Reflection on Bhutan Our Living Planet Camp by One Planet Youth Leader Christy Wong | WWF Hong Kong

Reflection on Bhutan Our Living Planet Camp by One Planet Youth Leader Christy Wong

Posted
12 February 2020


Editor Note:With the invitation from WWF-Bhutan, WWF-Hong Kong is honoured to have 2 One Planet Youth Leaders Peter Cheung and Christy Wong attending and leading the 6-day-5-night Our Living Planet Camp held in Punaka, Bhutan. In this expedition, apart from learning Bhutan’s conservation work, our 2 leaders also put the scientific research skills they learnt into the camp, so the local youngsters could learn about their precious nature through citizen science. 

The relationship between human and the natural environment 
 
Imagine, the world without animals or even trees… 
 
Have you ever wondered, if we are not going to take care of our planet, how will the environment look like for our future generations?
 
Our forests, rivers, oceans and soil provide us with the food we eat, the air we breathe, the water we irrigate our crops with. We also rely on them for our daily goods and services, our health, happiness and prosperity.
 
The natural environment of Bhutan
Bhutan is well-known as the “Land of the Thunder Dragon” or the “Land of happiness”. It is like a Xanadu on another planet. When we look at the Bhutanese people around you, it is common to see their lovely smiles on their faces. It has led me to ponder the question: Why do they feel joyful all the time? During the time there, I found out the reason, and that is the natural environment in their country.

Bhutan has a pristine environment, with high rugged mountains and deep valleys, offers ecosystems that are both rich and diverse. Bhutanese people are surrounded by the nature, forests, animals, mountain ranges and clear, crisp rivers which are the priceless and precious gifts for them. They consider every organism as a living individual and the natural environment is the key to a thriving economy. They believed that everything comes from the nature, where they get things to eat, to drink and even happiness, therefore, they cherish the beauty of nature. 

Conservation is one of the four pillars of Bhutan’s Gross National Happiness philosophy. More than 51% of the country land area is protected—the largest percentage of any Asian country. Most of it is intact, high biodiversity forests interwoven with free-flowing rivers. The rest of the country is covered with green mountains, deep valleys, wildlife sanctuaries and reserves. These vast areas of natural forest act as a large carbon sink, making it the first carbon-negative country in the world.  Due to its unique natural environment, 100% of Bhutan's national electricity also comes from hydropower.
 
Our Living Planet Camp 
During the 6-day educational camp, we learnt together and from each other with the Bhutanese youths. The environmental education activities in the camp enable youth participants to experience and comprehend nature in a stimulating way and motivate them to take sustainable action in both their daily life and communities. We have 30 participants in total, including Bhutanese youths of age 11 to 15, volunteers and staff from WWF Hong Kong, India and Bhutan.
 
Experiencing BioBlitz and Bird Watching 
BioBlitz is a citizen science activity which participants will try to find out and identify as many wildlife as possible within a certain area, within a short period of time. BioBlitz allows participants to observe our nature in detail, so they will appreciate and love our nature more. It also helps the scientist to monitor and detect changes in the surveyed area. 
 
During BioBlitz, we went to a nearby community forest and took pictures using the app iNaturalist to record and identify different plants, insects, fungi and other organisms. The youths then upload their observations to iNaturalist to the global database. Afterwards, they presented their results as well as recommendations on how to better preserve the biodiversity in the area. The youths were amazed by how much wildlife they could discover just within a small patch of forest area.
 
With the rapid modernization in Bhutan and lack of civic awareness among the people, littering and waste dumping are common in here. We saw rubbish on the hiking trail and even in the forest. Therefore, we challenged the youths to pick up the trash, which could foster their habit of cleaning up hiking trails and taking away their own trash when visiting nature.

On the third day of the camp, we reached Pho Chhu river before sunrise for birdwatching. While walking along the river, we spotted around 30 species of beautiful birds in Bhutan, including Ruddy Shelduck, Scimitar Babbler and Common Merganser. It was the first bird-watching experience for many of the kids! 
 
Biodiversity Surveys
On the fourth day of the camp, we have prepared 3 different biodiversity survey methods for them, including pond dipping, using pitfall trap, and infrared camera. For some of the participants, it is their first time to use these tools for surveys. Hopefully in the future, they will also have a chance to lead others to do biodiversity surveys in their communities and becoming an environmental ambassador in Bhutan.
 
