Wetland Management Training Programme | WWF Hong Kong

Wetland Management Training Programme



Mai Po Nature Reserve  
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Nurturing talents on wetland conservation is key to maintaining the integrity of the East-Asian Australasian Flyway. Through working with our partners, WWF successfully offered training programmes to wetland management personnel in the region to enhance their knowledge and habitat management skills.  

Since 1990, WWF has been collaborating with China’s State Forestry Administration, other Government Departments and NGOs. We offer training courses which take place in Mai Po Nature Reserve during which wetland conservation experts from mainland China share philosophies, principles, information about current technology, and the experience of wetland management and environmental education. The programme targets were mostly wetland management personnel from mainland China, as well as managers and staff from conservation organizations in Taiwan, Macau and south-east Asian countries.
As of 2016, WWF has organised more than 400 of these training courses at Mai Po involving a total of more than 4,500 participants. Generally, these courses involve an average of 180 participants annually, with the duration between one and eight days.

Our goals
  • Use Mai Po Nature Reserve and the Mai Po Inner Deep Bay Ramsar Site as as best practice examples which illustrate how to plan and implement wetland management and environmental education programmes;
  • Deepen understanding about the value of wetland ecosystems to both human beings and wildlife;
  • Improve techniques and skills regarding wetland protection, management and environmental education;
  • Provide a platform for mutual communication which allows for the exchange of experience, wetland protection techniques and expertise, management and environmental education; and
  • Provide the opportunity for trainers to travel to wetlands managed by their trainees, allowing them to make technical suggestions to improve management.

Training application survey & case studies

Every year, WWF conducts a post-training “application survey”. Conducted by questionnaire, these surveys help us understand the application and impacts of our training courses in mainland China. Over the years, the surveys have determined that the most applicable programmes are wetland management planning, environmental education, wetland restoration and ecotourism. The findings have shown time and again that these training programmes are highly applicable– they help wetland protection personnel as they work to conserve precious wetlands in the flyway.

Dongzhai Port National Nature Reserve – Hainan Province

This nature reserve was home to a large area of aquaculture ponds. Waste produced by aquaculture activities in these ponds resulting in environmental pollution and withering of some of the mangroves. The Haikou government then stopped the aquaculture and initiated wetland restoration. A forestry engineer, Huang Yu-chun, proposed retaining part of the mudflats to provide a feeding site for waterbirds and to maintain species diversity, similar to the open mudflats of Mai Po Inner Deep Bay.
 
	© Huang Yuchun
WWF
© Huang Yuchun

Puzhehei Wetland Reserve – Yunnan Province

Li Gang is the assistant centre manager of the reserve. After participating in our wetland management training programme, he applied wetland restoration principles at his reserve by planting native aquatic plants and removing invasive alien plants to restore wetland areas which had been destroyed by human activities.

Click here to download "training application survey results (2012-2016). 

Click here to download more information about how our outstanding participants apply their knowledge (2014-2015)

Click here to download the feedback from trainees. 
 
	© Li Gang
WWF
© Li Gang

濕地管理培訓 | WWF Hong Kong

濕地管理培訓



 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
擁有能夠勝任濕地保育的技術人才對維護東亞─澳大拉西亞飛行航道(EAAF)的完整性至關重要。WWF透過與夥伴合作,舉辦培訓課程,提昇區內濕地管理人員的濕地管理技巧及知識。

自1990年始,本會與中國國家林業局及其它政府部門、非政府組織等機構合作,於香港米埔自然保護區為中國的濕地保育同行舉辦培訓課程,分享濕地管理和環境教育的理念、原理、技術和經驗等。培訓的主要對象為中國的濕地保育人員,亦有來自台灣、及東南亞地區的政府及環保組織人員參與。直至2016年,我們在米埔舉辦了超過400次培訓,訓練超過4,500名保育人員。現時每年平均約有180人接受培訓,歷時1天至8天不等。

  • 以香港米埔自然保護區和米埔內后海灣拉姆薩爾濕地作為案例,示範如何進行濕地管理和推行環境教育;
  • 讓學員進一步了解濕地生態系統對人類和野生生物的價值;
  • 提昇學員在濕地保護、管理和環境教育方面的技巧和技能;
  • 為學員提供機會,互相交流有關濕地保護、管理和環境教育的經驗、技巧和知識;
  • 培訓人員實地考察學員管理的濕地,為有效管理提供具體的技術建議。

培訓後調查及應用個案

WWF每年以問卷方式進行培訓後調查,以了解學員在返回工作崗位後,實際應用所學內容的情況和項目的成果。調查發現,濕地管理規劃、環境教育、濕地恢復、生態旅遊等是最多學員實際應用的内容。調查也反映培訓課程被充分應用,有助提高各地濕地保育人員的能力,達致保育EAAF地區濕地的長遠目標。

海南省東寨港國家級自然保護區

保護區內有大量養殖塘,養殖過程所產生的廢棄物排放到紅樹林裡,造成環境污染和紅樹林枯萎,因此海口市政府決定實施「退塘還林」,恢復紅樹林濕地。林業工程師黃育春建議參考米埔內后海灣的開闊灘塗例子,保留部分灘塗作為水鳥覓食區域,有利維持物種多樣性。
 
	© Huang Yuchun
WWF
© Huang Yuchun

雲南省普者黑濕地保護區

保護區副所長李剛利用學到的濕地恢復原理,積極地在保護區種植本地水生植物,清除入侵性外來物種,希望令受人為破壞的天然濕地回復原貌。

按此下載培訓應用調查報告(2012-2016年) 

按此下載優秀學員及應用個案(2014-2015年度) 

按此下載學員感想
 
	© Li Gang
WWF
© Li Gang