Mai Po Community Engagement | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© Philippe Li

Mai Po Community

The Peter Scott Field Studies Centre in the village outside Mai Po Nature Reserve welcomes students, teachers, public visitors, families and community groups as well as dedicated researchers and birdwatchers, all of whom are our local Mai Po community. The facility and community also welcomes international researchers and educators, being a key training facility for both wetland managers and those involved in the protection of wetlands across the region. We are connecting our community to nature.

With the generous support of a capital funding grant from the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, WWF is embarking on a project to rebuild the Peter Scott Centre to meet the needs of our Mai Po Community, whilst bringing the facility up to today’s environmental and building safety standards. The project is aligned to goals under the UN Convention for Biological Diversity to deliver a 21st Century Nature Classroom by 2021.
 rel=
Connect 2 Nature - Mai Po Community
© WWF-Hong Kong
Mai Po Community Survey
The new Peter Scott Field Studies Centre is being planned with the needs of the Mai Po Community in mind – from design concept through to construction and then to its future operation. The centre will be accessible to all visitors including those with disabilities. Universal accessibility features, including tactile and auditory experiences, will be provided to empower everyone to learn about wetlands and biodiversity.

The Peter Scott rebuild can enhance capacity for wetland training and research, providing space for community forums and workshops. This can bring groups together to tackle threats to biodiversity and the issues surrounding the protection of Deep Bay wetlands and the East Asian-Australasian Flyway.

The below presentations cover the ongoing design work for three components in the Mai Po Nature Reserve infrastructure upgrade and improvement programme, scheduled to commence construction from April 2020, with the building of two bird hides and a one-kilometre natural boardwalk to replace the existing footpath and provide universal access facilities. The presentations also cover the design work for the new Peter Scott Field Studies Centre.

同創米埔 | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© Philippe Li

同創米埔

斯科特野外研習中心位於米埔自然保護區外,不少師生、公眾訪客、家庭、社區團體、研究員和觀鳥人士都會專誠來訪。中心內設施齊備,不但歡迎世界各地的研究人員及學者使用,更是區內濕地管理人員的重要訓練設施,肩負連繫公眾與大自然的重要角色。

得到香港賽馬會慈善信託基金的慷慨捐助,WWF現正於斯科特野外研習中心展開重建項目,一方面以迎合米埔社區所需。我們同時會將設施提升,以達至今日的環境及建築安全水平。這項目跟聯合國《生物多樣性公約》的目標一致,中心將在2021年前轉變成一座21世紀大自然教室。
從設計概念到興建,以至將來的日常運作,全新的斯科特野外研習中心都是本着米埔社區的需要策劃。中心將具備多項無障礙設計,包括為傷健人士而設的觸覺和聽覺體驗,讓每個人都能了解濕地和生物多樣性。

中心重建後將可加強濕地培訓及研究的能力,為社區研討及工作坊提供空間。這有助凝聚更多團體,共同應對生物多樣性面臨的威脅,以及處理后海灣周邊濕地和東亞 ─ 澳大拉西亞飛行航道所遇到的挑戰。

米埔基礎設施改善工程將於2020年4月動工,此網頁將介紹其中三個分項目的設計。它們分別為建設兩座全新觀鳥屋、重建斯科特野外研習中心,以及擴闊一公里長的主要行人小徑,方便輪椅人士出入。