/WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge
Government should help affected fishermen to switch jobs
© Clarus Chu/WWF-Hong Kong Enlarge

即日起禁拖網捕魚 海魚數量可望回升二至三成 WWF建議漁民轉型生態旅遊 | WWF Hong Kong

即日起禁拖網捕魚 海魚數量可望回升二至三成 WWF建議漁民轉型生態旅遊

發表日期
31 December 2012


由2012年12月31日起,禁止在本港水域拖網捕魚的法例正式生效。世界自然基金會香港分會自2005年起致力提倡禁止拖網捕魚,對法例明日終於正式落實深表欣慰,同時亦讚揚政府過去積極推動此海洋保育政策。研究顯示法例可以有效恢復本港海洋生態,令到海斑、黃花魚等海魚數目,可望在五年內增加最少二至三成。本會建議政府應盡量協助受影響的漁民轉型發展海上生態旅遊,同時盡快採納「海洋空間規劃」,令海上資源得以適當保護和應用,從而達致生態及發展平衡的長遠目標。

拖網捕魚的過程令各類海洋生物被「一網打盡」,同時亦對海床上的生態做成干擾和破壞,為本港海洋生態的健康構成極大影響,成為本港漁業資源枯竭的主因之一。而禁止拖網捕魚將可以對漁業界、海洋環境以及公眾三方面帶來正面影響,包括令海洋生態系統得以恢復,令魷魚和墨魚數量可望在五年內增加40%,珊瑚魚數量可增加10至20%,而體形較大的魚類,例如紅衫魚和黃花魚的數量,更可大幅上升30至45%(見附表)。長遠來說,漁獲增加使本港的海鮮供應數量漸趨穩定,海鮮質素將有所提升,同時公眾亦可以享受更健康的海洋環境。

對於有指法例實施後,將令漁民生計大受影響,世界自然基金會香港分會高級環境保護主任(海洋)李美華指出,本會已積極與受影響漁民、遊艇和潛水協會等相關持分者溝通,認為發展海上生態旅遊可以成為漁民未來出路之一,建議政府積極協助漁民轉型,盡快制定一套全面、具體的政策,並與各界合作,積極推動及發展海上生態旅遊。

世界自然基金會補充,除了過度捕魚之外,本港多個大型基建項目,包括填海工程和航運發展等亦對本港海洋生態環境造成影響,建議政府同時開展「海洋空間規劃」,一改被動及只就單一項目進行評估的模式,重新分析和有策略地分配海上的空間和資源運用,訂立海洋管理準則,定期監管以及評估海洋發展,確保海上資源得以適當保護和應用,從而達致生態平衡、經濟利好以及社會和諧的目標。