Close Asia’s Illegal Wildlife Markets | WWF Hong Kong

Close Asia’s Illegal Wildlife Markets



CLOSE ASIA’S IVORY MARKETS 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
A ban on the domestic ivory trade with no compensation by 2021 and an increase in the maximum penalty for wildlife crime offences to 10 years was passed into law by Hong Kong’s Legislative Council on 31 January 2018. WWF welcomes the new legislation and would like to thank all the supporters that helped to make this happen.

Hong Kong is the largest ivory city market in the world and a major transit hub for illegal wildlife trade due to low fines and sentences for traffickers and zero prosecutions of the criminal kingpins. China closed its legal ivory market at the end of 2017. All ivory trade in the country is now illegal, which may intensify Hong Kong’s position as a preferred market for illegal ivory under the cover of remaining legal traders. The Hong Kong ban will help blunt this trend. There is also evidence that domestic ivory markets in Vietnam, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Japan, and Myanmar are increasingly catering to visitors from China.  

Let’s look at some of WWF’s recent work in the lead-up to the ban.

6 September 2017. WWF releases the results of a survey showing that a total ban on ivory sales in Hong Kong is supported by 78% of locals at the Legislative Council’s second public hearing on the ivory trade ban. WWF is supported by testimony from Crispian Barlow, a 17-year veteran who served on the frontlines against poachers on South African nature reserves.



6 June 2017. Frontline rangers travel from Africa to join WWF in Hong Kong, urging legislators to ban the ivory trade.



27 March 2017.  WWF delivers a petition to legislators and government officials signed by 91,643 Hong Kongers calling for an ivory ban, along with a letter detailing reasons to back the government’s ivory phase-out proposal. 



WWF released several reports since 2015 outlining the problems, and our suggested course of action, for the ivory trade in Hong Kong.
 
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
WWF-Hong Kong
© WWF-Hong Kong
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
WWF-Hong Kong
© WWF-Hong Kong
Feasibility Study on the Ban of Hong Kong’s Ivory Trade 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Feasibility Study on the Ban of Hong Kong’s Ivory Trade
© WWF-Hong Kong

關閉亞洲所有象牙市場 | WWF Hong Kong


CLOSE ASIA’S IVORY MARKETS 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
在2018年1月31日,香港立法會正式通過禁止本地象牙貿易的法案,標誌着保育大象的重要里程碑。法案規定於2021年前全面禁止本港象牙貿易而毋須向象牙商作出賠償,並加重瀕危物種走私及非法貿易的最高罰則至監禁10年。世界自然基金會香港分會(WWF)對立法表示歡迎,並就此感謝各界人士一直以來的支持。

本港的野生物貿易走私罰則寬鬆,加上至今仍未有涉及相關罪行的集團主腦被起訴,令香港一直是全球最大的象牙零售市場,也是野生物走私的國際樞紐。在2017年底,中國全面禁止象牙貿易,令國內所有象牙買賣變成非法。這有機會加劇本港的非法象牙貿易及走私,而通過禁止本地象牙貿易法案正可遏止這一趨勢。然而,有數據顯示中國遊客於越南、柬埔寨、老撾、日本及緬甸購買象牙的情況有所增長,提醒我們仍未能鬆懈。 

WWF一直致力爭取本港禁止象牙貿易,現在就簡單回顧我們的工作:

2017年9月6日,WWF公布一項民意調查,結果顯示78%的港人支持全面禁止象牙貿易,並毋須對象牙商作賠償。WWF聯同曾在南非擔任護林員、有17年在前線打擊獵殺者經驗的柏樂 (Crispian Barlow) 出席立法會公聽會,促請議員通過法案,盡早禁止象牙貿易。



2017年6月6日, 非洲前線護林員遠道來港與WWF一同促請立法會議員支持禁止象牙貿易。



2017年3月27日WWF向立法會議員和政府遞交一份獲91,643名香港人支持的聯署,以及一封致立法會的請願信,詳列支持立法淘汰本地象牙貿易的原因。



WWF自2015年起發表多份報告,揭露本港象牙市場的法律漏洞,並提出可行建議及行動,以推動香港禁止象牙貿易。
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
《如何馬上開始全面禁止本港象牙貿易》
© WWF-Hong Kong
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
《沉重的真相》
© WWF-Hong Kong
Feasibility Study on the Ban of Hong Kong’s Ivory Trade 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Feasibility Study on the Ban of Hong Kong’s Ivory Trade
© WWF-Hong Kong