Oceans | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© naturepl.com / David Fleetham / WWF

Oceans

© WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong
Hong Kong people have a profound connection to the sea. We are the second-highest per capita consumers of seafood in Asia, eating an annual average of 71 kg of seafood derived from fisheries around the world. Hong Kong is also responsible for 50 per cent of the world’s shark fin trade.
 
WWF-Hong Kong is working to create positive change in our oceans. Our programmes encourage people and businesses to stop eating, serving and shipping shark fin; to stop consuming unsustainable seafood; to actively participate in protecting precious species including the Chinese white dolphin and finless porpoise; and to reduce coastal and marine litter.
 
What WWF is doing: 
  • We use our scientific expertise to advise and convince the government to set conservation priorities and establish marine protected areas to conserve ecologically important habitats.                                   
  • We engage and work closely with local fishing communities to explore win-win practices for both the environment and people.
  • We protect Chinese white dolphins — Hong Kong’s iconic marine species— by better protecting their habitats and involving the local community.
  • We tackle the marine litter problem by identifying blackspots and sources, as well as carrying out beach clean-ups.
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Marine Ecological Hotspot Map
© WWF-Hong Kong
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Marine Ecological Hotspot Map (Print version)
© WWF-Hong Kong
 rel=
Flawed EIA should not be allowed to sail through!
© WWF-Hong Kong
 
	© WWF Hong Kong
Marine Health Check Report
© WWF Hong Kong
Our goal is to ensure the world’s most important fisheries and ocean ecosystems are productive and resilient, and improve livelihoods and biodiversity. We are working towards those aims through such initiatives as the Sea for Future report, which identifies seven sites of marine conservation priority. The goal is to raise ocean protection through marine protected areas covering 30 per cent of Hong Kong waters; conserving species including the Chinese white dolphin, finless porpoise and sea turtle, as well as protecting these areas from unrestrained recreational activities such as clam-digging in Shui Hau. We also work to tackle Hong Kong’s marine litter problem by introducing solutions to replacing single-use plastics in our community.

 If we work together, these positive changes are possible.

海洋 | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© naturepl.com / David Fleetham / WWF

海洋

© WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong © WWF-Hong Kong
香港是亞洲人均海鮮消耗量第二高的地區,我們從世界各地進口海產,平均每人每年消耗逾71公斤海鮮。同時,全球百分之50的魚翅產品都運往香港銷售。因此,香港人生活與海洋密不可分,保護海洋責無旁貸。
 
世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)致力改善海洋生態,並透過各種計劃鼓勵市民及企業拒絕進食、供應或運送魚翅,向不符合可持續發展的海鮮說不。此外,本會也積極保護珍貴物種如中華白海豚和江豚,並減少海岸及海洋垃圾。
 
WWF正致力:
  • 促請政府採納專家及研究人員的意見,訂立優先保育目標,並設立海洋保護區,保育具重要生態價值的棲息地;
  • 與本地漁業界別緊密合作溝通,尋求讓人類生活和自然環境同樣受惠的雙贏方案;
  • 透過保護棲息地及增加社區參與,保護香港標誌性的海洋生物中華白海豚;
  • 利用科學研究方法辨識海洋垃圾黑點及源頭,同時舉辦海灘清潔活動,解決海洋垃圾問題。
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
海洋生態熱點地圖
© WWF-Hong Kong
海洋生態熱點地圖(印刷版) 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
海洋生態熱點地圖(印刷版)
© WWF-Hong Kong
 rel=
環評咁求其 點可以過關?
© WWF-Hong Kong
 
	© WWF Hong Kong
香港海洋健康報告
© WWF Hong Kong
我們希望確保世界上最重要的漁業及海洋生態系統具生產效率及活力,從而提升生物多樣性和漁民的生計。本會早前發表《惜海洋 續未來》報告,並正推動政府優先保育本地七個生態最敏感的海洋區域,以把全港至少百分之30的水域劃為海洋保護區。設立海洋保護區有助保育不同海洋物種,包括中華白海豚、江豚及海龜;並可令具生態價值的區域免受缺乏監管的康樂活動威脅,如水口的掘蜆活動。另外,我們亦致力解決海洋垃圾問題,鼓勵大眾減少使用即棄塑膠。
 
有你的支持,我們便能帶來改變