Formulate a Corporate Sustainable Dining Policy Now to Preserve the Earth’s Resources | WWF Hong Kong

Formulate a Corporate Sustainable Dining Policy Now to Preserve the Earth’s Resources

Posted
30 January 2019


Is sustainability one of your company’s objectives this year? As the Year of the Pig approaches, many companies are organizing a staff dinner, a great opportunity for your company to be both more sustainable and convey conservation messages to staff.

Do you know that on average at least five or more seafood items are listed on the banquet menu including some hidden seafood ingredients? The seafood choices that corporations make can have a huge impact on our ocean resources.

Some of the seafood items that have been commonly consumed at banquets may not be sustainable. Grouper is a good example as some farmed members of the species are on the Red-Avoid category of WWF-Hong Kong’s Seafood Guide. Some orange-spotted groupers are farmed in Thailand and some Sabah groupers are raised in Malaysia. Farming in floating net cages, where waste is directly discharged to the sea, pollutes the surrounding waters and may have a negative impact on the environment. In addition, Sabah grouper, a hybrid species of giant grouper and tiger grouper, is not a naturally-occurring species. There have been reports of this fish escaping from the sea cages to the wild, potentially disruptive of the natural ecosystem and food chain. Luckily, there are alternatives on the market! Responsible corporate consumers can choose the seafood that comes from a well-managed fish farm or fishery, with reference to the Seafood Guide.

To make a contribution to safeguarding our precious resources on Earth, WWF-Hong Kong encourages companies to set up an internal Sustainable Dining Policy to avoid consuming unsustainable food at corporate events. Sign up to our Corporate Sustainable Dining Pledge to receive suggested guidelines and a list of food items that should be avoided. For details, please send us an email at wwfseafood@wwf.org.hk.

珍惜地球資源,制定企業可持續宴會政策 | WWF Hong Kong

珍惜地球資源,制定企業可持續宴會政策

發表日期
30 January 2019


可持續發展是你公司本年度的發展方向嗎?邁向豬年,很多公司正忙著籌備員工聚餐,這正是大好機會讓公司以實際行動支持可持續發展,並向員工傳遞環保訊息。

在宴會中,平均約有五碟或以上的菜式包括海鮮,部分菜式更隱藏了含海鮮成份的材料。各企業在選擇海鮮品種時,絕對能夠為海洋資源帶來巨大影響。

部分宴會中常見的海鮮有機會來自不可持續發展的漁業或魚場─石斑正是個好例子。一些養殖石斑品種如部分泰國的青斑及馬來西亞的沙巴龍躉,在世界自然基金會香港分會的《海鮮選擇指引》中被列作「紅色-避免」類別。魚排養殖的生產模式會將污水等廢物直接排出大海,污染周邊水域,為環境帶來負面影響。另外,沙巴龍躉是由龍躉及老虎斑孵化而來的雜交品種,本來並不存在於自然界。牠們曾因養殖的網箱破損而逃到野外,有機會影響自然生態及食物鏈!幸而,市場上有些環保的選擇。作為負責任的企業消費者,可以根據《海鮮選擇指引》,選擇來自管理完善的魚場或漁業的環保海鮮。

為保育珍貴的地球資源,世界自然基金會鼓勵公司制定內部可持續宴會政策,避免在公司活動中消耗不可持續發展的食物。立刻參加我們的企業可持續宴會政策,以取得政策指引及避免食用項目清單。有關詳情,請電郵至wwfseafood@wwf.org.hk與我們聯絡。