Walk for Nature | WWF Hong Kong

Walk for Nature 2018 Inside Banner 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Dates: 3-4 November 2018 (Saturday and Sunday)
*Participants can join on one day only
Time: 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
There will be 10 time slots each day running consecutively at half hour intervals from 9:30 a.m. – 2 p.m. Participants can choose their preferred time slot during the registration process.
Venue: Mai Po Nature Reserve
Venue: Suitable for 4 years old or above
*For safety reasons, baby strollers and prams are not allowed in the Reserve.

“Walk for Nature” is an annual fundraising event held in Hong Kong’s iconic Mai Po Nature Reserve that has been held for the past 25 years. Participants walk a set route around the Reserve, which is in the Inner Deep Bay wetlands. Mai Po was recognized as “Wetland of International Importance” under the Ramsar Convention in 1995. Since 1940s, observers at the Mai Po Inner Deep Bay wetlands have recorded a total of 400 different species of birds, accounting for 75 per cent of the known bird species in Hong Kong and giving it a reputation as a paradise for birds. Among them are 35 species that are classified as worldwide endangered species. The Reserve also provides habitat for many species of both flora and fauna.

Walk for Nature, WWF-Hong Kong’s most significant educational fundraising event, aims to engage the public about the need to protect Hong Kong’s local natural environment and strengthen their awareness of the importance of environmental conservation.

Corporate Sponsorship

“Walk for Nature” 2018 is now recruiting corporate sponsors. Please contact us for more information. 
Tel: 2526-1011 (press 4, 3 after choosing language)
Email: walk@wwf.org.hk
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Flock of birds
© WWF-Hong Kong
	© WWF-Hong Kong
© WWF-Hong Kong


The event route is about 5 kilometres and has an estimated completion time of 3 to 4 hours. Along the route, you will pass through bird hides, fish ponds, reed beds and gei wais. Our hard-working partners, the buffalos will be there to meet you too. Interactive game stands will be set-up along the route, providing challenges while enjoying the breathtaking scenery of Mai Po.

Binoculars Rental

Binoculars (8X zoom) can be hired at the starting point of the walk. There is a rental fee of $20 and a refundable deposit of $100.

Some binoculars are geared with stabilizer. Please inform our staff if you need one.

Bad Weather Arrangement

WWF reserves the right to cancel the Walk for Nature event if Red or Black Rainstorm Signal or Typhoon No.8 Signal or above is hosted at 6 a.m. on the event day, or there are other adverse incidents beyond the control of WWF, such as the closure of Mai Po Nature Reserve by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department due to infection control. All donations are non-refundable and will be used to support our conservation and education programs.

About Mai Po Conservation

In 1983, WWF-Hong Kong began managing Mai Po Nature Reserve, implementing a number of conservation projects designed to protect the Reserve’s many fish ponds, gei wai, intertidal mudflats, mangroves, reed beds and freshwater ponds. In 2001, the conservation work took on a new dimension and began to focus on conserving Hong Kong’s section of the East Asian-Australasian Flyway (EAAF), a vital route for migratory water birds. The EAAF begins at the Arctic Circle and runs through Southeast Asia all the way to Australia and New Zealand. Mai Po is situated roughly in the centre of the flyway. Every year, migratory birds conduct their long journeys south and stop at Mai Po to rest and recharge before they continue their voyage.

Education and Interaction

In 1986, WWF established the Wildlife Education Centre at Mai Po Nature Reserve. In 1991, the addition of the Peter Scott Field Studies Centre allowed WWF to provide a complete range of guided tour services to students and the public. These improved facilities also benefit scientists and professionals, allowing them to conduct more efficient and effective research and related studies.

In recent years, we have implemented various projects such as ‘Discovering Biodiversity in Hong Kong Wetlands’ and ‘Nature With No Barriers’. Through these projects, we aim at sharing the public with wetland conservation knowledge and improve Mai Po’s facilities. Thanks to 34 years of determination and hard work, Mai Po has now become one of the world’s leading wetland conservation and education centres.

