Hong Kong’s gas supply is stable. No need to sacrifice dolphin and porpoise habitat | WWF Hong Kong

Hong Kong’s gas supply is stable. No need to sacrifice dolphin and porpoise habitat



 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Hong Kong’s power companies recently proposed setting up a floating LNG terminal near Soko Islands, the only place in Hong Kong where both Chinese white dolphins and finless porpoises can be found. Yet a thorough study of the construction impact on the marine habitat is missing from the environmental impact assessment (EIA) report submitted by CLP. Read more

The government promotes the move towards reliance from coal power to cleaner natural gas. WWF-Hong Kong approves of cleaner energy too. But get the gas from the mega LNG facilities in Dapeng, Shenzhen. There’s no need for a risky LNG platform near endangered marine mammals and their habitats.
 
Pledge now
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

Come clean on clean power

CLP says Hong Kong doesn’t have the land to generate 1% of total electricity with renewables like solar power. WWF-Hong Kong begs to differ. The city can generate 10% of the total with solar using just its reservoirs. In other words, zero land. And what about habitat-friendly off-shore  wind power? If Hong Kong wants clean energy, then CLP should come clean. Stop trying to mess with our marine ecology.


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

Pipe dream? Or nightmare?

CLP says the three LNG pipelines from the mainland China put us at risk of supply disruption if there’s another tragedy like the Shenzhen landslide (Google it). But aren’t all pipelines vulnerable – including the proposed new facility which will pump its gas into the local energy network, uh you guessed it, by pipeline? We can achieve energy security from the existing Shenzhen LNG terminal (by pipeline). Lowering the risk to our sensitive marine habitats and endangered species. Hey, that’s a risk worth taking.


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

Pricey? or just dicey?

CLP says the facility will allow them to import LNG more directly from the global market at world prices benefitting everyone. Um. Can CLP please share the prices it currently pays for existing sources of gas and tell us please  how consumers will benefit? We can access world markets now, from up north at the Shenzhen LNG terminal. That way our sensitive marine habitats and endangered cetaceans would benefit more directly too.


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

It’s OK. You pay.

WWF-Hong Kong guesses the commercial appeal of this investment is because the billions invested will make a guaranteed return of 8% under the scheme of control with government (it’s complicated). Ka ching! By the way,  Hong Kong’s electricity users (that’s you) will pay the bill whether or not we use the gas facility. Our dolphins and porpoises will pay with their lives. The power companies should stop messing with our precious marine ecology!


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

Click louder, I can’t hear you.

Piling will be so loud these mammals will be essentially “blinded” as they use echolocation (using clicks and whistles) to feed and socialize. CLP says the mammals will just “stay away” from the area during construction. Yes, perhaps in the  busy shipping lanes nearby where they risk collision with passing marine traffic. Hong Kong needs sustainable options managing its natural spaces.


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

It’s cool. But that’s bad.

The discharged water from the facility will be nine degrees cooler than the surrounding temperature. Brrr. There’s no way of knowing how this temperature change will hit dolphins, porpoises and fish species. Why? The modeling in the EIA study was  not conducted based on worst case scenarios. An impact assessment should not be approved until proper studies are complete.


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

Mind the gap

CLP says it is aware construction will be noisy undersea. But there is a huge gap in our knowledge about how far the noise will spread during construction since there was no proper study. WWF-Hong Kong demands credible noise modelling before this misguided and misplaced project goes forward. Hong Kong is off course with LNG boats.


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

Reclamation decimation

WWF notes, with shock, views from the Chief Executive favouring reclamation to solve Hong Kong’s chronic land/housing shortage. Hong Kong has more than enough land for housing on its brownfield sites. Hong Kong doesn’t need more threats to its marine environment by reclamation, it needs a government that can assemble readily available brownfields for housing.


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

This gas project sucks

The LNG terminal will operate 24-7, 365 days a year. Substantial amounts of warm seawater will be sucked into the machine to warm up the LNG, along with any fish, larvae and eggs in the area, especially at peak spawning seasons in December, March and May. Hong Kong is off course with LNG boats, stay away from MPAs.


