Message from the CEO | WWF Hong Kong

Message from the CEO



 Hong Kong’s coastal habitats and oceans are rich in biodiversity, with close to 6,000 marine species recorded in the territory. But the future of our biodiversity is at stake, and some previously common fish species are close to extinction. The threats include climate change, marine litter, development, unregulated fishing practices and escalating marine traffic.
 
If everyone in the world led the lifestyle of Hong Kongers, 4.2 Earths would be needed to cope with our drain on renewable natural resources, a significant increase from the 2016 figure of 3.9 Earths. This high consumption lifestyle has far-reaching effects. Hong Kong needs to build biodiversity considerations into trade, investment and infrastructure decisions, and expand its marine protected areas system to the 30 per cent of coastal waters global standard of coverage.
 
We are also focusing our attention on the opportunities for sustainable development across the Greater Bay Area. We are working closely with WWF-China and other partners to identify the challenges and potential risks on both marine areas and coastal wetlands. From 2000-2015, the Greater Bay’s Ecological Footprint increased by 75 per cent! As the majority of Hong Kong’s food is imported from mainland China, there is immense pressure on natural resources from our city’s unsustainable consumption patterns.
 
A shift in our daily habits, coupled with support from business and government, can help to stem the runaway consumption that is impacting the habitats and natural resources we depend on. We can all play our part to Change the Way We Live. It’s time to create a New Deal for Nature and People and secure a better future for our oceans and our planet.

Peter Cornthwaite
Chief Executive Officer
WWF-Hong Kong
 
WWF-Hong Kong Annual Review 2018
 
CEO update
 
Transform Hong Kong into Asia's Most Sustainable City
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Peter Cornthwaite
© WWF-Hong Kong

行政總裁的話 | WWF Hong Kong

行政總裁的話



主席及行政總裁的話
香港有接近6,000種海洋生物,沿岸及海洋生態非常豐富。不過,一些本地早年常見的魚類正瀕臨絕種,而氣候變化、海洋垃圾、發展工程、無規管的漁業、愈趨頻繁的海上交通等因素,都正威脅着我們的生態未來。
若全球人類都像香港人般生活,我們將需要4.2個地球才可滿足對可再生自然資源的需求,數字較2016年的3.9個地球大幅上升。港人這種高消耗的生活模式對全球有深遠影響,因此我們必須改弦易轍,在商貿、投資及基建等範疇上多考慮生態環境,並應遵循國際標準,把本地30%水域劃為海洋保護區。
與此同時,我們亦應把握機遇,投入大灣區的可持續發展。本會現正與中國分會及其他夥伴合作,確認區內海洋生境及濕地面臨的挑戰及潛在威脅。令人吃驚的是,在2000年至2015年間,大灣區的生態足印足足上升了75%!由於香港大部分食物都由中國內地進口,意味港人不可持續的生活方式正對鄰近地區的自然資源帶來極大壓力。
如果人人願意從生活着手,加上商界和政府配合,我們就可以改變不受控的高消耗生活模式,紓緩對生境及自然資源的壓力。生活習慣的細微改變,可以令世界不再一樣。就讓我們一起邁步向前,為人類及大自然開拓生態未來。
 

世界自然基金會香港分會
行政總裁 江偉智
 
世界自然基金會香港分會2019年度報告
 
行政總裁資訊 (只限英文版)
 
帶領香港成為亞洲 最可持續的城市
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
江偉智
© WWF-Hong Kong