We see green shoots – Mainstreaming Sustainability in Local Primary School Curriculum | WWF Hong Kong

We see green shoots – Mainstreaming Sustainability in Local Primary School Curriculum

Posted
08 January 2019


“It has always been our wish to mainstream environmental education in the local education system. Every little step brings us closer to that goal,” said Angela Lam, Education Manager, WWF-Hong Kong. “We are glad that the Quality Education Fund agrees with our vision and has supported us in this three-year programme, resulting in successful cases of how to build a more sustainable primary school.”

 

The programme is based on the whole school approach. “Every teacher must have a sustainability mindset that is integrated into everyday life and in daily teaching,” said Ms Chan Mei Kuen Sylvia, Chairperson of WWF Education Committee.

 

“Mainstreaming Sustainability into Local Primary School Curriculum” is a three-year programme that WWF-Hong Kong has introduced together with 12 primary schools. Here’s a closer look at some of the key areas of the whole-school approach.

 

“The pupil in focus” and “Learning and teaching”

Apart from signature education activities designed to fit various grade students, WWF encouraged participating schools to develop their own environmental education to integrate in their curriculum. One school teacher pioneered a project learning activity for Primary 4 students on marine litter, by merging outdoor learning and STEM elements with support from WWF.

 

“The pupil in focus” and “School premises and resources management”

A group of students from several schools developed the initiative “Agent Green” following some training. With support from school management, one initiative involved introducing a fast-track measure in the school tuck shop to discourage students from using single-use cutlery. The outcomes met the programme’s goal and we can expect to see more such cases in the future. As a result, we believe it’s only a matter of time before environmental education becomes part of the mainstream curriculum.


“Learning and teaching” and “School culture and ethos”

One of the key successes in this programme is how teachers and school management from different schools are learning from each other. “We learn a lot from the workshops and interflow with partner schools. As fellow teachers working in the same school, it can sometimes be difficult getting good ideas from the outside. I am happy to exchange ideas with teachers in other schools to gain new insights,” said Ms Kwok Wing Yee from Chung Sing School. WWF looks forward to seeing more passionate teachers join this learning circle and lead the development of sustainable education in Hong Kong schools.


There are many other noteworthy models from the programme that other schools can learn from. To find out more, join our sharing session (26 January) and teacher workshop (30 January). Participants will receive a copy of our QEF Best Practice Booklet. Enrol now: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/QEFsharing

我們所見的盼望 – 將可持續生活納入本地小學課程 | WWF Hong Kong

我們所見的盼望 – 將可持續生活納入本地小學課程

發表日期
08 January 2019


「一直以來,我們都希望將環境教育納入本地教育課程,並成為主流。縱然過程絕不容易,但每一步小步都是值得。」世界自然基金會香港分會教育經理林嘉琪如此說。「很高興看到優質教育基金贊同我們的願景和支持這個三年計劃。透過這計劃,我們真的看到了多個一些成功建立可持續校園的例子。」

「全校參與模式」是計劃中有一個概念,表明全校上下一心參與,才是成功推行校園可持續發展教育的關鍵。正如教育委員會主席陳美娟校長所言:「所有老師都應該有這心態,一起將可持續生活教育變成生活及教學的一部分。」

「將可持續生活納入本地小學課程」是世界自然基金會香港分會與12間小學協作的三年教育計劃。計劃中的「全校參與模式」,包括以下四個範疇:
 
學生為本學與教
除了為每級學生度身設計級際活動,世界自然基金會積極鼓勵各參與學校優化課程內的環境教育內容。其中一間參與學校的教師,開展了一個全新專題研習課題,在世界自然基金會的協助下,讓小四學生參與戶外學習及教師設計的活動,進行以海洋垃圾為主題的STEM專題探究。

學生為本校舍及資源管理
數間計劃中的小學學生,完成訓練後組成了Agent Green。得到學校管理層的支持,其中一班Agent Green在校園小食部推行了「走塑快線」,鼓勵同學減少使用即棄塑膠餐具。這些新點子,切實回應了計劃的目標,我們亦期待更多新點子的出現。我們相信,環境教育將會在不久的將來成為本地教育系統的主流。
 
學與教」及「學校文化與理念」
知識傳遞及經驗分享,是將可持續生活納入本地小學課程的關鍵。是而「學習社群」(Learning circle)的成立,讓不同學校的教師及管理層聚首及交流,實在叫人鼓舞。鐘聲學校郭詠儀主任分享:「與夥伴學校進行的工作坊和交流,令我們獲益良多,我們在一間學校埋首工作,未必有機會看到外面的更好方法。。『學習社群』讓我吸收了不少好主意,有來有往,感覺好開心。」世界自然基金會期望,未來能邀請更多充滿熱誠的教師參與其中,一起提高香港學界的可持續性。
 
除上述的好點子外,其他學校還有多個成功範例讓大家參考。想了解更多,請參與1月26日及1月30日舉行之「計劃經驗總結分享會」及「教師交流工作坊」,出席者可獲最佳範例及教案手冊一本。
詳情及報名(https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/QEFsharing