Partnering to educate a new green generation | WWF Hong Kong

Partnering to educate a new green generation

Posted
10 February 2017


WWF-Hong Kong believes that partners help us make the world a better place – partnerships allow us to share ideas, create synergy and drive positive change. Over the years, WWF has established partnerships with schools across Hong Kong. A great example is how in 2015 - 2017, WWF worked closely with two committed secondary schools to make them a crucial part of our ground-breaking Discovering Biodiversity in Hong Kong Wetlands project.
 
From the start, students and teachers from these partner schools were committed to being part of our team of citizen scientists, carrying out surveys on the flora and fauna of the Deep Bay wetlands and updating the species list to reflect the current state of biodiversity in Hong Kong’s wetlands.  A total of 450 citizen scientists conducted surveys in Mai Po Nature Reserve over the project’s two year span, both during the day and at night.
 
 “It was a benthic (sub-surface) research study. I’ll never forget what happened when we first arrived at the Reserve’s mangrove strand. As soon as we stepped onto the mudflat, I could not move – half my body had fallen into the soft mud! Despite the hardship, we collected sufficient samples for the study. Though it was a struggle, the learning process brought us knowledge and many happy memories” 

–Yim Wai Ching, a student at New Territories Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School
 
During the field work, there were times where muddy faces became happy faces as the students discovered that learning could be experiential and enjoyable at the same time.
 
John Dewey said that education ‘is life itself’. I am grateful for WWF’s invitation to join this project, it has allowed students into the Reserve, given them a direct encounter with the wonderful local species and put the latest scientific research methods into practice.

– Mr Hung, a teacher at Pui Shing Catholic Secondary School
 
Alex Wong, the Discovering Biodiversity project manager, believes that exploring nature is one of the best ways to get students interested in learning. This exploration can take many forms: during the project students held a living crab to measure its length; identified different species of fish in the gei wai at Mai Po; used a bat detector to record the ultrasonic communications of bats flying over them; and followed fireflies that are rarely seen in urban areas. All these experiences helped these students form vivid memories; memories which will hopefully become the foundation of a conservation-focused mind-set in the future.
 
When the project draws to a close later this month (February 2017), an education pack will be released to all Hong Kong secondary schools. This pack will contain a teaching manual, a wildlife identification chart and an educational poster which highlight the updated Hong Kong wetlands biodiversity database. WWF seeks to make ecological studies like these happen more often. To help make this goal a reality, the teaching manual contains four lesson plans which will help teachers and students carry out ecological studies on campus and in natural areas around their schools. What’s more, in the spring and summer of 2017, WWF will launch a special education activity in Mai Po Nature Reserve based on these lesson plans.

There is an urgent and pressing need to cultivate environmental awareness in the next generation. To create this new “green generation”, we need to get schoolchildren out into nature. If you are interested in going on a biodiversity journey with your students, please follow this link and fill in the application form

同心教育綠色新一代 | WWF Hong Kong

同心教育綠色新一代

發表日期
10 February 2017


世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)相信,互相合作會讓這個世界變得更美好,讓我們能分享意念,產生協同效應,帶來更多正面的改變。多年來,WWF在本港與不同學校建立伙伴關係,其中一個最佳例子,就是於2015-2017年間,獲得兩所中學積極參與「香港濕地生物多樣性普查」計劃,讓計劃能順利進行。
 
這兩所中學的師生自計劃開始已成為我們的「公民科學家」,參與后海灣一帶濕地的動植物普查,協助更新現有的物種名錄,以反映香港濕地生物多樣性的現況。在計劃的兩年期內,共有450位公民科學家不分晝夜參與我們在米埔自然保護區的研究工作。
 
最難忘的是底棲生物調查,我們在紅樹林中集樣本。甫踏進泥灘,我已有泥灘之中,動彈不能,在指導員幫助下歷盡艱辛終取得足夠樣本研究,過程雖辛苦但帶給我們許多快樂的回憶和寶貴知識。

---新界鄉議局元朗區中學 學生 嚴韋晴

當然,最令人滿足的,是在學生的野外工作中,看見他們由木無表情變得充滿歡樂。學生都發現,原來學習是一個充滿各樣可能性的過程,令人樂在其中。

杜威說過,教育即是生活的實踐。感謝米埔在這兩年間讓同學到米埔保護區,親手接觸到本地豐富的物種,掌握最新科學研究的方法;更將保護生物多樣性的訊息,傳播到身體的人。

---天主教培聖中學  洪昭隆老師

香港濕地生物多樣性普查項目經理王偉東相信,讓學生在大自然中自由探索,是其中一種讓他們積極學習的最好方法。「探索」可以有不同方法,在該計劃中,學生試著親手捉著泥蟹量度身長、在米埔基圍分辨不同種類的魚、以蝙蝠探測儀為在上空飛過的蝙蝠作超音波錄音及跟蹤平常在市區罕見的螢火蟲。我們希望這些經驗將化成學生們生動的記憶,長大後繼續保持著支持保育的心。

隨著計劃在本月(2017年2月)結束,本會將向全港中學派發一份相關的教材套,包括一本教學指南、一張生物辨認圖及一張以最新香港濕地生物多樣性資料製成的濕地雀鳥辨認卡。像以上談及的學習活動,WWF期望未來能有更多類似的生態研究項目。為此,教材套已詳列四個教案,鼓勵老師帶領學生於校園或附近的自然環境進行生態調查。同時,在即將來臨的春夏季,本會將會推出以這些教案為藍本的米埔自然保護區戶外教育活動。

事實上,培育新一代關注環境的需要已經逼在眉睫。「綠色新一代」離不開環境,我們現在就需要把孩子帶到自然環境中,讓他們親身體驗大自然的奇妙,開闊視野。如有興趣登記參與米埔自然保護區有關生物多樣性的戶外教育活動,請按此