Contact us

WWF Charity Events

  • 香港觀鳥大賽

步走大自然 | WWF Hong Kong


Walk for Nature 2018 Inside Banner 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
活動日期: 2018年11月3日及4日 (星期六及星期日)
*任擇一天
時間: 上午9時30分至下午6時
(每天設十個起步時段供參加者選擇,起步時段由上午9時30分至下午2時,每30分鐘為一個時段。參加者可在報名時選擇適合自己的起步時段)
地點: 米埔自然保護區
適合年齡: 4歲或以上
為安全理由,嬰兒車不得進入園區範圍之內


「步走大自然」是一年一度的步行籌款活動,在米埔自然保護區內舉行。活動至今已舉辦25年。保護區位於后海灣濕地範圍之內,在1995年被《拉姆薩爾公約》訂為國際性重要濕地,自1940年代起,米埔內后海灣濕地共錄得400多種雀鳥,佔本港已知鳥種逾75%,其中35種更為全球保育物種。它為多種生物提供棲身之所,更享有「遷徙性候鳥的天堂」的美譽。

「步走大自然」是一個具有教育意義的籌款活動,目的是向公眾宣揚保護香港本土生態的重要性,加強公眾對環境保育的意識,並籌募經費支持我們的保育工作。


企業贊助詳情

「步走大自然2018」歡迎企業贊助,請聯絡本會職員查詢詳情︰
電話: 2526-1011 (選擇語言後按4,3)
電郵: walk@wwf.org.hk
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Flock of birds
© WWF-Hong Kong

步行所需時間

步行路線長約5公里,約需3至4小時完成。參加者將途經觀鳥屋、魚塘、蘆葦叢及基圍(傳統蝦塘),更有機會遇上我們的工作伙伴——水牛。沿途亦設有互動攤位,參加者可一邊以感官欣賞大自然,一邊從攤位中學習,認識米埔。
 

租借望遠鏡


參加者可以在步行起點租借8X雙筒望遠鏡,租借費$20,另須付按金$100。請在離開保護區前交還望遠鏡,便可領回$100按金,而租借費將不獲退還。部分望遠鏡配有防手震裝置,如有需要,可在租借處查詢。

 
	© Ellen Shek
Education - School Programmes
© Ellen Shek

惡劣天氣安排

如於活動當日早上6時懸掛紅色或黑色暴雨警告訊號,或八號以上之熱帶氣旋警告,或其他非本會能力控制的外在因素影響,例如漁農自然護理署因傳染病理由關閉米埔自然保護區,世界自然基金會保留取消是次活動的權利,而所有捐款恕不退還,所有捐款會用作支持本會的保育及教育工作。

有關米埔

保育

本會自1983年開始管理米埔自然保護區,並推出多項保育工作,以管理保護區內的魚塘、基圍、潮間帶泥灘、紅樹林、蘆葦叢及淡水池塘。其中在2001年,我們更開始參加東亞—澳大拉西亞飛行航道(EAAF)的保育工作。EAAF是遷徙水鳥的飛行航道,航道由北極圈經東南亞,一直伸延至澳洲及紐西蘭,而米埔正位處航道的中心。每年水鳥沿航道遷徙,期間會在米埔停留,作中途站歇息和補給,然後才繼續牠們的長途遷徙旅程。

教育和交流

1986年,我們在保護區設立了野生生物教育中心,並在1991年成立了斯科特研習中心,務求以最完善的設施,為學生、市民提供導賞團服務,同時亦方便專業人士進行相關研究。

近年,本會透過「香港濕地生物多樣性普查」及「樂聚自然無障礙」等項目,向公眾分享濕地的保育知識,改善米埔的參觀設施。透過34年來的不斷努力,米埔今天已成爲頂尖的保育和教育中心。

聯絡我們

WWF慈善活動


  • 香港觀鳥大賽