What would you like to search for?

Industry Partnership

© WWF-Hong Kong

Plastic ACTion Initiative

In a major sectoral push for the industry to work collectively towards the common vision of No Plastic in Nature by 2030, Hong Kong's leading food delivery companies, Deliveroo and foodpanda signed an industry-wide commitment in March 2020 to be a part of WWF’s Plastic ACTion Initiative (PACT) to reduce single-use plastics. 
 
Tableware make up about 10 per cent of Hong Kong's disposal plastic waste. Despite efforts to increase recycling, most plastic waste ends up in the landfill or in the ocean or other water bodies. According to WWF-Hong Kong's Coastal Watch Report, single-use tableware, including cutlery, containers and straws, are among the top-10 biggest sources of local marine litter.

Polystyrene Fish Boxes

© WWF-Hong Kong

Studies from Coastal Watch have found polystyrene fragments to be among the top 10 of most common types of marine litter in Hong Kong. One of the sources of polystyrene fragments is the boxes commonly used by the fishery and seafood industry.

Polystyrene is fragile and light. It breaks into small pieces easily and is carried away swiftly by wind and water currents, hence affecting large areas of the coastline that are difficult to clean. Polystyrene also has a high thermal insulation capacity, which is ideal for keeping fish fresh during transport and is therefore widely adopted by the fishery and seafood industry. Due to the fragile nature of the fish boxes, fragments are often broken off during operations and enter the sea easily. Their operations are in close proximity to the sea, any accidental leakage or intentional dumping of fish boxes into the sea causes much contamination.

WWF is working with the industry to study feasible alternatives to polystyrene fish boxes. WWF is also seeking the industry’s input on improving fish box-collection methods to reduce dumping into the sea.

Green Mariners

© WWF-Hong Kong

A clean and healthy sea allows marine recreational businesses to thrive and allows for the enjoyment of sea-goers. However, seaside leisure activities tend to create significant litter and have been identified as among the sources of our marine litter, which increases from May and peaks in August, coinciding with the peak season of marine recreational activities. Increased rainfalls in the summer months also contribute to the problem by washing seaside litter into the sea.
 
In April 2017, WWF launched the “ECF Sea Without Litter” project, involving more than 30 marine recreational groups and businesses. Participating groups helped educate their staff, members and customers about marine litter and invited them to help clean up the sea. The groups were also encouraged to improve their operations, such as sorting and recycling their waste and to replace disposable tableware and cutlery with reusable ones.
 
While floating litter and those at shore are relatively accessible for general clean-up, underwater litter require the help of divers.
 
WWF cooperates with the AFCD and the Hong Kong Reef Check to engage reef check teams and volunteer divers to conduct surveys on underwater litter. Mesh bags are provided to divers for them to pick up litter during dives.

業界合作 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

業界合作

© WWF-Hong Kong

絕膠行動

香港兩大美食速遞平台戶戶送Deliveroo及foodpanda於2020年3月簽署了一項業界承諾,正式加入世界自然基金會(WWF)的「絕膠行動」(Plastic ACTion),承諾於2030年前為實現「淨塑自然」(No Plastic in Nature)之共同願景而努力。
 
塑膠餐具約佔香港塑膠廢物的10%,即使加大回收力度,大部分塑膠廢物最終還是送到垃圾堆填區或流入海洋。本會《育養海岸——守護海洋的日子》調查報告指出,即棄餐具、餐盒及飲管是本港十大常見海洋塑膠垃圾。

發泡膠魚箱

© WWF-Hong Kong

「育養海岸」計劃的調查指出,發泡膠碎片是香港十大常見海洋垃圾之一,部分碎片來自漁業與海鮮業界常用的魚箱。

發泡膠輕身易碎,碎片容易隨風和水流漂走,從而令海岸線大面積污染,並難以清理。發泡膠具有良好的隔熱功能,能夠確保魚類在運送過程中保持新鮮,因此頗受業界歡迎。由於魚箱容易破碎,加上漁民多在近海作業,發泡膠碎片經常會落入海中,甚至還有漁民用完魚箱後把它扔進大海,造成海洋污染。

WWF正與業界合作,研究可行方案以替代發泡膠魚箱,並商討魚箱回收,避免漁民直接丟入海中。

海上康樂團體

© WWF-Hong Kong

海洋潔淨健康有助海上康樂事業的蓬勃發展,但海濱休閒活動越頻繁的月份(每年5月至8月),海洋垃圾往往越多。此外,夏季隨着雨量增加,不少沿岸垃圾亦被沖入海中。
 
本會於2017年4月開展「環保基金—攜手護海洋」計劃,吸引了超過30個海上康樂團體參與。他們不但呼籲員工、會員及顧客減少海洋垃圾,還組織大家一同清潔海洋。WWF亦鼓勵參與機構改善營運方式,例如垃圾分類回收、可重用餐具代替即棄塑膠餐具等。
 
海面及沿岸垃圾相對容易清理,海底垃圾則需要潛水員的協助。為此,WWF與漁農自然護理署和香港珊瑚礁普查合作,邀請珊瑚礁普查隊及義工收集海底垃圾數據,並提供潛水網袋讓潛水員進行清理。