Environmental Finance | WWF Hong Kong

Environmental Finance



 
	© leungchopan / shutterstock.com
Climate change is a major issue that goes beyond visible catastrophic risk. One area where climate change risk most likely lurks is embedded in your investment portfolio. WWF-Hong Kong is responding to growing awareness among institutional investors about climate change risks to their investments. While some investors in Europe and the US have been taking action on the issue, this type of awareness is currently relatively low in Asia. It is our mission to raise awareness on climate change among local institutional investors. Understanding the need for positive returns to your portfolio, we believe that returns need not be sacrificed for a greener portfolio.
 
Our two finance experts, who are long-time veterans of the investment banking industry, together with our scientists, engineers and policy professionals, have published a 160+ page document to provide fundamental knowledge of climate change for the institutional investor community in Asia. The report provides an overview of the science of climate change, an articulation of global policy around the issue, a survey of technological approaches to the problem, and an outline of the various financial entities and resources involved in addressing climate change. 
 
We will hold a series of workshops from August to December 2018 for qualified institutional investors and other financial professionals. For more details on the workshops, please email environmentalfinance@wwf.org.hk.


 


WWF-Hong Kong is working to effectively use global capital markets to facilitate climate change mitigation and adaptation, and become an effective conduit for climate finance-related information to the institutional investment community in Hong Kong and throughout the region, while improving transparency in Asia-Pacific listed corporations. With an aim to help the Asian investment community gain a greater understanding of carbon risk and its effect on corporate balance sheets and income statements, we work to influence the investment community and advise them on the risks and opportunities involved with climate change and how to incorporate them into their investment decisions. We also strive to educate the public of climate risks by encouraging them to avoid investing in carbon-intensive stocks, and helping them seek green or sustainable funds as investment options.

環境融資 | WWF Hong Kong

環境融資



 
	© leungchopan / shutterstock.com
氣候變化對投資者的影響遠遠超出了可見的災難性風險,而這些風險最有可能潛伏在投資組合中。在歐洲和美國,部分機構投資者已響應呼籲,避免投資在高碳排放產業。世界自然基金會香港分會環境融資項目的核心目標,正是推動亞洲的機構投資者在這方面起步。我們當然明白投資回報的重要,不過投入氣候融資並不等於犧牲投資回報,反而有着不少升值潛力。

本會兩位在投資銀行界有豐富經驗的投資專家與我們的科學家、工程師和政策研究學者發表了一份長逾160頁的《氣候變化概覽:投資者須知》(只備英文版本),為亞太地區投資者分析氣候變化帶來的威脅、全球各國的政策以及應對氣候變化的新科技。報告亦有概述各種金融實體和資源如何應對氣候變化。

我們將會在今年8月至12月為合資格投資者和金融從業員舉辦一系列的工作坊。如果想了解更多工作坊的詳情,可電郵至environmentalfinance@wwf.org.hk


 


本會致力善用全球市場資本,以減緩和適應氣候變化。本會亦有為香港及亞洲機構投資者提供有關氣候融資的資訊,並提升亞太地區上市公司的透明度。透過推動亞洲投資者了解碳風險及其對企業財務狀況的影響,我們希望讓投資者明白氣候變化帶來的風險和投資機遇,從而作出明智決定。與此同時,我們亦致力提升香港市民對碳風險的關注,令他們在投資時選擇符合可持續發展原則的投資產品,並避免投放資金於高碳排放的行業。

氣候變化概覽:投資者須知

(只備英文版本)Climate Primer for Institutional Investors