Promoting dolphin conservation through eco-tourism | WWF Hong Kong

Promoting dolphin conservation through eco-tourism

Posted
21 December 2017


As part of ongoing efforts to protect the near-threatened Chinese white dolphin (Sousa chinensis), WWF-Hong Kong has been working with tour operators in the small fishing village of Tai O on an eco-tourism project, designed to increase public understanding of ecological issues and threats faced by the dolphins. This project involved the creation of tailor-made sightseeing tours and dolphin-friendly guidelines for the walla walla motorboat operators.
 
Starting in 2014, WWF engaged tour operators, who have been running in Lantau waters for decades, with the two-pronged approach of setting up knowledge-based tours, and promoting a Code of Conduct to increase the general safety of dolphin watching activities for both humans and animals. The Tai O Dolphin Watching Interpreter Programme was launched during the July-October 2015 peak season with four out of the five walla walla operators taking part. WWF trained university students to act as tour guides for the operators, who held over 850 free guided boat tours of 20 minutes each for more than 12,000 visitors during the first phase of the programme.
 
In response to the success of the programme, in 2016 WWF invited HKTraveler, a local eco-tourism company, to further promote the dolphin tours, with WWF acting in an advisory role. The entrance of HKTraveler allowed for paid tours that gave visitors a chance learn in-depth about the culture of Tai O and the challenges faced by the dwindling numbers of dolphins in the region. With all five operators taking part that year in the second phase of the programme, there were over 20 guided tours of three hours each benefitting more than 200 visitors, and over 300 tours of 20 minutes each benefitting more than 4,000 visitors.
 
While increasing the responsibility and quality of the dolphin watching tours, WWF also worked to implement a Code of Conduct. The walla walla tours have the potential to disturb or harm dolphins if they are not regulated, most noticeably the increased risk of collision and injury. Despite the introduction of dolphin watching guidelines for vessel by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) in 2000, there is a lack of compliance and monitoring.
 
The walla walla operators lack of compliance to AFCD’s code is in part due to the difficulty of following the guidelines, such as the requirement that only one dolphin watching vessel is allowed within a 500-metre radius, or the requirement that vessel slow down to no-wake speed or stop if a dolphin is within 100 metres. Such conditions make it difficult for operators to provide tours that satisfy customers as it is difficult to observe the dolphins at this distance. Additionally, these guidelines are specifically designed for vessels such as yachts and cruisers that are larger and faster compared with the walla walla, making them unsuitable for Tai O tours.
 
The operators, however, were willing to voluntarily take up a code suggested by WWF. To minimise threats to dolphins, while maximising business opportunities for the operators, WWF suggested a Code of Conduct for walla walla operators based on scientific research and in-line with international best practices to aid marine conservation. In modifying the code for the needs of walla walla operators, WWF held discussions with the AFCD, the Marine Mammal Conservation Working Group (MMCWG) and independent dolphin experts.
 
Since the launch of WWF’s modified Code of Conduct in 2015, WWF staff have been conducting land-based surveys several times a month to check compliance rates, providing insight into its strengths and weaknesses. Of note, the operators managed to keep the dolphin watching period to a maximum of 10 minutes, ensure that no more than three walla walla are within 100 metres of the dolphins, and reduce speed within a 50-metre radius. Over the two-year monitoring period, the greatest improvements in overall compliance were seen in two areas: first, not approaching the dolphins at high-speed and second, not approaching the dolphins head on, cutting across their course, or cornering them.
 
However, the general trend showed higher compliance in the peak season summer months and lower compliance in the off-peak winter months. For example, in the peak season months of July-September 2016, the average compliance rate was 74.7 per cent and in the off-peak season months of January-March 2017, average compliance rate was 37.7 per cent. This is in part due to operators moving their boats closer to the dolphins for a better view during winter when there are fewer of them due to seasonal migration. WWF is closely monitoring the compliance during on- and off-peak season and working with the operators to reduce code violations.
 
WWF investigated other areas in which it could improve dolphin safety, such as installing propeller guards on the walla walla to prevent injury in the event of a collision. Three types of propeller guards in a variety of designs and materials were tested on two walla walla. Data gathered of the designs showed an overall reduction in propeller force of 10-20 per cent, however, they created vessel vibrations that were deemed unsafe for passengers and ultimately rejected. WWF will continue investigating new ways of minimising disturbance to the dolphins from sightseeing tours.
 
WWF is also studying the diel pattern of the dolphins in South Lantau, focusing on underwater noise and collision risk and formulating mitigation measures. There is an urgent need to address the intense marine traffic caused by the caused by the fishing vessels, high-speed vessels and cargo vessels in the area, which has increased significantly over the past decade; and formulate an effective Species Action Plan under the Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (BSAP).
 
WWF is currently asking the government to establish the West Lantau Marine Park, where Tai O and Yi O are located, to safeguard dolphin habitats, preserve traveling corridors and minimise impacts from development projects. This is crucial for creating a haven for this iconic species in Hong Kong.

