What would you like to search for?


Migratory Birds

© Roger Lee

Migratory birds connect ecosystems and keep nature healthy. But populations of migratory birds along the East Asian-Australasian Flyway are declining, highlighting the importance of identifying and protecting critical habitats. To protect these precious birds, Wetland Incubator action teams study, restore suitable habitats and raise awareness about the importance of securing their wintering and stop-over sites.   

Programmes:

Shorebird Satellite Tracking

 Shorebird Satellite Tracking
© Kevin Lok
   

Mai Po and Inner Deep Bay lie at the heart of the East Asian-Australasian Flyway (EAAF), a network of “wetland way stations” where 50 million migratory waterbirds rest and feed each year. To formulate effective regional conservation strategies and restore the ecological integrity of the EAAF, this section of the Wetland Incubator project gathers data to analyse the intricate, and sometimes enormous, migratory routes of these birds.

Wetland Incubator is working with the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society and the Hong Kong Waterbird Ringing Group, have deployed satellite tracking devices and unique leg flags on several waterbirds. In the first year, we tagged ten waterbirds: one Eurasian curlew, one Nordmann's greenshank and eight Black-tailed godwits.

Species
Leg flag no.
Name
Black-tailed Godwit
A1
Yiu Yiu
A2
Ah Nam
A3
Windy
A4
Futian Kwan
A5
High5
A6
A Look
A7
Master 7
A8
Mai Chi
Eurasian Curlew
C1
C kwan
Nordmann’s Greenshank
D1
Siu Ching
 

Data gathered about the tagged waterbirds and their migration routes can be seen here: https://wwf.hk/3Pde1bA

(Open the menu on the right > select "By project" under "Filter birds" > Untick other projects until only "WWF-Hong Kong migratory bird tracking" is left > click on the bird's name for detail of the individuals)

Migratory Bird Education Design Team

Migratory Bird Education Design Team
© WWF-Hong Kong
   

The Wetland Incubator project put together an education design team in October 2021. After taking part in a Mai Po field day and brainstorming and sharing workshops, they were divided into three groups, each of which devised an action plan for migratory birds.

Group 1:
Collecting data on ringed birds is important to understand bird behaviour. This group decided to use iNaturalist to set up a dedicated sharing platform on which professional bird photographers can report ringed bird sightings. This accessible platform allows researchers to access data more easily. The group also plans to develop a reward scheme for the platform which they hope will attract more bird photographers.

Check out the Hong Kong Shorebirds Leg Flag Reporting Scheme (beta version) here: Click here

Group 2:
These days, young people gather a lot of their information through social media. This group decided to create interesting and engaging Instagram posts. These posts explain how bird ringing and flyways work through simple graphics, aiming to improve public understanding of the importance of protecting wintering and stopover sites. Their work will be released soon!

Their works will be released soon!

Group 3:
This team considered primary school students to be the perfect target group for an introduction to migratory bird education, as children often eager share information with their families. The team created a series of stories that were carefully designed to make education materials more interactive, including a comic about Spoon-billed sandpipers, interactive virtual games, and others.

Their work will be completed soon!


Sharing from participants:

What was your group’s idea? How did the idea come about?

Group 1 Jacky:
Our group’s idea was to establish an iNaturalist platform for ringed birds, since we thought other platforms were neither user-friendly nor attractive to newcomers. Our proposal integrates sighting reports and citizen science and allows both amateur and professional bird photographers to upload photos of ringed shorebirds onto the new platform. At the end of every birdwatching season, we will announce the top three observers – the winners will be determined by the number of qualified observations they upload.

Group 2 Joyce:
Our project was separated into three parts: making Instagram content, designing graphics and designing a Google form. By increasing public awareness of how bird ringing works, we hope that more people will report leg flag sightings!

Group 3 Laughing:
Since most of our team members have an environmental education background, we decided to design a set of teaching materials about migratory birds. Based on the story and experiences that are set out in the LOLO’S FLYING JOURNEY education pack, we designed online learning materials, including comics and interactive challenges that will attract and engage primary and junior secondary students.

