Trawled fish consumption continues despite ban | WWF Hong Kong

Trawled fish consumption continues despite ban

Posted
16 October 2020


On 31 December 2012, a ban came into effect in Hong Kong on the destructive fishing method known as trawling. However, 22% of the locally registered fleet of 5,000 vessels employing over 10,000 local fishermen still operated trawl nets in the adjacent waters of the South China Sea as of 2019.

Around 20% of the seafood we consume in Hong Kong is from local waters, so we need improve the sustainability of the local fisheries and support sustainable harvest methods. These are highly selective, e.g. hook and line and hand picking, which avoid the capture of vulnerable or non-target species and have limited detrimental impact on the surrounding habitat.

Trawling is a non-selective fishing method that involves dragging a net behind a boat. The average size of a trawling mesh is 4cm x 11.5cm, so the potential for bycatch is very high. Trawl nets also destroy coral and stir up sediments as they drag along the seafloor, with serious ecological consequences. It can take years for these habitats to recover.

While trawling is banned in Hong Kong waters, it still happens in other parts of the world. In the 1950s, a new technology for trawling allowed fishermen to trawl a larger area, fish deeper, and for a longer time. This led to cod stocks depleting at a faster rate than they could be replenished. In the summer of 1992, the Atlantic cod  biomass fell to 1% of its earlier levels, leading to the Canadian government banning fishing for Atlantic cod to help the population recover. But have we learned from past mistakes? Apparently not. In Australia, the orange roughy fishery still uses bottom trawling, which has raised objections from WWF and other conservation groups, particularly as it is applying for MSC certification.

If you are wondering which seafood items are sustainable, the WWF-Hong Kong Seafood Guide covers over 70 popular species, outlining the harvest method for each item. The three categories in the guide are “green – recommended”, “yellow – think twice”, and “red – avoid’. Remember to check the guide before you consume or purchase seafood to see which products are sustainable.

Download our seafood app now!
Android | IOS

在禁拖網的香港,我們仍在食用拖網捕撈的海鮮 | WWF Hong Kong

在禁拖網的香港,我們仍在食用拖網捕撈的海鮮

發表日期
16 October 2020


香港於2012年12月31日正式禁止具破壞性的拖網捕魚活動。2019年在本地註冊的5,000艘漁船中,仍有22%在南中國海鄰近水域進行拖網捕魚,僱用超過10,000本地漁民。
 
在香港,我們所消耗的海鮮中僅有約20%來自本地水域,因此我們需要發展本地的可持續漁業,並提倡可持續的捕撈方法,例如竿釣、徒手捕捉等選擇性捕撈方法。這些方法可以避免捕撈脆弱或非目標的物種,同時對周邊棲息地的影響有限。
 
拖網捕魚是非選擇性的捕魚方法,靠漁船拖動漁網進行捕撈。拖網網格的平均尺寸為4厘米 x 11.5厘米,因此發生誤捕的可能性非常高。底層拖網通常在海床上進行,不僅破壞海床,攪動沉積物,亦毀壞珊瑚,造成嚴重的海洋生態傷害。受破壞的棲息地需要多年時間才能復原。
 
雖然香港已經禁止拖網捕撈,但世界上仍然有很多地區依賴拖網捕魚。1950年代,一項新的拖網技術讓漁民能夠在更大更深的海域進行更長時間的捕撈。這項技術直接導致鱈魚數量快速下跌,超過其恢復的速度。1992年夏天,大西洋鱈魚的生物量下跌至之前數量的1%。加拿大政府隨即禁止捕撈大西洋鱈魚,幫助種群復原。但是,我們有沒有從過去的經驗中吸取教訓呢?顯然沒有。現時澳洲的大西洋胸棘鯛依然利用底層拖網進行捕撈,並且正在申請海洋管理委員會(MSC)認證,這樣的舉動引起世界自然基金會(WWF)及其他保育團體的強烈反對。
 
如果你想分辨哪些海鮮屬於環保海鮮,可以參考WWF推出的《海鮮選擇指引》。指引中涵蓋70多種常見的海鮮品種,概述了每個品種的捕撈及養殖方法。指引將海鮮分為3個類別:「綠色 – 建議」、「黃色 – 想清楚」、「紅色 – 避免」。在食用或購買海鮮前,切記參考我們的《海鮮選擇指引》,做出更加精明的選擇!
 
立即下載《海鮮選擇指引》應用程式!
Android | IOS