Race Arrangements | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© WWF-Hong Kong

PROFESSIONAL RACE

 

HOW THE RACE WORKS

Big Bird Race (Professional Race) is a 12-hour bird-watching race, with teams of four working together to record as many bird species as possible during the allotted time. Every species recorded must be seen or heard by all members of the team. Teams may start anywhere in Hong Kong but must return to Island House before the end of the race. A judge will examine each team’s log books to determine the winners.
 

RULES AND REGULATIONS

  • Teams should consist of three to four core members, plus a recorder and/or driver if required. The core members should see or hear all the species submitted as the team's race record. Large teams should only only minate four core members for this purpose And indicate on the log book who these are.
  • Teams should remain together for the whole race, unless there are exceptional reasons why this is not possible. In large teams there should be no scouting or reconnaissance by non-core team members during the race.
  • Only species listed in Categories I or II of the most recently published List of Hong Kong Birds will be considered by the Adjudicator. In addition, the following conditions apply:
    1. Birds must be unrestrained.
    2. Birds that are incapacitated or sick, or any that show obvious signs of having been released from captivity do not count.
    3. All species must be recorded in the territory of Hong Kong.
    4. Only identifications beyond reasonable doubt should be submitted.
    5. Attracting birds with recordings of vocalisations or bait is prohibited.
  • Each team should report to the Adjudicator immediately on finishing the Race. A period of 30 minutes after the official finish time is allowed for teams to check the accuracy of e-logbooks, but no species can be recorded during this time. Once the e-logbook is completed in full, it should be for checking and result compilation. Team captains should check the totals for number of species recorded by their team, nominate both “Bird of the Day” and “Dip of the Day”. No amendment to the e-logbook will be permitted after submission at 6:30pm. Team captains should try to remain available to answer any queries the Adjudicator may have.
  • Teams may start the Race anywhere in HK at 6:00am. The Race will finish at 6:00pm at Island House Conservation Studies Centre. Team must submit their e-logbook to the Adjudicator no later than 6:30pm.
  • For every one minute late, five minutes will be counted back and any bird species recorded in that period will be deleted. However, delays beyond the control of the teams will be discounted e.g. roads blocked because of an accident. Team captains are encouraged to get a message to the Adjudicator should this be the case.
  • Only areas that are statutorily accessible to all teams and their vehicles should be entered. Teams should remain entirely on foot in Mai Po Nature Reserve and on roads for which a vehicle permit is required (unless a permit has been arranged for all teams). The track between gei wai 16/17 and 14 at Mai Po Nature Reserve are strictly out of bounds to all teams.
  • The Adjudicator will critically examine records of difficult-to-identify or unusual species. Team captains should be aware of which species might require verbal or other substantiation. Generally, this requirement would apply to scarce or rare species previously unrecorded in the current winter and other species or age classes for which identification may be difficult (e.g. immature gulls).
  • The provisional Race results will be announced during the Award Dinner. These results may be amended by the Adjudicator. Final results will be issued later. Team captains or their proxies must be available to answer queries by telephone or e-mail at least 3 days after the Race.
  • Known breeding or roost sites, or large concentrations of foraging/loafing birds must not be approached to the point where undue disturbance is caused. On no account should birds be deliberately flushed.
  • Information during the Race from non-participating birdwatchers regarding bird species should not be acted upon, unless the information is freely available to all teams.
  • If over-crowding occurs in the hides, teams should select two members to sit and two to stand, so as to free up space; this is especially so in the boardwalk hides.
  • Teams not complying with these requirements, and for which no alternative penalty is specified, will be placed last in the Race, irrespective of the number of birds recorded, but their totals will still count for the purposes of sponsorship. Any dispute will be referred to the Adjudicator whose decision will be final.
 

Adverse Weather Arrangements & Special Public Activities Arrangements.
WWF reserves the right to cancel the event if:

  1. The Red or Black Rainstorm Signal or Typhoon No.8 Signal or above is hosted at 5am on the event day, or
  2. There are other adverse incidents beyond the control of WWF, such as the closure of the Mai Po Nature Reserve by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department due to infection control.
  3. Due to the large number of public events happening in Hong Kong, we will have special arrangements if there are unexpected changes of things during the time of the event. 

