The No Shark Fin Policy | WWF Hong Kong

The No Shark Fin Policy

Posted
20 December 2017


The recent roll-out of mandatory ESG disclosure by the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEx) is a ripe opportunity for corporations to formulate wide-ranging environmental policies, such as implementing WWF-Hong Kong’s No Shark Fin pledge. The pledge could be formulated either in terms of consumption (i.e. the No Shark Fin corporate pledge) and/or in terms of trade (i.e. the No Shark Fin carriage policy).
 
To date, a total of 206 companies covering 100,000 employees in Hong Kong have committed to WWF-Hong Kong’s No Shark Fin corporate pledge, first launched in 2007. These companies include international banks, small and medium enterprises, as well as catering groups, such as The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels Limited.
 
This is in line with the general decrease of shark fin consumption in Hong Kong and mainland China and forms a direct link with the HKEx's requirements1 that companies should report activities or polices that had significant impact on environmental and natural resources.
 
Hong Kong remains an important global shark fin trading hub2, with 5,774 tonnes imported in 2016 alone3. This underlines the necessity for industry stakeholders to make a No Shark Fin commitment and conserve this important species. In February 2016, OOCL announced its No Shark Fin carriage policy. The policy, covered in its parent company’s 2016 sustainability report, showed its commitment to curb the trade of at-risk marine species. OOCL is implementing social responsibility through restricting carriage. It is a good example of a company proactively protecting and preserving our oceans through incorporating the no shark fin policy into its daily operations.

Sharks are the ocean’s top predators and are vitally important to maintain the balance of marine ecosystems4. The removal of sharks would set off a cascade effect on the food chain5. Overfishing is the main threat sharks face and the shark fin trade is one a main driving forces behind overfishing. A quarter of sharks and related species are threatened with extinction6, according to the IUCN Shark Specialist Group. Companies can take proactive action to protect and preserve the ocean by saying no to shark fin.
 
According to WWF’s 2014 shark fin consumption survey of caterers, 65% of consumers came from the individual sector, while 35% were from corporate sector. If corporations could adopt the No Shark Fin Policy, they could influence this 35%7.
 
To learn more or to support these initiatives, please contact us at: shark@wwf.org.hk

無翅政策 | WWF Hong Kong

無翅政策

發表日期
20 December 2017


香港交易所早前修訂了《環境、社會及管治報告指引》,規定上市公司發布《環境、社會及管治(ESG)報告》,提供機會予公司制定多元化的環保政策,包括推行無翅政策。事實上,已有多間企業參加世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)的「向魚翅說不」企業承諾計劃,承諾不食用魚翅。而物流業如營運班輪服務的船公司,則可透過訂立禁運魚翅政策影響貿易。

WWF在2007年推出的「向魚翅說不」企業承諾計劃。直至目前為止,香港已經有超過206間公司,包括國際銀行、中小企及酒店如香港上海大酒店有限公司等,參與員工數目逾10萬。
 
愈來愈多企業支持「向魚翅說不」企業承諾計劃的同時,香港和內地整體魚翅消耗量亦在近年呈下降的趨勢,而港交所要求上市公司提交《ESG報告》[1]更進一步反映企業需要重視其業務對生態和環境保育帶來的影響。

單單於2016年,進口香港的魚翅量高達5,774噸1,香港仍然是全球魚翅貿易的主要集散地2,反映了物流業在鯊魚保育方面的逼切性。2016年2月,東方海外貨櫃航運公司在其母公司的年度可持續發展報告中,公布禁運魚翅政策,履行企業社會責任,並顯示其保育鯊魚的決心。東方海外的例子正正顯示了企業如何可透過執行無翅政策,積極保護我們的海洋。

很多鯊魚品種都是海洋的頂級掠食者3,對維持海洋生態平衡發揮很大的作用4,其滅絕將會對食物鏈造成連鎖反應5。過度捕撈是鯊魚面對的最大威脅,而魚翅貿易便是驅使過度捕撈的原因之一。根據世界自然保護聯盟(IUCN)鯊魚專家小組的研究顯示,過度捕撈令接近25%的鯊魚及相關物種面臨絕種威脅6。因此,企業應採取積極行動,向魚翅說不,保護育海洋。
 
根據WWF 2014年的飲食業魚翅供應調查顯示,65%的魚翅消費者來自個人層面,35%來自企業層面7。WWF相信,若更多企業能訂立無翅政策,將可減少這35%的魚翅消耗量,甚至能鼓勵其員工在個人層面亦能向魚翅說不。

如欲了解更多或支持鯊魚保育,可透過電郵shark@wwf.org.hk,與我們聯絡。