Renewable Energy | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© Global Warming Images / WWF

Renewable Energy

In order to keep the global temperature increase below 2°C, one of the main talking points of the Paris Agreement was the fact that fossil fuels must eventually be phased out. The development of renewable energy is one of the most important keys, if not the most important key, to tackling climate change.

The electricity generation-related carbon emissions from urban areas is estimated to contribute to as much as 70 per cent of total carbon emissions in Hong Kong. As one of the world’s leading cities, Hong Kong is obliged to pursue robust efforts to develop renewable energy, make our fuel mix sustainable and reduce our carbon emissions as much as possible.

Renewable energy is sustainable energy which comes from nature such as the sun, the wind and the ocean. Renewable energy technologies are rapidly becoming more mature – according to International Renewable Energy Agency, renewable energy generation in Asia took up 42% of global share by 2017, a growth of 13.1%. This is encouraging, as renewable energy capacity is growing at a much faster rate than fossil fuels.

Introduction to renewable energy

To address Hong Kong’s global responsibilities and cut our carbon emissions by 2020, the Hong Kong government plans to increase the use of natural gas in our fuel generation mix. Unfortunately, this will not be enough to prevent climate warming. WWF believes that the only viable solution is to develop a policy roadmap for the development of renewable energy here in Hong Kong.  

The development of renewable energy should begin with a feed-in tariff, a mechanism whereby individuals and businesses that generate renewable energy can feed the power they generate into the electricity grid and receive payment for it. 

On 25 April 2017, the government and the power companies signed new Scheme of Control Agreements, which propose the introduction of the Feed-in Tariff and Renewable Energy Certificates. WWF-Hong Kong welcomes the government’s adoption of our recommendations by setting the initial Feed-in tariff rate at an attractive level of HK$3-HK$5/kWh for solar and wind systems with a guaranteed rebate period of 15 years.

While fossil fuels still dominate our energy market, WWF believes that by 2050, it will be possible for Hong Kong to obtain 85 per cent of its energy from renewable sources.

How does the feed-in tariff encourage investment?

By 2050, the urban share of the global GDP will be about 85 per cent. The world’s cities will have enough people and resources to change the future of energy. WWF is working with the local community to drive the development of renewable energy forward. We firmlybelieve that by working together, we can make renewable energy possible.
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
How does the feed-in tariff encourage investment?
© WWF-Hong Kong

可再生能源 | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© Global Warming Images / WWF

可再生能源

為使全球升溫幅度控制在攝氏2度內,《巴黎協議》指出化石燃料終須淘汰,所以,發展可再生能源就是對抗氣候變化不可或缺的一環。全球能源所產生碳排放,城市佔七成,香港作為國際都會,我們更應致力發展可再生能源,達至更環保的發電燃料組合,分擔減排重任。

可再生能源是來自大自然,例如太陽、風和海洋產生的可持續能源。隨着相關技術愈趨成熟,可再生能源發電量亦顯著增長,根據國際可再生能源機構資料,2017年亞洲的可再生能源發電量佔全球發電量百分之42,增長達百分之13.1。情況令人鼓舞,相信可再生能源的發展可較化石燃料更快。
 

甚麼是可再生能源?

香港政府計劃於2020年前增加天然氣發電以減碳,但這不足成就攝氏2度以內的減排目標。世界自然基金會相信,為本港發展可再生能源訂立政策藍圖,才是唯一出路。

上網電價 (Feed-in tariff) 往往是不同政府發展可再生能源的第一步。它為可再生能源投資者提供合理和穩定的回報,鼓勵個人投資在可再生能源之上,為可持續的未來出一分力。

政府與兩間電力公司於2017年4月25日簽定了新一份《利潤管制協議》,引入了上網電價政策及可再生能源證書制度。世界自然基金會歡迎政府採納本會的建議,將上網電價定於合理水平,包括把太陽能及風力發電系統上網電價定為每度電3至5港元,並規定回扣期為15年。

雖然現在化石燃料仍主導我們的能源供應,不過本會相信在2050年前,香港可將可再生能源發電比例提升至百分之85。  

上網電價怎樣鼓勵投資?

預測2050年前,城市將會佔全球生產總值約百分之85,絕對有能力、有資源去改變能源的未來。世界自然基金會在香港正積極與社區合作,連繫每一個香港人,攜手成就可再生能源的未來。
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
上網電價怎樣鼓勵投資?
© WWF-Hong Kong