YOUTH TEAM RACE

A new race for secondary-school students has been added since BBR2019, with a half-day training course provided prior to the 4.5-hour race. The youth team race aims to help young participants learn more about nature in a practical and engaging way while grooming the next generation of bird-lovers to take part in the conservation of Mai Po Nature Reserve. This race also aims to emphasise the importance of securing the management of Mai Po Nature Reserve, a Wetland of International Importance under the Ramsar Convention. All results from the race will contribute to data analysed by Mai Po Nature Reserve management.
 

HOW THE RACE WORKS

The Big Bird Race (Youth team race) includes a one half-day training course on 19 Jan 2020 followed by a 4.5-hour bird-watching race, with teams of four working together to record as many bird species as possible during the allotted time. Every species recorded must be seen or heard by all members of the team. The training and the race will be held on Mai Po Nature Reserve. Teams are required to submit an e-log book at the Mai Po Education Centre after the race. The judge will examine each team’s e-log book to determine the winners and the results will be announced at the award ceremony.
 

RULES AND REGULATIONS

  • The enrolment deadline is on 17 January 2020 (Friday).
  • Each team will be made up of four members, including four core members and a teacher. Every record entry needs to be seen or heard by at least three of the group’s core members. The bird species recorded during the competition will be calculated for the final result. Each bird species earns one mark. The result will be announced on the day of the competition and the team with the highest score will be declared the race winner. The judge will have the right to determine the final results.
  • All team members must participate throughout the duration of the race. No replacement or substitution of team members may be made during the race. Unless there are special reasons, team members should stay together during the race. No team member, including the teacher, is allowed to conduct reconnaissance or search for news about birds before the start of the race.
  • Each school is allowed to have two teams joining the race.
  • All teams must attend a half-day bird watching theory course to be held by WWF-Hong Kong. The course date is tentatively scheduled for 19 January 2020, there will be lectures on birdwatching knowledge, information about the rules and regulations of the race, and an expert talk.
  • We encourage participating schools to conduct site visits to Mai Po at least twice during the period of 19 January to 15 February. During each site visit session, core team members (students) must be accompanied by an adult (teacher, parents or friends). If three or more core members attend the site visit session, three bonus marks will be awarded to the teams, with a maxiumum award of six marks. If fewer than three core members attend the site-visit session, no bonus marks will be awarded.
  • The race will be held at Mai Po Nature Reserve from 8:30am to 1pm (4.5 hours). The race will finish at the grass field outside the Education Centre. The team must report to the referee immediately after the competition, and check if the contents of the electronic birdwatching record (e-logbook) are accurate within 30 minutes (before 1:30pm). No new bird-record entries may be added during this time. The results will then be handed to the referee for review and scoring. The electronic birdwatching record cannot be modified after 1:30pm. The captain needs to stay to answer any questions raised by the referee.
  • All participating teams must submit the electronic version of the bird-watching record to avoid incurring penalties. The marks given will follow the electronic bird-watching record. Three marks will be deducted for every minute of late submission. If the late submission is less than a minute, three marks will be deducted.
  • Lunch time will be scheduled at 1:30pm and participants are required to prepare their own pack lunch. Please be reminded to reduce or eliminate the use of single use plastics!
  • Participants are required to refer to The Avifauna of Hong Kong, published by the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society. Only species listed in categories I to II of the book, or those in the race logbook, will form part of the count. The following restrictions also apply:
    1. Birds must be unrestrained.
    2. Oiled, sick birds or species released from captivity within a few days of the race will not be counted.
    3. All species must be recorded within the territorial area of the Hong Kong SAR.
    4. Only positively identified species are acceptable.
    5. Attracting birds with recordings of vocalisations or bait is prohibited.
  • Teams can only enter the permitted area for the competition. The access road and pontoon area between No. 16/17 and No. 14 fences in Mai Po Nature Reserve are strictly off limits.
  • If any rare bird species is recorded, the judge will examine the validity of the record entry. Team leaders are advised to pay particular attention to the species of the bird observed in the event, as the judge requires evidence of the sighting. Proof of the observation may be required in the event some endangered species have not been spotted at Mai Po or data on the bird is insufficient.
  • To avoid unnecessary nuisance to birds, participants should not approach known breeding sites and bird habitats or places where large numbers of birds gather for food/resting. Under no circumstances should participants intentionally scare or drive away birds.
  • During the competition, participants cannot communicate or talk about the information related to the birds’ location in Mai Po to non-race participants, but may do so with fellow participants.
  • If the bird-watching hide is crowded, each team will be assigned two seats and two spots for standing, to free up space.
  • If the participating team fails to comply with rules that have no corresponding penalty listed, the team will be listed as finishing last, irrespective of how many bird species they recorded. All complaints will be examined and handled by the judges. Teams that violate rules cannot challenge the penalties imposed by the judge.
  • The results will be announced at the award ceremony, which will be held after the race. To ensure fair results, the adjudicator will re-examine all e-log books and release the adjudicator’s report one week after the race.
  • Participants are advised to download the iNaturalist app in advance to help identify different bird species during the race.
 

