Safeguarding local biodiversity | WWF Hong Kong

Safeguarding local biodiversity



 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Our precious nature should be well protected and development should not be equivalent to destruction.  We safeguard Hong Kong’s natural environment by working as environmental watchdog and providing science-based solutions. 

In fact, 40 per cent of Hong Kong’s land lies within the Country Park system. Unfortunately, the lack of adequate policy, legislation, management and urban planning make many ecologically sensitive areas and biodiversity hotspots constantly under threats from urbanization, habitat destruction, reclamation and degradation such as illegal waste dumping.
 
Our mother nature is resilient but can be fragile as well, some damage done might be irreversible, that no effort being put afterwards could make it recover. One sad case is the destruction of Sham Chung in Tolo Harbour. This Country Park enclave used to have large area of freshwater marsh formed on abandoned paddies and supported large population of Hong Kong paradise fish, big orchid and three-striped grass frog. The land was bought by a private developer and the marsh was filled to form lawn or dug up to form ponds. The destruction is probably irreversible. Prevention is always the best way of protection. 

WWF safegaurds our precious nature by advocating the government to take proactive conservation strategy and actions such as the Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan and ensuring large urbanisation projects will not cause excessive ecological damage through scrutinising Environmental Impact Assessments and planning studies.

For example, during the Third Runway system EIA , we repeatedly pointed out the demise suffered by the Chinese White Dolphin and launched a campaign, including having petition and experts joint letter to ask the government to designate two marine parks for this species. Finally government agreed and started the process to designate the Sokos Islands and Southwest Lantau Marine Parks.

Our Country Park system has many holes, i.e. enclaves which contain freshwater marshes, lowland streams and feng shui woods which are seldom found inside the Country Park system. These also contain private land and are vulnerable to development. We worked with other NGOs and have successfully incorporated several enclaves into the country parks while significantly reduced the area of “Village Type Development” in others.

守護本地生物多樣性 | WWF Hong Kong

守護本地生物多樣性



 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
我們珍貴的自然環境應該備受保護,發展不應等同破壞。透過環境監察和提供具科學根據的解決方案,我們致力保護香港的自然環境。

現時,香港有四成土地被劃為郊野公園。不幸地,相關政策、條例、管理及城市規劃都差強人意,令很多生態敏感地區和生物多樣性熱點一直遭受城市化、生境破壞、填海和降低生態價值的活動威脅,非法傾倒廢棄物就是一例。
 
大自然有自我修復的能力,同時也很脆弱。有些破壞的後果是不能逆轉的,任何補救措施都無法令其回復當初的狀態。其中一個教人傷感的生態破壞例子是位於吐露港的深涌。這個郊野公園「不包括土地」曾在棄耕稻田上形成大片淡水沼澤,養育著大量香港鬥魚、大蘭花和長趾蛙。現在,這片土地已被一個私人發展商買下,沼澤被填成草坪或挖掘成池塘,破壞難以修復。故此,及時阻止事情發生往往是最理想的保護方式。

本會守護我們珍貴的大自然,倡議政府制定具前瞻性的保育策略和行動,例如《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》 ,以及透過審視環境影響評估報告及規劃研究,確保大型城市化項目不會對生態造成大規模的損害。

例如,在機場第三條跑道計劃的環境影響評估諮詢期間,我們多次重申計劃對中華白海豚的致命威脅,同時發起行動,包括聯署及聯同其他專家去信要求政府為中華白海豚設立兩個海岸公園。終於,政府同意本會建議,展開在索罟群島及大嶼山西南面興建兩個海岸公園的項目。
 
我們的郊野公園制度存有很多漏洞,例如,含有淡水沼澤、低地河流和風水林的「不包括土地」均鮮有包括在制度內,部分更屬於私人土地,受發展威脅。我們與其他非政府組織攜手合作,成功將一些「不包括土地」納入郊野公園範圍,大大減少鄉村式發展。