Protecting Chinese white dolphins | WWF Hong Kong

Protecting Chinese white dolphins



 
	© Samson So
The Chinese white dolphin is a top predator species and an excellent indicator of the health of our marine ecosystem. Hong Kong is part of the home range for the Chinese white dolphin population in the Pearl River Estuary. But today, just 32 individuals frequent Hong Kong waters, a decline of more than 80 per cent in the last 15 years. Only 16 calves were spotted over the last year, representing a mere 1.5 per cent of the total sighted dolphin number. The record-low figures highlight the urgent need for immediate action to save the species.

Chinese white dolphins were once common in waters off north and northeast Lantau. But with ongoing and proposed construction developments and reclamation works, including the third airport runway project, Tung Chung New Town Extension, and Siu Ho Wan Reclamation, they now rarely frequent the area. Some individuals were found shifting their home range southwards to west and south Lantau waters, which may be one of the few remaining core habitats in Hong Kong.

Since late 2016, WWF-Hong Kong has been conducting underwater sound studies to examine potential human activity impacts on local cetaceans (specifically, dolphins and porpoises) off south and west Lantau, and around Soko Islands. Findings taken from the deployment of underwater recorders in the study area indicate that dolphins face challenging conditions off south Lantau, stemming from boat and ship noise disturbance, and potential collisions with vessels. Maritime activities along the vessel channels are expected to be more frequent due to marine development projects underway or commencing in the next 10 years.




Rerouting ferries away from key dolphin habitats, setting up a speed restriction zone in south Lantau waters, and reducing ferry shifts are three potential measures WWF has been exploring to mitigate the impact of marine traffic. 

WWF urges the Government to take immediate action to save Hong Kong’s dolphin by managing the western and southern waters off Lantau Island as a dolphin conservation management area, with critical foraging and resting habitats strictly managed for vessel traffic and speed. Existing marine parks could be expanded and connected to establish a science-based, well-connected, and well-managed network of key habitats to help stabilise and recover the remaining dolphin population. Critically, vessel traffic and noise, as well as dolphin ecotourism activities, must be stringently managed in these waters in order to give the remaining dolphins a chance for survival.

The December 2017 upgrading of the Chinese white dolphin’s IUCN Red List status from near-threatened to vulnerable adds greater urgency to the need for the government to establish additional marine parks and act on marine traffic mitigation measures.




Read about the Tai O Dolphin Watching Interpreter Pilot Programme ", an eco-tourism project, designed to increase public understanding of ecological issues and threats faced by the dolphins. This project involved the creation of tailor-made sightseeing tours and dolphin-friendly guidelines for walla walla motorboat operators.

Learn more "about the Chinese white dolphin."
HYDROPHONES CAN SAVE HK’S DOLPHINS 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
HYDROPHONES CAN SAVE HK’S DOLPHINS
© WWF-Hong Kong
Learn more about hydrophones 
	© Oceans Instruments NZ
Learn more about hydrophones
© Oceans Instruments NZ

Learn more about hydrophones

 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
A safe haven for dolphins
© WWF-Hong Kong
Map of Threats to the Chinese white dolphins - 3rd runway 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Map of Threats to the Chinese white dolphins
© WWF-Hong Kong
Audrey Tam 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Audrey Tam
© WWF-Hong Kong

Audrey’s story

保護中華白海豚 | WWF Hong Kong

保護中華白海豚



 
	© Samson So
 
中華白海豚是海洋中的頂級掠食者,也是衡量海洋生態是否健康的絕佳指標。牠們棲息在珠江河口及附近的水域,香港水域也是其中一部分。根據最新統計,現時本港水域只有32條中華白海豚,較15年前大跌超過80%。此外,政府在過去一年的研究只發現16隻年幼海豚,僅佔海豚總數的1.5%。創新低的數字突顯了立即採取拯救行動的迫切性。

中華白海豚過去常見於大嶼山北部和東北部水域。由於這些海域正進行各項建築發展及填海工程(包括第三條跑道工程、東涌新市鎮擴展工程和小蠔灣填海計劃),現時海豚已很少出沒大嶼山東北部水域。牠們出沒的範圍漸漸南移至大嶼山西面及南面海域,而這些水域有可能是香港為數不多的海豚核心棲息地之一。

自2016年底以來,WWF一直進行各項水底聲音研究,以探討大嶼山西和南部以及索罟群島一帶水域人類活動對本地鯨豚(特別是白海豚和江豚)的潛在影響。研究結果顯示,海豚在大嶼山南部海域因與船隻碰撞的高風險和船舶噪音干擾正面臨極艱巨的生存挑戰。由於離岸發展項目在未來10年將不斷增加,預計海上活動更加頻繁,對海豚的威脅也將大幅提升。
 


WWF正在研究三個可行的解決方案,分別為改劃航道避過海豚棲息地,南大嶼海域設立船隻限速區,以及減少船隻班次,以緩解海上交通對鯨豚的影響。

WWF強烈建議政府盡快將西及南大嶼山一帶水域劃為海豚保育管理區,在區內重要的海豚覓食和社交棲息地嚴格管理海上交通及限制船速;擴大和連接現有海岸公園,使其連貫並有效地管理和保護海豚的重要生境,建立具科學根據的海洋保護區,從而穩定海豚數目並使其得以恢復。為了拯救受威脅的中華白海豚,該海域的海上交通、噪音,以及觀豚活動都必須受嚴格規管。
 
於2017年12月,中華白海豚在《世界自然保護聯盟瀕危物種紅色名錄》的保育評級由「近危」上調至「易危」,代表白海豚即將成為瀕危物種。政府必須盡快設立更多海洋保護區,並實施海上交通的緩解措施,減低對中華白海豚的威脅。
 

 
本會與大澳當地營運商合作以負責任的生態旅遊模式進行觀豚導賞活動,讓市民了解中華白海豚現正面臨的威脅及相關的保育議題。該計劃為小艇船家度身訂造一套海豚觀賞守則,希望令活動對海豚的影響減至最低。
 
了解更多中華白海豚的資訊
 
用水底錄音機
救救中華白海豚 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
用水底錄音機 救救中華白海豚
© WWF-Hong Kong
了解更多水底錄音機計劃 
	© Oceans Instruments NZ
了解更多水底錄音機計劃
© Oceans Instruments NZ

了解更多水底錄音機計劃

 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
本港海豚棲息地
© WWF-Hong Kong
中華白海豚面對之威脅 - 3rd runway threat map chi 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
中華白海豚面對之威脅
© WWF-Hong Kong
Audrey Tam 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Audrey Tam
© WWF-Hong Kong

AUDREY的故事