New ordinance protects toothfish from overfishing | WWF Hong Kong

New ordinance protects toothfish from overfishing

Posted
16 October 2020


What do the Patagonian toothfish (Dissostichus eleginoides), Antarctic toothfish (Dissostichus mawsoni), mackerel icefish (Champsocephalus gunnari) and Antarctic krill (Euphausia superba) share in common?

As their names hint, they all inhabit the Southern Ocean around the Antarctica, and are also the major source of prey for seals, whales, and penguins and other birds! They are also increasingly targeted by humans.

To ensure the conservation of these important species, fishing activities in the Southern Ocean are managed by an international treaty called The Convention on the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CAMLR Convention). The convention area covers around 10% of the Earth’s oceans. Currently, there are 36 signatories, including China and recently extended to Hong Kong SAR.

From 2012-2018, an average of 15,390 tonnes of Patagonian and Antarctic toothfish was caught in the convention area every year. In Hong Kong, the import volume of these toothfish reached a top of 1,969 tonnes in 2016, representing more than 13% of the total toothfish capture volume in the convention area.
These toothfish, commonly marketed under the names white cod, Chilean seabass and seabass, are mainly imported from Australia, Argentina, Chile and France.

Starting from 1 July 2020, Hong Kong legislation under the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources Ordinance (CAMLR Ordinance) (Cap. 635) has come into force. Since 2010, WWF-Hong Kong has been calling on the government to extend the CAMLR Convention to Hong Kong by regulating the import and re-export of toothfish, and had participated a consultation on the bill in 2018.

Under the new ordinance, any person who wants to import, export or re-export toothfish will have to obtain a license issued by the AFCD, which ensures that the toothfish are legally imported from one of the 36 contracting parties. Contravening the ordinance carries a maximum fine of HK$100,000 and one year imprisonment.

As toothfish is the most lucrative fishery in the Southern Ocean, the ordinance will not only combat the illegal trade but help to preserve this species and ensure they are caught and traded in a sustainable manner.

Patagonian toothfish are slow growing. They can take 6-9 years to become sexually mature and live for up to 50
years. This makes them highly vulnerable to extinction under the stress of overfishing.  
 
While Hong Kong traders are now required to obtain a license, business and individual consumers also have a role to play by checking that their product comes from MSC-certified Patagonian toothfish fisheries.

新法例防止犬牙南極魚過度捕撈 | WWF Hong Kong

新法例防止犬牙南極魚過度捕撈

發表日期
16 October 2020


你知道小鱗犬牙南極魚(Patagonian toothfish)、鱗頭犬牙南極魚(Antarctic toothfish)、裘氏鱷頭冰魚(mackerel icefish)和南極磷蝦(Antarctic krill)有什麼共同點嗎?
 
答案就在牠們的英文名稱中,這幾個物種都生活在南極洲附近的南冰洋中,是海豹、鯨魚、企鵝和其他鳥類的主要獵物。可是後來,牠們也逐漸成為人類捕捉的目標。
                                          
為保護這些重要物種,南冰洋的捕魚活動由《南極海洋生物資源養護公約》(CAMLR公約)管理。 這項國際公約所覆蓋的區域佔全球海洋面積的10%。 目前,公約共有36個締約方,包括中國。最近,公約的適用範圍亦擴展到了香港特別行政區。
 
2012年至2018年期間,在公約覆蓋水域範圍內,小鱗犬牙南極魚和鱗頭犬牙南極魚平均每年的捕撈量達到15,390噸。而2016年香港犬牙南極魚的進口量達到了1,969噸,超過公約覆蓋水域總犬牙南極魚捕撈量的13%。
 
這些犬牙南極魚通常以「白鱈魚」、「智利鱸魚」和「鱸魚」的名稱出售,主要從澳洲、阿根廷、智利和法國進口。
 
由2020年7月1日起,香港法例(第635章)《南極海洋生物資源養護公約》正式生效。 自2010年以來,世界自然基金會香港分會一直呼籲政府透過規管犬牙南極魚的進口及再出口,在香港實施《CAMLR公約》,並於2018年參與了該法案的諮詢會議。
 
根據新法例,任何進口、出口或再出口的犬牙南極魚供應商都必須獲得漁護署發出的許可證,以確保犬牙南極魚由36個締約方中的其中一個地區合法進口。違反該條例的最高刑罰為罰款港幣十萬元及監禁一年。
 
由於犬牙南極魚是南冰洋最有利可圖的物種,該法例不僅打擊非法貿易,還有助保護該物種,確保以可持續的方式進行捕撈和貿易。
 
犬牙南極魚生長緩慢,可能需要6至9年的時間才能達到性成熟,壽命長達50年。如果過度捕撈,犬牙南極魚將瀕臨滅絕邊緣。
 
雖然犬牙南極魚貿易受產品證書制度規管,但企業以及每一位消費者也可以採取行動,確保自己選購合法、可持續的海鮮產品。例如,大家可以留意所買的產品是否帶有海洋管理委員會(MSC)標籤,獲MSC認證的犬牙南極魚均屬於環保海鮮品種。