What would you like to search for?


Marine Protected Areas

© WWF-Hong Kong

Hong Kong’s sea life has an amazing variety of habitats and species. But they currently face numerous threats from rampant development, unregulated fishing practices, escalating marine traffic and marine litter pollution. Other threats loom: a total of 2,000 hectares of local waters are planned for reclamation and development in the decades ahead.

Effective conservation measures are needed before it’s too late. Currently, five per cent of Hong Kong waters are designated or planned to be established as marine protected areas (MPAs) by 2023, while fishing and vessels are banned from less than 0.01% of Hong Kong waters. Scientists, conservationists and NGOs have been calling for 30 per cent of global waters to be designated as MPA by 2030.

We are proposing seven priority sites for marine conservation, achieving 10 per cent of our MPA goals

What is a marine protected area

A marine protected area (MPA) is a zone designated and managed to protect marine habitats and species for the good of the ocean, society, economy and culture.  Within MPAs, human activities such as fishing, vessel traffic and tourism are regulated.  MPAs can come in the form of a fully protected marine reserve, a moderately protected marine park, or a no-take zone among others.

海洋保護區 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?


海洋保護區

© WWF-Hong Kong

香港的海洋擁有多樣性的生境地和物種,如今卻面臨各種威脅,包括無止境的發展、非持續的捕魚活動、日趨頻繁的海上交通和海洋垃圾污染等。其他威脅亦步步進逼:在未來數十年,約有2,000公頃的香港水域會被填海發展。

趁着為時未晚,我們必須採取有效的海洋保育措施。目前,僅5%的香港水域已被劃為或擬議為海洋保護區,而禁止捕魚及船隻駛入的水域不足0.01%。科學家、保育學家和非政府組織呼籲於2030年前應將全球30%水域劃為海洋保護區(MPA)。

我們挑選了七處海洋優先保育地點,從而實現10%水域劃為海洋保護區的目標。

什麼是海洋保護區?

海洋保護區泛指特別劃設及管理來保護海洋棲息地和物種的海域,目的是以此惠及海洋、社會、經濟和文化。海洋保護區可以是完全受保護的海岸保護區、容許有限度人為活動的海岸公園或禁捕區等。保護區內的捕魚、船速及旅遊等人類活動均會受規管。