Adverse Weather Arrangements & Special Public Activities Arrangements.
WWF reserves the right to cancel the event if:

  1. The Red or Black Rainstorm Signal or Typhoon No.8 Signal or above is hosted at 5am on the event day, or
  2. There are other adverse incidents beyond the control of WWF, such as the closure of the Mai Po Nature Reserve by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department due to infection control.
  3. Due to the large number of public events happening in Hong Kong, we will have special arrangements if there are unexpected changes of things during the time of the event.

比賽安排 | WWF Hong Kong


 
© WWF-Hong Kong

專業賽

比賽形式

香港觀鳥大賽專業賽長達12小時,每支隊伍由四人組成,需在限時內記錄看到或聽到的鳥類,記錄最多鳥類品種的隊伍為勝。觀鳥可在香港任何地區進行,但所有隊伍最後須返回元洲仔自然環境保護研究中心,以遞交紀錄冊予評判分出勝負。
 

比賽規則

  • 參賽隊伍必須由三至四位核心成員組成,如有需要,可另加一位記錄員和/或司機。隊伍所提交的觀鳥記錄,必須為核心成員親眼看見或聽到。超過四位成員的隊伍必須只提名四位作核心成員,並在觀鳥記錄冊上列明這些成員的姓名。
  • 除非有特殊原因,參賽隊伍成員在整個比賽的過程應待在一起。超過四位成員的隊伍中的非核心成員不可進行事先偵察或到處搜尋有關雀鳥的消息。
  • 大會認可的雀鳥品種只包括《香港鳥類名錄中》I及II類所列的鳥種,且必須符合以下條件:
    1. 並非籠中飼養鳥或受束縛的雀鳥。
    2. 無行動能力、患病,或有任何跡像是從囚禁中被釋放的雀鳥,均不計算在內。
    3. 所有鳥種必須於香港境內記錄。
    4. 只提交排除合理懷疑的記錄。
    5. 禁止播放吸引雀鳥的聲音或使用誘餌。
  • 參賽隊伍在比賽結束後須立即向裁判報到,然後在大會指定完成時間後30分鐘內檢查電子觀鳥記錄冊上內容的準確性,卻不得再新增任何鳥種。完成後,隊長應確認其隊伍記錄的鳥類總數及提名「最有特色雀鳥」和「糊塗蟲之最」,然後儲存及提交記錄。電子觀鳥紀錄冊在下午6時30分後便不得作任何修改。隊長應留在現場回答裁判有關的任何疑問。
  • 比賽於上午6:00開始,參賽隊伍可自行選擇比賽起點,唯必須在香港境內,並於下午6:00以元洲仔自然環境保護研究中心為終點。參賽隊伍必須於下午6:30之前提交電子觀鳥記錄冊。
  • 參賽隊伍每遲到1分鐘,便須在紀錄中倒扣5分鐘,任何在該段時間中記錄到的雀鳥將不獲計算到總成績內。但是,倘若參賽隊伍遭受突發事故(例如因交通意外而封路等阻延),則不在此限制之內。隊長須向裁判報告有關的突發事故。
  • 參賽隊伍只可進入獲允許的區域作賽。在米埔自然保護區及只允許有許可證的車輛行走的道路上(除非所有隊伍已獲取許可證),均只允許步行。米埔自然保護區16/17號基圍和14號基圍之間的通道嚴格限制進入。
  • 裁判將審慎細查所有難以辨認和罕見的鳥種。隊長應該注意那些鳥種可能需要提供口頭彙報或其他證據。一般來說,這項要求將適用於在本冬季未被記錄過的稀有或罕見鳥種,以及其他可能難以辨認的物種,或因年齡類別而難以辨認的物種(例如鷗類的未成鳥)。
  • 臨時的比賽結果將於頒獎晚宴上公佈,裁判保留更改比賽結果的權利。最後的比賽結果將於稍後公佈,各隊長或其代表需準備於比賽3天後以電話或電郵回答裁判的查詢。
  • 為免對雀鳥造成不必要的滋擾,參加者不應該接近已確定的雀鳥繁殖地、棲息地,或有大量雀鳥聚集覓食/休息的地方。在任何情況下,參加者均不可故意驚嚇或驅趕雀鳥。
  • 比賽期間,參賽者不可以與任何非參賽人士互通有關雀鳥的消息,但向所有參賽隊伍公開的消息不 在此限制之內。
  • 若觀鳥屋過度擁擠,參賽隊伍應派兩名成員坐下,另外兩名成員則須站立,以騰出空間;尤其是在浮橋的觀鳥屋。
  • 參賽隊伍若未能遵守上述比賽規則,而所違反的規則並未有列明處分方式的情況下,無論錄得多少鳥種,有關隊伍的名次將列於末席,惟鳥種總數仍會用來計算贊助善款。任何投訴將交由裁判作最後決定,所有隊伍不得異議。
 