Our Planet Future Summit and a role-play debate
In recent years, with the increasing number of mines and quarries in the country, the waste management problems and water pollution are a matter of concern. During the our planet future summit and role-play debate, the participants discussed both local and global environmental issues, from the perspective of environment, society and governance. The youth took on the roles of ‘World Leaders’ and ‘Our Planet Experts’, where they to think and voice out  policies on sustainable development, in order to protect our environment. 
 
Make A Difference: Conducting Projects In Their Communities
The youths were given two projects to choose from, which  is “Bend The Curve Challenge” and “Local Action on Biodiversity” project. They planned their activities with the knowledge and skills they learnt in camp and they proposed innovative ideas in order to maximize the impact. This could allow the youth to practice what they have learnt and help to build a sustainable future in local their communities.
 
 
Take Action!  
 
It is a common misconception that natural resources are unlimited and free for humans. Therefore we take it for granted and overexploit them. We logged too much, fished too much, polluted rivers and nature, without realizing we have created a huge social and economic cost for ourselves.
 
As long as we make small differences on our habitats and adopt a low-carbon lifestyle, the environmental problems could be solved. We, humans, as part of nature, are interconnected with our Mother Nature. The counter-intuitive thing is that humans are trying to thrive in expense of the environment. What we do currently to compensate the damage is obviously far from enough. I believe that for every action we make, no matter how insignificant it is, can influence the people around us. As many hands make light work, with our collective effort, we can create a better world for both human beings and all creatures. Dream together, to work together, to fight climate change together, to protect our planet together. Keep planting seeds as you will never know when they will blossom!

參與不丹Our Living Planet Camp之反思 - One Planet 青年領袖 Christy | WWF Hong Kong

參與不丹Our Living Planet Camp之反思 - One Planet 青年領袖 Christy

發表日期
12 February 2020


編按:有幸得到WWF不丹分會的邀請今年1月,世界自然基金會香港分會的2位One Planet 青年領袖Peter和Christy,到不丹普那卡帶領6日5夜的《我們的天與地》兒童生態營。今次考察,除了解當地如何進行環境保育外,兩位青年領袖還將以往所學到的科研技巧帶到營中,讓當地青少年以公民科學的角度認識珍貴的大自然。

人與自然的關係
 試想想,沒有動物甚至沒有樹木會是一個怎樣的世界……或你有沒有想過,如果我們再也不珍惜我們身邊的大自然,我們下一代擁有的會是一個怎樣的社會環境?
 
森林、河流、海洋和土壤為我們提供了所需的食物、空氣甚至是灌溉農作物的水。我們還要依靠它們來提供我們的日常所需,維持身心靈的健康、幸福和社會繁榮。
 
不丹自然環境景貌
不丹以「 雷龍之地」或「幸福之地」而聞名,身處於不丹便會有種在另一個星球和一個世外桃源感覺。當您看到不丹人之時,他們臉上總掛着顯然易見的親切和由心而發出的笑容。此時此刻,在我心中便浮現了一個問題:為什麼他們心中這麼快樂?
 
在這12天的旅程,我找到了答案: 他們心中的快樂是源於他們所居住的國家中的自然環境—一花一草、一樹一木。

不丹人居住於一個被大自然、森林、動物、山脈、清澈的河流所環繞的國家,這些對於他們來說都是無價而又珍貴的禮物。不丹人認為,一樹一木都是生命,自然環境的茂密是經濟的關鍵。不丹擁有獨特的原始天然地理及生態環境,崎嶇的高山和深谷,為當地提供了豐富多樣的生態系統。他們認為生活中的衣食住行,甚至生活上的一切一切都來自森林,使他們更珍惜大自然的美好。

保護環境是不丹國民幸福指數的四大指標之一。該國超過51%的土地面積是受保護,是比例最高的亞洲國家,當中大部分是完整無缺、高生物多樣性的森林,並與自由流動的河流交織在一起。。該國其他地區則被綠色的山脈,深谷,野生動物和自然保護區覆蓋著。面積廣闊天然森林成為一個大的碳存庫,讓不丹成為世界上首個負碳(carbon negative) 大國。此外,由於當地獨特的自然環境,使不丹全國的電力也來自水力發電。
 