海豚保育與生態旅遊 | WWF Hong Kong

海豚保育與生態旅遊

發表日期
21 December 2017


世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)一直積極以不同的方法,保護受威脅的中華白海豚,包括透過與生態導賞公司合作,在充滿傳統漁村特色的大澳推出生態旅遊計劃,從而讓大眾了解更多關於保育和海豚現正面對的威脅,並為小艇船家度身訂造一套海豚觀賞守則。
 
2014年起,WWF開始在大嶼山一帶與當地的旅遊公司合作,同時推廣知識型生態旅遊導賞團,以及宣傳一套海豚觀賞守則,進一步保護海豚及遊客的安全。在2015年7至10月的觀豚旺季期間,本會正式推出大澳觀豚導賞服務先導計劃(下稱計劃),當時5間主要小艇船公司中,有4間願意參與此計劃。為提供專業的海豚觀賞服務,本會更特別訓練一批大學生成為海豚導賞員。計劃在第一階段已籌辦超過850個、每個為時20分鐘的免費導賞團, 成功令超過12,000名遊客透過導賞團認識海豚。
 
由於導賞計劃反應熱烈,本會在2016年邀請一間香港生態旅遊公司 — 旅行家(HKTraveler) 參與導賞計劃,以進一步推廣海豚觀賞團予公眾,而本會在計劃中則擔任顧問角色。旅行家舉辦的付費生態遊,讓遊客更深入了解大澳文化和中華白海豚所面對的危機。而計劃的第二階段,更得到全部5間小艇船公司的支持,合共舉辦超過20個、每個為時3小時的導賞團,以及320個、每個為時20分鐘的導賞團,分別吸引超過200名遊客和4,000名遊客參加海豚觀賞團。
 
事實上,漁農自然護理署(漁護署)在2000年已向大型船隻發出海豚觀賞指引,但在實施方面仍欠缺成效和監察。船家發現部分漁護署的指引根本難以依從,例如在海豚出現的500米範圍內,只容許一艘船在附近水域進行觀賞活動,以及在海豚出現的100米範圍內,船隻必須以最低速行駛,甚至停駛。這些要求都令遊客難以近距離觀賞海豚,無法滿足他們對導賞活動的期望。此外,指引主要為遊艇及遊輪等大型船隻設計,因此並不適用於速度較慢及體積較小的小艇。
 
為增加保育成效,WWF與漁護署、海洋哺乳動物保育工作小組和海豚研究專家商討,替小艇船家度身訂造一套符合國際標準的觀豚指引,以減低對海豚造成的威脅。守則推行至今,大部份船家都樂於遵守本會所訂立的相關指引。若小艇船家在進行海豚導賞時違反守則,便有機會擾亂海豚的生活環境和增加撞傷牠們的機會。
 
自WWF在2015年推出指引至今,本會的研究人員每月都定期到大澳一帶水域實地考察幾次,量度船家的守規率,以便分析指引的利與弊。研究發現,船家對本會制訂的守則採取一個非常合作的態度,包括保持觀豚時間為最多10分鐘、致力確保不會有超過3艘觀豚船在海豚100米範圍內出現,並在海豚出現的500米範圍內減速。 而經過長達兩年的觀察和分析,WWF發現船家整體的守規情況在兩方面有明顯的改善,包括減少以高速駛近海豚,以及用不合適的方法接近海豚,例如迎面駛近海豚、截斷海豚的行動路徑,或把海豚逼進死角,這都減低對牠們的干擾。
 
不過,WWF亦發現,船家的整體守規率會隨著觀豚的旺季和減季而不同,當中的波幅亦相當大。由於春季和冬季期間,海豚於香港水域的分佈各有不同,目擊海豚的機率亦有所不同。船家為了讓遊客更容易觀賞海豚,便需將船駛近海豚。因此在2016年7至9月的觀豚高峰期,平均守規率為74.7%。相反,在2017年1至3月的觀豚淡季期間,平均守規率只錄得37.7%。WWF正密切監察船家在觀豚旺季及淡季期間的守規情況,並與他們緊密合作,減少犯規機會。
 
由於小艇的螺旋槳葉片有機會令海豚受傷,因此,WWF早前為兩艘小艇試裝了三款不同設計和材質的螺旋槳保護罩,並展開多種測試,以了解各種型號的效能,希望進一步減低海豚被船撞傷的機會。測試結果發現,保護罩能有效減低螺旋槳10至20%的拉力,不過同時為小艇帶來異常的震動。在考量乘客安全的重要因素後,本會認為這三款保護罩,無論在效能性和安全性方面都未能達到一定標準,因此未有選擇使用當中任何一款。WWF正積極尋找其他方法,保護海豚免受船隻撞傷。
 
近十年,大嶼山水域的海上交通漸趨繁忙,亦對海豚加添多重壓力。WWF正著力在南大嶼山一帶進行海豚行為調查,集中研究水底噪音密度以及海豚與船隻碰撞的風險,並提供適當的建議,以便為中華白海豚制訂一份「物種行動計劃」,緩和海豚面對的威脅。
 
中華白海豚是香港重要和珍貴的物種,WWF正積極促請政府,盡快成立西大嶼山海岸公園 (即大澳),保護僅餘的海豚棲息地和減低因發展而對海豚造成的威脅。