Please share something interesting you learned from this programme about migratory birds.

Group 1 Jacky:
Initially, we were confused about the difference between waterbirds and shorebirds – we did not know what to name our project! We later figured out that “waterbird” is a very broad term that covers seabirds, shorebirds, waterfowl, and other birds; whereas our programme only covers waders, for example sandpipers, snipes and godwits. So the term “shorebird” is much more precise and accurate.

Group 2 Joyce:
The Red knot case study clearly showed me how the bird ringing system helps to protect wetlands. The bird ringing programme allowed scientists to follow the migratory path of Red knots, and the data gathered helped to establish a conservation area in the Nanpu wetland, a wetland of high ecological value in Bohai Bay.

Group 3 Laughing:
When I was organising the information, I was surprised that Spoon-billed sandpipers encounter so many challenges during their migrations. Even the food they eat differs from place to place! For example, in their breeding grounds, they feed on various invertebrates like midges, mosquitoes, flies, beetles, and spiders; but while overwintering, they eat mostly marine invertebrates, including polychaete worms and shrimp.

Water Caltrops Fostering Programme

 Water Caltrops Fostering Programme
© Yuen Long Merchants Association Secondary School
   

The Pheasant-tailed jacana was once a resident and a passage migrant, with occasional winter records in Hong Kong. However, due to habitat loss, they are now predominantly a scarce autumn passage migrant.

The Wetland Incubator project is seeking to change this – the programme aims to bring together young people and corporate volunteers to experiment planting water caltrops – a type of aquatic plant – in Mai Po, which will hopefully create a suitable habitat for the Pheasant-tailed jacana and other birds.

Three schools (Pui Shing Catholic Secondary School, Queen Elizabeth School Old Students' Association Tong Kwok Wah Secondary School and Yuen Long Merchants Association Secondary School) and several HSBC volunteers agreed to take part, beginning the seed germination process in September 2022. Students will log monitoring data which may make helophyte planting more efficient in the future. Once the water caltrops have grown to a certain size in school, they will be transferred and planted in Mai Po Nature Reserve.

您想搜索什麼?


候鳥遷徙

© Roger Lee

候鳥在連接生態系統和保持自然生態健康上發揮著重要作用。為保護珍貴的候鳥,我們透過多個小組為其打造棲息地及突顯出了解及保護牠們重要棲息地的急切性。  

項目:

候鳥衛星追蹤研究項目

候鳥衛星追蹤研究項目
© Kevin Lok
   

米埔及內后海灣位處東亞─澳大利西亞遷飛路線的中心,這個遷飛區每年為5千萬隻遷徙水鳥提供歇息和補給的中途站。我們需要收集更多數據以了解遷徙水鳥的遷飛路線,以制定有效的跨地區保育策略。

因此,WWF與香港觀⿃會及香港水鳥環誌小組合作為水鳥戴上衛星追蹤裝置及腳旗 。我們於第一年對10隻水鳥進行研究,包括1隻白腰杓鷸,1隻小青腳鷸及8隻黑尾塍鷸。

實時了解候鳥遷徙路徑:https://wwf.hk/3Pde1bA

候鳥遷徙教育設計小組

候鳥遷徙教育設計小組
© WWF-Hong Kong
   

教育設計小組已於2021年10月完成招募。經過米埔實地考察日及教材設計工作坊,參加者對候鳥、衛星追蹤研究有更多認識,及後他們分成三個小隊撰寫及實現不同計劃。

第一組:
收集已環誌雀鳥的數據對於了解雀鳥行為非常重要。小隊因而嘗試利用iNaturalist設立專門上載環誌雀鳥消息的分享平台,專業鳥類攝影大師可於平台報告雀鳥行蹤,讓研究人員更易掌握情報!他們還打算把平台發展成獎賞計劃,吸引更多鳥攝人士的關注。

《環環相扣 趣誌之影》環誌雀鳥分享平台 (測試版本):按此進入

第二組:
年輕人偏向使用社交媒體接收資訊,於是小隊創作有趣的 Instagram 圖文,讓大眾通過圖像深入淺出地認識雀鳥環誌及候鳥遷飛路線 ,繼而提升他們對保護鳥類越冬及中轉地的意識。

小組作品即將發表!