惡劣天氣安排或其他在附近發生的大型公眾活動:

如於活動當日早上5時懸掛紅色或黑色暴雨警告信號,或八號以上之颱風信號,或其他非本會能力控制的外在因素影響,例如漁農自然護理署因傳染病理由關閉米埔自然保護區,或其他在附近發生的大型公眾活動;世界自然基金會保留取消是次活動的權利,而所有捐款恕不退還。所有捐款會用作支持本會的保育及教育工作。

中學賽

自2019年起,「香港觀鳥大賽」新增了中學賽,不但為學生提供互相交流及增進知識的平台,還希望藉此培養更多有志於保育的年輕人,讓觀鳥活動得以傳承,向大眾宣揚更多關於鳥類保育的訊息。同時,本次賽事的比賽結果將用於管理米埔自然保護區的數據分析,以支持這片在《拉姆薩爾公約》中被確認為「國際重要濕地」的管理及保育工作。香港觀鳥大賽中學賽包括一個半日的觀鳥理論課程,一個生態講座及4.5小時的觀鳥比賽,課程及比賽將於米埔自然保護區內進行。
 

培訓及比賽形式

參賽者會先參加2020年1月19日舉辦的半日觀鳥理論課程,再於2月15日進行4.5小時觀鳥比賽,兩者均於米埔自然保護區內進行。每支隊伍由四名中學生組成,限時內把看到或聽到的鳥類記錄於紀錄冊中,記錄最多鳥類品種的隊伍為之勝利。參賽隊伍須於比賽後前往米埔教育中心,遞交電子紀錄冊予評判。結果將於當天的頒獎典禮公布。
 

