WWF Hong Kong - "I'm FINished with Fins" Campaign Launched in the World's Shark Fin Trade Capital

"I'm FINished with Fins" Campaign Launched in the World's Shark Fin Trade Capital



Posted 02 July 2013
“I’m FINished with Fins”
© SHARK SAVERS Enlarge
WWF-Hong Kong is partnering with Shark Savers, WildAid, National Geographic and Nat Geo Wild to launch the “I’m FINished with Fins” campaignin Hong Kong—the world’s shark fin trade capital. This grassroots campaign has been a huge success in Singapore, Malaysia and Taiwan. Here in Hong Kong, the campaign is asking 100,000 Hong Kongers to pledge through an online platform not to consume shark fin soup, and educate the public that it is socially acceptable to say “no” to shark fin.

“Our previous campaigns raised global awareness regarding the vital role of sharks in the marine ecosystem,” said Jonn Lu, Director of Shark Savers Asia Pacific. “Now the entire world is watching Hong Kong and asking us to do the right thing. We are here to show future supporters that refusing to eat shark fin soup is a personal decision. If shark fin soup is served to you at a banquet, it’s fine to say no and people should respect your choice.”

More than 90 local politicians, business leaders and celebrity ambassadors have joined the campaign. Dozens of these notable people officially stepped forward as the first to take the pledge, urging others to join them in this shark conservation campaign.

The public are welcome to join the same pledge by signing up at the campaign’s microsite platform. An Android app will be coming soon, which will allow residents to create digital portraits that are identical to the 90-plus evocative black and white “I’m FINished with Fins” ads. These portraits feature prominent local celebrities and public figures including Markus Shaw, Sharon Kwok-Pong, Tanya Chan, Gigi Chao, Alex Fong, Jessica Hsuan, Jun Kung, Real Ting, Jennifer Tse, Kay Tse and Anthony Wong Yiu-Ming.

Sharks are apex predators, crucial to sustaining balance within our marine ecosystems. According to The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red List, only 15 sharks and related species were considered threatened in 1996; over the next decade this figure had soared by 12 times and by 2010, over 180 species were considered threatened. This is partly due to the increasing interest by scientists in assessing shark species for the Red List, but also reflects ongoing declines in some shark populations.If shark populations collapse, many other marine species could be affected.

“The future of many shark species is literally in the hands of Hong Kongers,”said Mr. C.W. Cheung, Head of WWF-Hong Kong’s Footprint Programme. “Hong Kong accounts for 50 percent of the global shark fin trade. The Hong Kong government has the opportunity to demonstrate leadership in protecting sharks, starting with adopting a no shark fin consumption policy for their own official events." He added that "existing trade practices fail to provide information on shark species levels, so people may be unknowingly consuming endangered sharks.” 

The National Geographic Channel and Nat Geo Wild will broadcast special programming throughout July and August to support this campaign. “Save the Shark Month” programmes will premiere on Monday 8 July, with a simulcast airing on NGC Nat Geo Wild and NG HD, and continue every Monday and Friday at 9:35pm on Nat Geo Wild. In addition to dedicated programming, the channels will also air celebrity endorsements with the aim of raising awareness and educating the public about sharks.

For latest updates on the “I’m FINished with Fins” campaign, upcoming events and other supporter activities, please visit the official campaign website here:http://www.finishedwithfins.org/.
“I’m FINished with Fins”
© SHARK SAVERS Enlarge
Shark fins laid out on the streets to dry and for trimming/cleaning before selling.
© Jurgen Freund/ WWF Enlarge

「一翅都唔食」全民運動於全球魚翅貿易中心起動 | WWF Hong Kong

「一翅都唔食」全民運動於全球魚翅貿易中心起動

發表日期
02 July 2013


世界自然基金會香港分會聯同護鯊行動、野生救援協會、國家地理頻道和國家地理野生頻道一起發佈「一翅都唔食」(I’m FINished with Fins)全民運動。活動曾登陸新加坡,馬來西亞和台灣,並在各地得到廣泛支持。護鯊行動將「一翅都唔食」全民運動帶來香港這個全球知名的魚翅貿易中心,呼籲10萬港人到網上宣誓支持,停止食用魚翅;同時教育公眾尊重個人拒絕魚翅的選擇。

護鯊行動亞太區主任呂子佰先生表示:「我們之前的保育活動提高了人們對鯊魚保育的意識,並瞭解鯊魚對海洋生態系統的重要性。現在香港保育鯊魚的進展備受全球注目,並期望我們香港人能夠作出一個正確的決定。我們一同聚集在這裡的目的,就是想告訴仍在猶豫的大多數人,拒絕在婚宴或商業晚餐食用魚翅是個人選擇及可被社會接受的決定。」

超過90名本港政要、商界領袖和藝人等參與該項運動,其中十多名知名人士,包括知名歌手方力申先生、陳淑莊女士、及藝術家Simon Birch更於發佈會挺身而出,公開宣誓「一翅都唔食」,並鼓勵大眾一同加入護鯊行列。

公眾可到「一翅都唔食」網上宣誓平台作出承諾,而另一個智能手機應用程式亦將快與大家會面:公眾可以透過該程式,為自己製作一張黑白型格人像照,與90多位知名人士一同承諾「一翅都唔食」。已拍攝活動海報的名人及藝人包括:邵在德先生、郭秀雲女士、陳淑莊女士、趙式芝女士、方力申先生、宣萱小姐、恭碩良先生、丁子高先生、謝婷婷小姐、謝安琪女士和黃耀明先生等。

鯊魚是海洋的頂級獵食者,對維持海洋生態系統平衡至關重要。根據《世界自然保護聯盟紅色名錄》,於1996年,只有15個鯊魚及其相關品種的數量被受威脅,但在2010年,數字便超過180個,短短10年間增長了12倍。雖然部分原因是愈來愈多科學家根據紅色名錄的準則對此進行評估,但數字亦反映一些鯊魚及相關品種的種群數量持續下降。假如鯊魚絕種,其他海洋生物亦難獨善其身。

世界自然基金會香港分會生態足印項目主管張志華先生表示:「香港每年處理全球魚翅貿易約50%,為讓鯊魚可持續發展,香港政府實可以此作大前題制訂無翅公務飲宴守則。另一方面,從消費角度,我們亦無法從目前的銷售渠道中得悉魚翅源自哪個品種,吃下瀕危品種也不自知。因此,今次的活動正好提供一個平台,集結公眾「一翅都唔食」的意願。透過簽署承諾書,在仍可挽救之時,我們仍可聚『鯊』成塔,帶來鯊魚保育效果。」

國家地理頻道和國家地理野生頻道將橫跨7月至8月播出名為“救鯊任務”的特備節目,以作支持。“救鯊任務”將於7月8日(星期一)在國家地理頻道、國家地理高清頻道及國家地理野生頻道三台同步首播,之後逄星期一及五晚上9時35分在國家地理野生頻道播出。此外,頻道亦會播出一眾城中名人為活動錄製的宣傳片段,以宣揚活動宗旨及教導大眾如何為鯊魚保育出一分力。

有關「一翅都唔食」全民運動的最新消息、相關活動和支持者動向,請瀏覽活動網頁:http://www.finishedwithfins.org
「一翅都唔食」
© SHARK SAVERS
街上曬乾或待修剪的魚翅
© Jurgen Freund/ WWF