Chinese caterers share their insights at a WWF-Hong Kong-organized Sustainable Seafood Seminar | WWF Hong Kong

Chinese caterers share their insights at a WWF-Hong Kong-organized Sustainable Seafood Seminar

Posted
08 August 2018


Sustainability and legal issues associated with traditional seafood products were brought to the fore at a recent WWF-Hong Kong-organized forum, the “WWF Sustainable Seafood Seminar for Chinese Catering”. A total of 80 representatives attended the seminar, including those from Chinese restaurants from hotels, retailers, suppliers, clubs and the government. 

The seminar opened with Dr Allen To, WWF-Hong Kong’s Manager for Oceans Sustainability, asking participants to imagine a scenario in which the depletion of marine resources leads to the loss of Hong Kong’s traditional dining culture. Dr To suggested that cooperation between different concerned sectors dealing with overfishing and legal issues could provide the synergy that would lead to win-win solutions for all the stakeholders.

The first session of the seminar had a focus on problems related to dried seafood, especially shark fin and South African abalone. Tracy Tsang, WWF-Hong Kong’s Senior Programme Officer for Oceans Sustainability, explained that the shark is the top predator in the ocean and that its removal from the food chain would lead to a cascading effect that could cause the decline of other species’ populations or even a collapse in the ecosystem. Currently about one fourth of shark and related species are threatened with extinction from overfishing and the main driver is the demand for shark fin. Tsang added that 12 shark species are already listed on CITES Appendix II, meaning that these species and their products can only be traded internationally by permit. However, in reality illegally sourced or traded shark fin in the market is not uncommon. She encouraged Chinese restaurants that wish to avoid the risk of promoting illegal products to find sustainable seafood alternatives.

Menus that feature shark fin are also likely to list South African abalone, also perceived as a prestigious item in Chinese cuisine. Wilson Lau, TRAFFIC East Asia Programme Officer, shared the results of the organization’s analysis of the issues associated with the trade and fishery of the product. Firstly, poaching and the drugs trade are often linked. Lau further pointed out that it was estimated that of the South African abalone sold on the world market in 2015, only 35 percent was legally traded. More than 90 percent of South African dried abalone exports are destined for Hong Kong.

Although the majority of dried seafood traders surveyed in the Hong Kong market are aware of the issues, there are still two major loopholes that allow problems to persist. There are virtually no regulatory controls on the abalone trade and no laws preventing abalone poached in South Africa from being sold locally. Furthermore, by the time poached abalone lands here, it is no longer traceable to the black market, emerging from the Customs process as a legitimate product, available over‐the‐counter like any other legally traded product.

Well-known local dried seafood trading company, Hai Sang Hong’s General Manager, Kenneth So, confirmed in a panel discussion that it is indeed very difficult for traders to identify whether dried abalone is legally caught. However, the poached product is often dried in poor conditions and is therefore often of worse quality. Lau recommended to the panel that South Africa should seek the inclusion of its abalone into CITES Appendix II or III, with the cooperation of the Hong Kong Government and other importing countries.

Traditional Cantonese banquet cuisine also prominently features reef fish such as grouper and the humphead wrasse. Professor Yvonne Sadovy, School of Biological Sciences and Swire Institute of Marine Science for University of Hong Kong, said that Hong Kong is the global centre for the international live coral reef fish trade. Due to the huge demand for reef fish, the trading area of these fish has expanded rapidly since the 1970s, mainly in developing countries in South East Asia. She further noted that many imports to Hong Kong are not reported and hence are illegally traded. Professor Sadovy recommended that the government should tackle legal problems by more effectively regulating Hong Kong registered fishing vessels importing and re-exporting live fish, as these vessels are suspected to have under-reported their trade statistics. 

Stan Shea, Marine Programme Director of Bloom Association Hong Kong, then shared why and how we should source and consume sustainable seafood. According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Hong Kong’s population annually consumes about 70 kg of seafood each, far more than the global average of 20 kg. That means the seafood choices we make have an extremely important impact on the world’s oceans. Shea told participants that more sustainability-related eco-labels such as MSC and ASC are available in the market, meaning stakeholders can support sustainable seafood more easily by serving and consuming these products. In addition, there are more lists available showing which restaurants provide sustainable seafood.

Industry leaders including Chef Lee Shu-tim, Executive Chinese Chef of Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, Mr Lee Choi-wah, Chairman of Hong Kong Chamber of Seafood Merchants and Mr Mark Kwok, Director of Aquaculture Technologies Asia Ltd joined the speakers and Jovy Chan, WWF-Hong Kong’s Senior Officer for Oceans Sustainability, for the panel discussion. With the aid of insights provided by the industry, it is apparent that the sustainability of fisheries involved in the live seafood trade is a challenging issue to tackle but these industry players are taking the lead in address all these, step by step.

The seminar was just a start in engaging the Chinese catering sector – it’s a situation that can’t be changed without continuous efforts by all segment of the industry, including hotels, Chinese restaurants, Western restaurants, retailers and suppliers. Government action is also important in facilitating the process. Together, we can create a sustainable future for humanity and the oceans!