 

第三組:
隊員認為候鳥遷飛的教育可由小學生開始,再延伸至其家庭。針對這目標受眾,隊員創作了一系列故事來提高教材的趣味及互動性,包括城市定向遊戲、遷徙勺嘴鹬的漫畫、線上互動虛擬遊戲等。

作品即將完成!


參加者感想

你們的想法從何而來?

第一組 Jacky:
我們小組的想法是為香港涉禽環誌建立一個 iNaturalist的報告平台,因現時平台對新手來說不易上手而且不太吸引。
我們很快提出了一項將其與公民科學相結合的計劃。業餘和專業雀鳥攝影師都可以將捕捉到環誌涉禽的照片上傳到新平台我們更會每個鳥季公佈上傳得最多合規格相片的頭3名觀察者。

第二組 Joyce:
我們的項目分為三個部分,包括Instagram 內容撰寫、平面設計和Google 表格設計,以提高公眾對候鳥環誌系統的認識,從而吸引他們報告環誌雀鳥的行蹤。

 

第三組 Laughing:
由於大部分的隊員都與環境教育有關,因此我們嘗試設計與候鳥遷徒有關的教材。我們以《LoLo飛行手記》的故事和經歷作藍本,思考出一套全新網上學習教材。此教材除了以漫畫的形式講述候鳥的飛行路線及其所面臨的困境,亦以互動形式完成合作類型的挑戰,令我們所設計的活動更適合小學生和初中生。

請跟我們分享一件你覺得關於候鳥最有趣的知識!

第一組 Jacky:
對我來說最有趣的是水鳥和涉禽之間的區別,我們的小組在為項目改名時對此十分躊躇。 然後,我們發現水鳥是一個非常廣泛的術語,涵蓋海鳥、涉禽、水禽等,而我們的計劃只涵蓋濱鳥(例如鷸、鷸、鷸等),因此涉禽一詞能更為準確。

第二組 Joyce:
紅腹濱鷸的案例研究幫助我們認識環誌系統如何幫助保護濕地,鳥類環誌讓科學家了解紅腹濱鷸的遷徙路徑,這些數據促進了各界對渤海灣這個生態價值極高的南浦濕地的討論。

 

第三組 Laughing:
在整理資料的時候,我真的沒想到勺嘴鷸在遷徙過程中會遇到這麼多挑戰,甚至在繁殖地及渡冬地需進食不同的食物,在繁殖地,他們會進食各種無脊椎的幼蟲和成蟲,尤其是蠓、蚊子、蒼蠅、甲蟲和蜘蛛等,而在渡冬地,他們會進食多種海洋無脊椎動物,包括多毛類蠕蟲和蝦。

菱的突破

菱的突破
© Yuen Long Merchants Association Secondary School
   

水雉曾是一種在香港繁殖的鳥類,並偶爾有在香港過冬的記錄。可惜由於棲息地減少,牠們現在只會偶爾在秋季遷徙時路過米埔濕地。

WWF希望透過此活動將青年和企業義工聚集,共同參與恢復水雉棲息地的試驗工作。 通過種植菱角,這種漂浮性水生植物便可以編織成為水雉及其他鳥類的棲息地。

此活動邀請了三所學校(天主教培聖中學、伊利沙伯中學舊生會湯國華中學及元朗商會中學)和匯豐銀行的義工加入我們的培育菱角團隊。 他們於 2022 年 9 月開始培苖,待幼苖成形後,便會移植到米埔濕地繼續生長,嘗試營造佈滿浮葉植物的淡水生境給專屬嘅物種,尤其是水雉。 另外,我們希望透過同學們密切監測菱角生長所得來的數據,有助於未來更有效地種植水生植物。