 

Joint call to halt CLP EIA report

A group of concerned experts, fishermen, conservationists and business operators issued a joint letter urging CLP to provide more information before the government approves this flawed EIA!
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

香港天然氣供應穩定 毋須犧牲江豚海豚的家園 | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© WWF-Hong Kong


兩電最近計劃在索罟群島一帶興建海上液化天然氣接收站,位置正在香港唯一同時有中華白海豚及江豚出沒的水域。不過中電提交的環評報告欠缺工程對海洋物種影響的全面分析。了解更多
 


政府建議減少對燃煤發電的依賴,並增加使用天然氣。世界自然基金會香港分會支持採用更潔淨的發電方法。不過,我們可先從深圳獲取液化天然氣儲備,無需於鄰近瀕危海洋生物棲息地的海域興建液化天然氣接收站。
立即簽署
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【真正乾淨的潔淨能源】

中電以土地問題解畫,話香港無地發展只為全港提供1%總電量嘅可再生能源。真係咁?WWF認為,我地只需喺水塘頂裝置太陽能發電系統,已可為這城市提供10%的電量。換句話說,根本不需任何土地!再者,其實我地可以選一啲生態敏感度低嘅海域去發展離岸風力發電場。如果香港希望有潔淨能源,麻煩中電用啲真正乾淨嘅方法發展。唔好再用啲其實會破壞海洋生態嘅童話去混淆大家視聽啦!


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【管道玄機?還是危機?】

現時有三條液化天然氣管道從內地接駁至香港,中電指稱一旦深圳再發生山泥傾瀉,便有機會中斷給香港供應天然氣。咦?唔係所有管道都有被損嘅可能㗎咩?唔通計劃中嘅新設施唔係用管道將氣體輸往本地能源系統?現時深圳嘅液體天然氣接收站已可提供一定嘅能源保障,香港無需再起多個海上天然氣設施,唔起對敏感海洋生態及瀕危物種就會少一分威脅,何樂而不為?


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【錢?還是險?】

中電指稱,新設施可以讓佢地更直接從外國市場入口天然氣,「國際價格」可更大幅度造福香港人群。係?咁中電可唔可以同大家講吓而家比緊幾錢購買天然氣?顧客如你我,使用「國際價格」又可着數幾多?我地而家從深圳輸入液體天然氣,都已經連接住國際市場嘅價格,而呢個方法,肯肯定對敏感海洋生態及瀕危物種有更大益處。


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【OK呀!你畀吖嘛!】

WWF估計,中電呢項過億投資,其實純屬商業考慮,皆因喺與政府協定嘅「管制計劃」之下,佢地就輾轉確保得到8%嘅回報!無論我地有無用到呢個天然氣設施,用家(即係你)都一樣要付賬。而我地嘅中華白海豚同江豚,就更加有機會連命仔都要畀埋佢!電力公司唔好再破壞珍貴嘅海洋生態啦!


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【吓!大聲啲吖唔該!】

打樁工程嘈到拆天,會搞到該水域嘅海豚聽覺受損兼斷六親。因為佢地係靠自己發出嘅口哨聲及嘀嗒聲做回聲定位,覓食及社交都係靠呢啲海底回聲!中電就話海豚會在工程進行期間避開吓,係呀,避去附近交通超䌓忙極容易被船撞倒嘅水域吖嘛!香港需要一些可持續嘅方法去管理自然環境。


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【凍水凍過水】

設施嘅排水比該水域嘅海水低9度,呢個溫差,究竟對海豚及其他海洋生物造成幾大影響?環評報告內的冷水分散模型根本冇就最差的情況去做分析同評估,試問環評點可以就咁就草草通過?!


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【唔知當無事?】

中電承認興建工程會喺海底造成噪音,但喺環評報告入面根本冇做任何研究,去計算啲打樁噪音實際會傳到幾遠。呢份報告咁粗疏,喺作出任何審批前,WWF要求中電即刻要做返個有公信力的打樁噪音模擬測試。香港根本不應有海上天然氣船。



 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【填海殺戮】

WWF又驚訝發現,特首對填海作為解決土地及房屋問題的選項,原來情有獨鍾。香港現存的棕地面積,遠超於建屋用地需求,根本無需犧牲海洋環境來填海,我們真正的需要,是一個懂得加快處理現存棕地以解決房屋問題的政府。


 
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong

【氣站吸水兼吸命】

天然氣站全年無休,不單會吸入大量溫暖的海水去暖化天然氣,無數魚、幼蟲及魚卵,亦會隨水被氣站吞掉,尤其在12月、3月及5月的產卵季節,情況更加不堪。香港不需要海上天然氣設施,請遠離海洋保護區。


 

聯署要求擱置中電環評報告的批准許可

一眾鯨豚類專家、漁民、保育人士及營商者聯署促請環境保護署署長及環境諮詢委員會成員暫且擱置中電提交的環境影響評估報告(環評報告)的批准許可,直到中電提供更全面、審慎的噪音及水質模擬分析。
 rel=
© WWF-Hong Kong