中式餐飲業界怎樣看環保海鮮? | WWF Hong Kong

中式餐飲業界怎樣看環保海鮮?

發表日期
08 August 2018


傳統中菜常用的海鮮產品,經常牽涉各種可持續性和法律問題,世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)因此舉辦「中式餐飲業海鮮採購研討會-大勢所趨的可持續發展」,更邀請了80位來自酒店業、零售業、批發業、會所及政府的人士參與,討論中式餐飲業使用海鮮的去向。
 
「一旦海洋資源枯竭,香港傳統飲食文化,會變成怎樣?」WWF經理(可持續發展-海洋)杜偉倫博士先邀請參加者想像,然後建議相關部門加強合作,建立互惠互利的解決方案,令過度捕撈和法律問題的處理得以舒緩。
 
研討會以乾貨海味切入,包括魚翅及南非乾鮑。WWF高級項目主任(可持續發展-海洋)曾翠芝小姐指出,鯊魚是海洋的頂級捕食者,假如牠們從食物鏈中消失,負面後果無遠弗屆,除有機會導致其他物種數量下降,嚴重的話甚至令生態系統崩潰。由於華人對魚翅的需求,目前約四分一的鯊魚和相關物種正受過度捕撈及滅絕的威脅,其中12種鯊魚已被列入《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES)附錄二之中,即是說,任何人士必須有許可證,方可以這些物種及其產品進行國際貿易。然而,市場上非法採購或交易的魚翅仍十分常見。她鼓勵中式餐飲業多選用環保海鮮,避免提供各類非法產品。
 
魚翅很多時都與南非鮑魚同枱出現,兩者均被認爲是中菜不可或缺的佳肴。野生物貿易研究組織做過有關產品貿易和漁業相關的分析,東亞區項目主任劉于淳先生在會上分享了調查結果:南非鮑魚的非法捕撈和毒品交易原來互相扣連。另外據估計,2015年世界市場上銷售的南非鮑魚,只有三成多屬於合法交易,而超過九成的南非乾鮑的出口地點正是香港。
 
香港的市場調查發現,雖然大部分海鮮乾貨交易商都知道非法捕撈及非法貿易的問題,但仍有兩個主要漏洞,令非法問題難以消除。第一,鮑魚貿易幾乎沒有監管機制,也沒有法律禁止南非的鮑魚在當地銷售。此外,當非法捕撈的鮑魚抵達香港,很難再追究黑市的責任,令它們輕易在海關過程中「漂白」,充當成合法的鮑魚產品,在普通的場合交易。
 
著名海鮮乾貨貿易商海生行總經理蘇啟國先生亦證實,零售及批發商要確認乾鮑魚是否合法,實在不易。另外,非法捕撈的產品通常在惡劣條件下曬乾,因此質素較差。劉于淳先生建議南非應跟香港政府和其他進口國合作,將南非鮑魚納入《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES)附錄二或三,令南非鮑魚必須被有許可證的確認之下才可進行國際貿易。
 
石斑和蘇眉等珊瑚魚,亦是傳統中菜宴會的常用食材。香港大學生物科學學院及太古海洋科學研究所薛綺雯教授指出,香港是全球珊瑚魚貿易的中心,其巨大需求令東南亞多個發展中國家的珊瑚魚貿易區域,自20世紀70年代開始迅速膨脹。而香港的進口珊瑚魚大多沒有向政府部門申報,部份產品更是非法貿易而來。教授建議,政府應更有效地監管香港註冊漁船的進口與轉口活魚,來解決法律漏洞的問題,如蓄意誤報。
 
根據聯合國糧食及農業組織的統計,每年香港的人均海鮮消費量高達約70公斤!遠遠超過全球平均只有20公斤的水平,由此可見,香港人的海鮮選擇對世界海洋有着舉足輕重的影響。BLOOM Association Hong Kong海洋保育總監佘國豪先生向參加者介紹了MSC和ASC等市場上與環保海鮮相關的生態標籤。持份者可以通過提供和消費環保海鮮,來支持可持續的海洋。此外,WWF亦製作了一份清單,列出提供環保海鮮的餐廳。
 
多位中式餐飲業的市場領導,包括香港君悅酒店行政中餐總主廚李樹添師傅;香港海鮮聯合總會主席李彩華先生;亞洲水產養殖科技有限公司董事郭志一先生,連同WWF高級項目主任(可持續發展-海洋)陳悅珊小姐及其餘講者,帶領參加者討論中式餐飲業引入環保海鮮的原因及方法。儘管漁業的可持續性是一個極具挑戰性的問題,但中式餐飲業的參與者已表示關注,正逐步解決上述提及的問題。
 
是次研討會為中式餐飲業邁向可持續作了一個好開始。如果沒有所有持份者,包括酒店,中式酒樓,西餐廳,零售商和供應商的努力及互相支持,現今情況實難改變。政府的行動也很重要,令海洋及中式餐飲業邁向可持續的同時,香港傳統飲食文化又得以傳承予下一代。讓我們一起攜手,共創人類與海洋和諧共存的未來。