What would you like to search for?

Renewable Energy

© Olivia To/ WWF-Hong Kong

Whether derived from the sun, wind or ocean renewable energy is sustainable that will be key to tackling the climate crisis.
 
In Hong Kong, electricity generation-related carbon emissions in urban areas is estimated to contribute to as much as 70 per cent of the city's total carbon emissions. As one of the world’s leading cities, Hong Kong must proactively expand development of renewable energy to make our fuel mix sustainable and to significantly cut carbon emissions.

© WWF-Hong Kong

WWF-Hong Kong welcomes the government’s adoption of our recommendations by setting the initial Feed-in tariff rate at an attractive level of HK$3-HK$5/kWh for solar and wind systems with a guaranteed rebate period of 15 years. We believe it would promote small-scale solar system installations and attract investment in the local renewable energy market from private investors and corporates.

In 2015, WWF urged the government to introduce a Feed-in Tariff policy under the 2018 Scheme of Control Agreements. With the “Solarising Communities” project launched in 2016, WWF installed on-grid rooftop solar systems on stilt houses in Tai O, proving that the solar system can meet half of household power needs. The city’s first-ever Renewable Energy Certificate was subsequently launched for corporate application. In 2017, the project was extended with a 100 per cent Solar Mobile Café rolling through the city to collect public opinions. In addition, two studies on the potential resource base for renewable energy in Hong Kong and the economic cost of introducing a Feed-in Tariff for Hong Kong have been released.

Solarizing Communities – Tai

Solarising Communities – Power to the people


WWF’s “Solarising Communities” project launched in 2016 installed on-grid solar PV systems on the rooftops of three stilt houses in Tai O, demonstrating the city’s potential to develop solar energy. The project has extended with a 100 per cent solar-powered mobile café that aims to educate by offering the public a taste of solar energy and collect opinions on renewable energy development. These will help WWF  to advocate for the development of renewable energy with an ambitious 10 per cent renewable electricity target by 2030.

© Olivia To

可再生能源 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

可再生能源

© Olivia To/ WWF-Hong Kong

可再生能源無論來自太陽、風,還是海洋,都是可持續的能源,是應對氣候危機的關鍵。

在香港,市區發電產生的碳排放約佔香港總碳排放的70%。作為世界主要城市之一,香港必須積極發展可再生能源,改善能源結構,大幅減少碳排放。

© WWF-Hong Kong

本會歡迎政府採納我們的建議,把太陽能及風力發電系統上網電價定為每度電3至5港元,並規定回報期為15年。我們相信相關措施可有效吸引市民安裝小型太陽能系統,並吸引私人投資者及企業投資本地可再生能源市場。

自2015年起,WWF促請政府引入上網電價政策,推動本港的可再生能源發展。2016年,WWF推出社區太陽能發電計劃,於大澳棚屋天台安裝太陽能發電系統,並連接至電網,證明系統足以供應家居半年用電。隨後,本會發行全港首批可再生能源證書供企業申請。2017年,WWF進一步走入社區推出太陽能流動咖啡車,收集市民意見。此外,本會亦就本港發展可再生能源的潛力及上網電價的定價發表兩份研究報告。

社區太陽能發電計劃(大澳)

社區太陽能發電計劃——能源自給


本會於2016年開展「社區太陽能發電計劃」,率先為大澳三所棚屋天台安裝太陽能光伏發電系統,並連接至電網,成功展示香港發展屋頂式太陽能的潛力。現時,我們將計劃延伸至全港,推出100%太陽能運作的流動咖啡車,走訪港九新界,讓市民一嚐太陽能「滋味」,並收集公眾就本港可再生能源發展的意見,一起促請政府在2030年前把香港可再生能源發電比例定為10%。

© Olivia To