Our Living Planet Camp 
在為期六天的教育營中,我們與不丹的青少年一同相互學習,營中的環境教育活動讓參與者到大自然中體驗學習,並鼓勵他們在日常生活和社區中採取持續的環保行動。今次宿營共有30名參加者,包括11至15歲的不丹青年及來自WWF香港、印度和不丹的青年義工和工作人員。
 
生態速查和觀鳥活動
生態速查是在短時間及指定範圍內,盡可能搜尋並辨認最多物種的公民科學活動。生態速查以細緻的方式觀察自然,讓參加者更欣賞及熱愛自然,亦能讓科學家監測調查地點的環境變化。 這次速查參加者利用應用程式iNaturalist來拍攝、紀錄及分辨附近社區森林的不同的植物,昆蟲,真菌和其他生物等,然後他們將觀察結果上傳到iNaturalist的全球資料庫。最後,他們與分享各組的成果,同時討論如何更好地保護該區的生物多樣性,他們對於在那麼小的範圍能找到那麼多的生物都感到很驚訝。

隨著不丹急速的現代化加上部份人缺乏保護環境的公民意識,因而出現了亂拋垃圾的情況。我們在遠足徑上甚至森林裏也能看見垃圾的蹤影。因此,在遠足和生態速查期間,我們鼓勵參加者撿起沿路所見的垃圾,由此培養環境清潔和「自己垃圾自己帶走」的小習慣。

在營隊的第三日,天還沒亮,我們便乘車到Pho Chhu河進行了觀鳥活動。在那裡我們發現了大約30種不丹的鳥類,我們例如赤麻鴨 (Ruddy Shelduck),鉤嘴鶥 (Scimitar Babbler)和普通秋沙鴨 (Common Merganser)等。有不少的參加者是第一次觀鳥呢!
 
生物多樣性調查
在營隊的第四天,我們為他們預備了三種不同的生態調查方法,包括使用顯微鏡觀察河流生物,昆蟲調查,和使用紅外線相機。對於很多參加者來說,這是第一次使用這些工具來進行調查。我們希望他們將來也有機會在他們的社區帶領其他人進行生物多樣性調查,成為不丹的生態大使。
 
地球未來峰會及角色扮演辯論
近年來,隨著該國礦石場的增加,廢物管理和水污染成為當地關注的問題。在「 地球未來峰會 」和角色扮演辯論中,參加者分組討論了本地及全球的環境問題,以保育、人民及經濟、的角度提出論點。參加者扮演「國家元首」和“「生態專家」等角色,從不同角度考慮及提出可持續發展的政策,以保護我們的環境。

近年來,隨著該國礦石場的增加,廢物管理和水污染成為當地關注的問題。在「 地球未來峰會 」和角色扮演辯論中,參加者分組討論了本地及全球的環境問題,以保育、人民及經濟、的角度提出論點。參加者扮演「國家元首」和“「生態專家」等角色,從不同角度考慮及提出可持續發展的政策,以保護我們的環境。
 
策劃個人環境項目
在生態營當中亦與參加者一同計劃些社區實驗和教育行動,當中包括「生態逆轉挑戰」(Bend The Curve Challenge) 和 「本地生物多樣性行動」(Local Action on Biodiversity) 。他們將營裏所學習到的知識及技巧放到自己的項目,並加入創新元素以增強項目的成效。這樣參加者就能實踐所學,為自己的社區可持續發展出一分力。

踐綠色生活!  
人類一直都誤解天然資源是免費和源源不絕的,因此我們理所當然地使用並虛耗了這些資源。我們過度砍伐林木,過度捕撈,污染河流和自然環境,卻沒有意識到我們已付出了沈重的社會和經濟代價。
 
只要我們改變一些小習慣和實踐低碳生活,所有環境問題便能夠解決。作為大自然的一部分,我們與大自然互相聯繫。違反常理的是人類正犧牲環境來促進經濟發展,而我們現在的補償措施顯然不夠。我相信我們所做的每件事,無論是多麼微不足道,都能夠感染到你們身邊的人。所謂人多好辦事,只要我們共同努力,我們能為所有生物創造一個更美好的世界。只要我們擁有着共同夢想,共同努力,共同應對氣候變化,便能共同保護我們的地球。 農夫們,請繼續播種,因為你永遠都不知道它們何時開花!