Balancing Development and Conservation | WWF Hong Kong

Balancing Development and Conservation



Ecologically sensitive areas or areas of conservation importance, including country parks, seas and agricultural land, have been targeted by the government’s task force on land supply as part of its five-month public consultation that puts forward 18 proposals on how to ease the territory’s housing crunch.

Despite projections by the Census and Statistics Department that Hong Kong’s population will start declining by 2043, the government plans to build over 600,000 housing units, which is about 25 per cent more than the projected housing demand in 2051.

Hong Kong currently has nearly 1,200 hectares of brownfield sites, according to a study by the Liber Research Community, with13 out of the 20 largest clusters of brownfield sites situated outside planned development areas, totaling nearly 390 hectares. Among them are four brownfield clusters with individual areas larger than 30 hectares, including a 71-hectare site in Pat Heung’s Wang Toi Shan.

Speeding up the resumption of these brownfield sites and devising a fair compensation mechanism for planned development projects can help ease the short-term housing problem without sacrificing our precious natural areas.

WWF believes the government should adopt a “brownfield first” policy to build on the existing 1,200 hectares of brownfield sites that already have necessary infrastructure in place to address short-term housing problems without sacrificing our precious natural environment. 
 
 
 
Sign our Land Conservation Petition Now
 
	© WWF Hong Kong
A 71-hectare brownfield site in Wang Toi Shan is part of the 390-hectare cluster identified
© WWF Hong Kong

平衡發展與保育 | WWF Hong Kong

平衡發展與保育



政府早前展開為期5個月的「土地大辯論」,提出18個土地供應選項以紓緩土地房屋短缺問題。當中包括發展生態敏感或具保育價值的地區,如郊野公園、填海及農地等。

據政府統計處預測,香港人口將在2043年前開始下降。然而,政府計劃提供超過60萬個房屋單位,較2051年的總需求超出約25%。

此外,本土研究社一項研究顯示,本港現時約有1,200公頃的棕地。在20幅分布較集中的棕地中,有13幅位於已規劃的發展區外,佔地近390公頃;當中4幅棕地的個別面積均超過30公頃,其中一幅位於八鄉橫台山、佔地71公頃。

加快發展這些棕地,以及為發展項目制訂公平的補償機制,不但可紓緩短期房屋問題,更毋需犧牲我們珍貴的自然生態環境。

世界自然基金會香港分會認為,政府應該採取「棕地優先」政策,善用現時合共約1,200公頃的棕地作房屋發展,以解決短期住屋問題,同時守護珍貴的生境與物種。
 
加入網上聯署,守護自然生態
 
	© WWF Hong Kong
八鄉橫台山的棕地面積為71公頃,是佔地390公頃的13幅主要棕地之一。
© WWF Hong Kong