比賽規則

  • 截止報名日期為2020年1月17日 (星期五)
  • 參賽隊伍必須由四位核心成員與及一名負責老師組成。隊伍所提交的觀鳥紀錄,必須由最少三位核心成員親眼看見或親耳聽到。參賽隊伍於比賽時間內記錄之鳥類品種方可計算到總成績內,每一個鳥類品種為1分。最高分之隊伍為勝出隊伍。比賽結果將於比賽當日公布,裁判保留更改比賽結果的權利。
  • 四位隊員必須全程參與比賽。比賽期間不得更換隊員。除非有特殊原因,參賽隊伍成員在整個比賽過程應待在一起。隊伍中任何成員及負責老師不可進行事先偵察或到處搜尋有關雀鳥的消息。
  • 每間學校最多只可有兩支隊伍參加比賽。
  • 所有參賽隊伍必須參本會舉辦的觀鳥理論課程,日期暫定於2020年1月19日,課程資料稍後公佈。觀鳥理論課程會將會包含一個觀鳥知識講座,一個有關香港觀鳥大賽2020 – 中學賽的規則和事宜,以及專家講座環節。
  • 本會建議學校於1月19日至2月15日期間自行進行兩次米埔實地考察。每次參與練習者均須為參賽隊伍中的核心成員(即學生),並由1位成人(即老師、家長或朋友)陪同。凡有3位或以上核心成員出席的練習,可於總成績獲取3分,每組上限6分。少於3位核心成員的觀鳥練習則不獲分數。
  • 比賽於上午8時30分開始至下午1時結束(為時4.5小時)。比賽將於米埔自然保護區內舉行,終點設於教育中心草地。參賽隊伍在比賽結束後須立即向裁判報到,然後在大會指定完成時間後30分鐘內(即下午1:30前)檢查電子觀鳥紀錄冊上內容的準確性,卻不得再新增任何鳥種,然後交給裁判檢查及評分。電子觀鳥紀錄冊在下午1時30分後不得作任何修改。隊長需留在現場回答裁判有關的任何疑問。
  • 參賽隊伍如未能於指定時間提交電子版觀鳥紀錄將受到懲罰,計分將會以電子版觀鳥紀錄為準。每遲交1分鐘,就會在總成績中倒扣3分,不足1分鐘亦當作1分鐘處理。
  • 當天下午1時30分到2時30分為午飯時段,參加者需自行準備午餐。
  • 參加者須參閱由大會評判撰寫的《香港鳥類名錄》(The Avifauna of Hong Kong, Carey et al. 2001),大會認可的雀鳥品種只包括《香港鳥類名錄中》 I及II類所列的鳥種,且必須符合以下條件:
    1. 並非籠中飼養鳥或受束縛的雀鳥
    2. 無行動能力、患病,或有任何跡象是從囚禁中被釋放的雀鳥,均不計算在內
    3. 所有鳥種必須於香港境內記錄
    4. 只提交排除合理懷疑的紀錄
    5. 禁止播放吸引雀鳥的聲音或使用誘餌
  • 參賽隊伍只可進入獲允許的區域作賽。米埔自然保護區16/17號基圍和14號基圍之間的通道及浮橋區域嚴格限制進入。
  • 裁判將審慎細查所有難以辨認和罕見的鳥種。隊長應該注意那些鳥種可能需要提供口頭彙報或其他證據。一般來說,這項要求將適用於在本冬季未被記錄過的稀有或罕見鳥種,以及其他可能難以辨認的物種,或因年齡類別而難以辨認的物種(例如鷗類的未成鳥)。
  • 為免對雀鳥造成不必要的滋擾,參加者不應該接近已確定的雀鳥繁殖地及棲息地,或有大量雀鳥聚集覓食/休息的地方。任何情況下,參加者均不可故意驚嚇或驅趕雀鳥。
  • 比賽期間,參賽者不可以與任何非參賽人士互通有關雀鳥的消息,但向所有參賽隊伍公開的消息不在此限制之內。
  • 若觀鳥屋過度擁擠,參賽隊伍應派兩名成員坐下,另外兩名成員則須站立,以騰出空間。
  • 參賽隊伍若未能遵守上述比賽規則,而所違反的規則並未有列明處分方式的情況下,無論錄得多少鳥種,有關隊伍的名次將列於末席。任何投訴將交由裁判作最後決定,所有隊伍不得異議。
  • 請參加者預先下載手機應用程式「iNaturalist」,並於比賽期間使用以輔助辨認不同的鳥類品種,有助於觀鳥學習及進行比賽。
  • 比賽結果將於當天的頒獎典禮公佈,大會評判會在比賽後一星期內再次審視各隊伍的觀鳥記錄,及發放評審報告,以確保比賽結果公平及公正。
 

惡劣天氣安排或其他在附近發生的大型公眾活動:

如於活動當日早上5時懸掛紅色或黑色暴雨警告信號,或八號以上之颱風信號,或其他非本會能力控制的外在因素影響,例如漁農自然護理署因傳染病理由關閉米埔自然保護區,或其他在附近發生的大型公眾活動;世界自然基金會保留取消是次活動的權利,而所有捐款恕不退還。所有捐款會用作支持本會的保育及教育工作。