WWF Recognizes Eight Manufacturers that are Helping to Build a Quality Pearl River Delta (PRD) Low Carbon Region | WWF Hong Kong

WWF Recognizes Eight Manufacturers that are Helping to Build a Quality Pearl River Delta (PRD) Low Carbon Region



Posted 08 November 2011
WWF-Hong Kong is delighted to announce the news that eight manufacturers which joined our Low Carbon Manufacturing Programme (LCMP) have been accredited with LCMP labels, rewarding them for significantly reducing their carbon emissions. The average annual reduction in their carbon intensity was 7.2 percent in 2010. For profiles of these manufacturers, please see Appendix 1.

The LCMP helps measure manufacturers’ effectiveness in reducing carbon emissions and equip them with best practices in greenhouse gas management. As of today, there are 32 factories with over 40,000 staff participating in LCMP. LCMP shares common ground with China’s twelfth Five-Year Plan, which formalised a target of a 17 percent reduction in carbon intensity.

Dr Kitty Poon, Under Secretary for the Environment said, "The three governments of Hong Kong, Guangdong and Macau are consulting the public on the findings of a study on the Regional Cooperation Plan on Building a Quality Living Area, which outline initial proposals for transforming the Pearl River Delta region into a low-carbon, high-technology and low-pollution city cluster of quality living. By improving their energy efficiency and reducing emissions, private enterprises have an important role to play in the region's drive towards a low-carbon and sustainable development pathway."

The implementation of the LCMP will raise a company’s energy efficiency standards to the best practice level and uncover operational inefficiencies. This is a simple and effective method of saving money in the long run (see Appendix 2 for details). Nowadays, consumers across the world pay attention not only to the price and quality of the products they buy, but also to a brand’s transparency and its efforts to control carbon emissions.

“The LCMP ensures that low-carbon manufacturing practices are properly taught, learned and implemented along the supply chain and is a useful tool to help manufacturers improve their image and competitiveness while doing business with the US and European brands”, said Karen Ho, Business Engagement Leader, Climate, WWF-Hong Kong. One of the awardees, Leedarson Lighting, achieved the highest annual carbon intensity reduction in 2010 (over 24%), and was invited by their customer Kingfisher - Europe's leading and the world’s third-largest home improvement retailer - to join the LCMP.

WWF-Hong Kong believes that carbon reduction is not only the responsibility of manufacturers but also the responsibility of listed companies in Hong Kong. In April 2011, Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEx) started to provide training for listed companies on Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) reporting and preparing for consultation on a draft ESG Reporting Guide. “We believe that the HKEx ESG Reporting Guide will result in further reduction in carbon emissions, as well as data collection, measuring and verification in both Hong Kong’s and the PRD’s business and industry communities. The manufacturing supply chain definitely plays an important role in supporting the ESG Reporting and LCMP is a practical tool that manufacturers may rely on in measuring and monitoring their carbon performances”, said Karen Ho.

世界自然基金會表揚八間獲低碳標籤認證的製造商於建設優質低碳珠三角的貢獻 | WWF Hong Kong

世界自然基金會表揚八間獲低碳標籤認證的製造商於建設優質低碳珠三角的貢獻



發表日期 08 November 2011
八間獲得認證的低碳製造商
© WWF-HK
世界自然基金會香港分會頒發「低碳製造計劃」(LCMP)標籤予八間獲得認證的製造商,表揚他們於減少碳排放的顯著成績。根據去年的數據,八間製造商的碳排放強度平均每年減少達7.2%,有關製造商簡介請見附錄一。

LCMP協助製造商訂立目標及量度減碳成效,並裝備他們實踐溫室氣體的最佳措施。截至今天,共有32間製造商、合共超過4萬名員工參與LCMP,以配合中國「十二五」規劃訂下減少17%碳排放強度的目標。

環境局副局長潘潔博士說:「香港、廣東及澳門三地政府正就《共建優質生活圈專項規劃》(《專項規劃》)的初步建議進行公眾諮詢。《專項規劃》提出了將大珠三角地區建設成一個低碳、高科技、低污染的優質生活城市群。透過加強節能和減排措施,企業在推動大珠三角地區的低碳經濟和可持續發展上擔當重要的角色。」
LCMP的措施將提升製造商的能源效益標準,達至行內的最佳守則水平,並可提升營運效率,協助企業長遠節省成本(見附錄二)。如今,世界各地的消費者不僅著重產品的價格和質量,品牌的透明度和減排力度也是備受關注。

世界自然基金會香港分會氣候項目商業參與總策劃何美娟表示:「LCMP確保低碳製造的措施能通過供應鏈有效地傳授及實踐,是一個能幫助與歐美品牌合作的製造商改善企業形象和企業競爭力的有效工具。」於2010年減少碳排放強度最高(超過24%)的立達信綠色照明有限公司便是一個好例子,他們是獲客戶— 歐洲最大、全球第三大的家居建材零售商Kingfisher 邀請參加LCMP。

世界自然基金會香港分會相信減碳不僅是製造商的責任,也是香港上市公司的責任。 2011年4月,香港交易及結算所有限公司(香港交易所)開始為上市公司提供有關環境、社會及管治(ESG)方面的匯報培訓,並準備就草擬ESG匯報指引進行諮詢。何美娟說:「我們相信香港交易所的ESG匯報指引將推動珠三角的商界及製造業進一步減碳,包括數據收集、測量和驗證等。製造業的參與亦有助完善ESG匯報制度,LCMP是製造商可信賴的碳排量檢測工具。」
八間獲得認證的低碳製造商
© WWF-HK Enlarge
環境局副局長潘潔博士
© WWF-HK Enlarge
八間獲得認證的低碳製造商
© WWF-HK Enlarge