Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean | WWF Hong Kong

Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean



Posted 08 August 2018
Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean
Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean
© Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department​
The wonder of seahorses
If you are lucky enough, you can sometimes spot three different seahorse species in eastern Hong Kong waters – the yellow seahorse, three-spot seahorse and great seahorse. The creatures remain an enigma in the world’s oceans. From the genus Hippocampus, the Greek words for horse (hippos) and sea monster (campus), seahorses are truly unique marine animals, characterized by their anchoring tails and elongated sucking snouts. Apart from their special equine shape, they also have an extraordinary life history. Seahorses mate for life while males bear the unborn young. However, the population of seahorses is decreasing worldwide primarily due to rampant harvesting for Traditional Chinese Medicine. Seahorses are often caught from the sea and hanged under the Sun to wriggle to their deaths. Ocean-lovers are now asking if they will become extinct in the near future.
 
Illegal trading of dried seahorses
As recently as June this year, 140 kg of suspected dried seahorses and 220 kg of dried shark fins from Indonesia, with an estimated market value of HK$420,000 were seized at the Customhouse Cargo Examination Compound. Two company directors have been arrested on suspicion of smuggling. According to the Protection of Endangered Species of Animals and Plants Ordinance, importing and exporting any species listed in CITES Appendix II without a license carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in jail and a HK$10 million fine. WWF-Hong Kong not only condemns the illegal trading activities of dried seahorses in Hong Kong, but we also hope consumers will think twice before buying dried seahorses as a cooking ingredient.
 
Seahorses as traditional Chinese medicine
You have no doubt seen dried seahorses in soup packages, a common enough sight in markets and Chinese medicine shops. According to data from Census and Statistics Department, over 7000 kg of dried seahorses (equivalent to about 2.2 million of seahorse) were imported into Hong Kong in a year. Seahorses are believed to have over 200 therapeutic properties and with powers to rival those of ginseng. They have been used for over 2000 years to treat a range of illnesses including asthma, arteriosclerosis, incontinence, difficult childbirth and impotence.
The popularity of seahorses as medicine is driving the widespread sale of the animal in Taiwan, Indonesia, China, Hong Kong and other Asian countries. Harvesting undersized seahorses leaves them with no chance to mature and breed. Worse, overexploitation has driven some seahorse species into local extinction.
 
The fate of seahorses is in your hands
The traditional use of seahorses in medicine is putting them at acute risk. Research studies show that nearly all traded seahorses are sold for use in traditional Chinese medicine. At present 11 out of the 55 seahorse species are classified as “Vulnerable” and “Endangered” under the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, including those found in Hong Kong waters. Although all species of Hippocampusseahorses have been included in the CITES Appendix II since 2004, which regulates and certifies all trade, smuggling is not unusual due to the huge profits. Hong Kong is an important consumption hub of dried seahorses. Therefore we play a critical role in conserving seahorses by not buying them dried. Be a responsible consumer and protect precious marine animals.
 
Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean
Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean
© Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department​ Enlarge
Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean
Little Seahorse Critters Belong in the Ocean
© Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department​ Enlarge

屬於海洋的海馬 | WWF Hong Kong

屬於海洋的海馬



發表日期 08 August 2018
屬於海洋的海馬
屬於海洋的海馬
© Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department​
神奇的海馬

不說不知,香港東面水域,原來可發現三種海馬的蹤跡:分別是黃海馬、三斑海馬和克氏海馬。海馬是神秘而迷人的海洋生物,屬名是Hippocampus,取自希臘文中的馬(hippos)和海怪(campus)。牠錨狀的尾部和長長的吸管狀嘴巴,都是這種奇特海洋生物的特徵。除了別樹一格的外貌,海馬的一生也很特別,牠們奉行一夫一妻制,而雄性海馬更會孵化受精卵。然而,傳統中醫視海馬為中藥材入藥,令牠們因過度捕撈而導致全球海馬數量持續下降。海馬被捕捉後,會放在太陽下活活曬乾變成藥材。長此下去,只會令海馬一步一步走向絕種。
 
非法買賣乾海馬

今年6月,海關在葵涌海關大樓驗貨場檢獲一批來自印尼、估計市值約42萬元的140公斤懷疑受管制乾海馬和220公斤魚翅,兩名公司董事涉嫌走私被捕。根據《保護瀕危動植物物種條例》,任何人非法進出口瀕危物種,一經定罪,最高可被判罰款一千萬元及監禁十年。世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)強烈譴責非法乾海馬貿易,同時希望顧客在購買乾海馬前三思。
 
中藥藥材乾海馬

打開街市或海味店出售的湯包,不時會見到乾海馬。根據政府統計處資料,一年有超過7,000公斤乾海馬入口香港,等同220萬隻海馬。不少人相信海馬的滋補功效能媲美人蔘,並有逾200種治療功效,而海馬入藥已有逾2,000年的歷史,主要被用作治療哮喘、動脈硬化、尿失禁、不孕和陽萎等疾病。
有藥用價值的海馬在亞洲廣受歡迎,在不同地方如台灣、印尼、中國和香港等地區都有售賣。但捕捉幼小的海馬會令牠們沒有機會成長及繁殖下一代,更糟的是,濫捕已導致一些海馬品種局部滅絕。
 
海馬命運在你手

海馬入藥的傳統已經令牠們陷入滅絕危機。調查研究顯示,幾乎所有買賣中的海馬都是用作中藥材。現時55種海馬中,有11種被國際自然保護聯盟紅色名錄列為「易危」和「瀕危」,當中包括在香港水域發現的三個海馬品種。所有海馬品種(Hippocampus)已在2004年被列入《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES)的附錄二中,貿易受到規管,必須領有許可證明才能進行買賣。然而,海馬貿易的利潤高,相關走私活動並不少見。香港是乾海馬貿易樞紐,也是消費中心,所以我們在保護海馬上扮演十分重要的角色。停止購買乾海馬,讓我們當一個負責任的消費者,一起保護珍貴的海洋生物。
 
 
屬於海洋的海馬
屬於海洋的海馬
© Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department​ Enlarge
屬於海洋的海馬
屬於海洋的海馬
© Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department​ Enlarge