What would you like to search for?

Community Engagement Projects
© WWF-Hong Kong

The future of our planet depends on all of us. Together, we can tackle environmental challenges to ensure that nature will continue to thrive alongside future generations. WWF-Hong Kong’s education mission is to create conservation and sustainability advocates across generations through fun and engaging real-life experiences. This work is supported by a variety of partners who work closely with us to create innovative programmes that engage people from all walks of life to become a voice for nature in their communities. Through these partnerships, corporates contribute to conservation, foster a sense of environmental stewardship in their staff, management and the younger generation, and make a lasting positive impact on local communities.

THE BODY SHOP – LIVING WITH LESS PLASTIC

The Body Shop sponsored the “Living with Less Plastic” project that focused on marine plastic pollution. Over its nine-month run, 15 individuals aged 18-24 were designated as Youth Conservation Leaders. Their mission was to promote “no single-use plastic” messages to the wider community through conservation actions facilitated by WWF and their own innovative projects. Comprehensive training workshops were conducted to equip these future leaders with skills and knowledge, covering topics such as marine biodiversity and conservation, the ecological footprint and project management skills. After undergoing training, the young participants were able to effectively communicate conservation messages through projects they designed themselves.

Three teams were formed to develop and execute these community projects. Their efforts were concentrated on three types of waste: single-use bottles, Styrofoam boxes from wet markets and body care product containers. The projects took various formats, including video production, behavioural surveys, educational booths, and market research. Their initiatives reached over 2,500 community members.

SC JOHNSON – CHAMPIONING A CIRCULAR PLASTIC ECONOMY

Plastic pollution is a grave threat to the planet – in Hong Kong alone, over 29,000 tonnes of plastic enter the environment annually. The low recycling rate in the city further underscores the need for education and transparency in transitioning to a circular economy. SC Johnson sponsored a six-month programme to educate and raise awareness about plastic circularity, promote daily recycling and restore trust in Hong Kong’s recycling industry.

The programme's first component was a “Plastic Circularity Public Education Workshop”. It attracted over 200 individuals, educating them about the importance and benefits of transitioning to a plastic circular economy and giving them hands-on experience with plastic upcycling.

Stage two was a Recyclable Styrofoam Circularity Survey that collected baseline data on disposed Styrofoam boxes and fruit wrapping in wet markets, aiming to raise awareness and propose solutions to reduce Styrofoam waste. The survey revealed that retailers generally have positive attitudes towards solving this problem and were open to implementing better disposal methods and exploring reuse options.

Enquiries

您想搜索什麼?

社區參與項目
© WWF-Hong Kong

地球的命運取決於人類之手,我們必須攜手應對環境挑戰,確保自然與下一代能共同茁壯成長。世界自然基金會一直透過趣味活動、親身參與和體驗,培育新一代保育和可持續生活方式的倡導者。這些公眾教育項目得到不同企業夥伴及社區團體的支持和推動,企業通過這些合作項目,不僅能對保育做出貢獻,更能為企業的員工和新生代培養保護環境的意識,對社區產生積極正面的影響。

THE BODY SHOP –「減塑生活 : 青年行動計劃」

以海洋塑膠污染為重點的「減塑可能 : 青年行動計劃」在The Body Shop的支持下,選出15名18至24歲的青少年擔任保育領袖,並由世界自然基金會香港分會的教育人員帶領下提供全面的培訓工作坊,傳授不同技能和知識,主題包括海洋生物多樣性及保育、生態足跡和專案管理等。保育領袖接受培訓後,可透過其設計的專案於社區內有效宣揚保育訊息。

三組保育領袖團隊主要聚焦以下三種類型的廢物執行社區專案:即棄塑膠樽、菜市場內的發泡膠箱和身體護理產品容器。團隊通過視頻製作、行為調查和市場研究、教育展位推廣等方式,成功向逾2,500名社區人士傳達「向一次性塑膠說不」的保育訊息。

美國莊臣 SC JOHNSON –「讓塑膠循環再生計劃」

塑膠污染對地球構成嚴重威脅,單是香港每年產生超過29,000噸廢塑膠。香港的低回收率亦凸顯了本港市民需正視廢棄塑膠問題,進而實現減塑為本的循環經濟。世界自然基金會香港分會在美國莊臣支持下,推出「讓塑膠循環再生」項目,旨在教育和提高公眾對塑膠循環再生的認識,提高日常回收的意願,並恢復對香港回收業界的信任。

項目首階段為逾200名公眾人士舉辦了「塑膠循環旅程工作坊」,目的在於建立大眾對塑膠再生可行性的信任,從中了解循環經濟的重要性,並藉此讓他們親身體驗塑膠循環的旅程,進一步推動環保教育。

第二階段是針對發泡膠循環再生可行性的研究,本會的保育團隊到菜市場收集發泡膠箱和水果包裝產品的基準數據進行調查,盼能提高大眾對發泡膠危害環境的認知,並提出減少本地發泡膠使用量的解決方案。調查結果顯示,本港零售商普遍對減少發泡膠使用持積極態度,並願意採取正面的處理方法和探索更多元化的方式實現循環經濟,為社會和環境帶來積極的影響。

企業查詢