WWF Hong Kong - Act Locally
 / ©: WWF Climate Energy

Act Locally

Every day, every one of us can play a part in saving the planet  

If everyone on our planet lived the lifestyle that Hong Kong people do, we’d need 3.9 Earths to sustain us. It doesn’t have to be this way. Simple, everyday actions can make a big difference to our environment. We live in a developed city, an international financial and trading hub with strong links to the region and the rest of the world. There is so much that we can do together to build a better environment for ourselves and the next generation. A few examples appear below, but don’t be afraid to improvise!

We are always adding new green tips – remember to subscribe to our enewsletter !

Always buy sustainable seafood

Hong Kong enjoys a massive, seemingly unlimited supply of seafood, with products sourced from all over the world. While this may be convenient, many of us are unaware of the shocking price the marine environment pays for this convenience – on average, every Hongkonger consumes 71.6 kg of seafood every year – this is the second-highest per capita consumption in Asia! The main problem is that many of the species of fish that we consume are overfished, and their populations are in serious decline. Buying sustainable seafood can help depleted fish stocks recover and has other positive benefits. Check out our Sustainable Seafood Guide and our Shark Fin Initiative to find out more about how we’re trying to mainstream sustainable seafood in Hong Kong.

Go low carbon

If you want to personally do something about climate change, you can help fight it by living a low carbon lifestyle – and there are so many ways to do this! It can be something simple like taking public transport more often instead of driving, or turning off the lights when you’re leaving the room, or purchasing energy-saving appliances. There are many more ways – check out WWF’s advice to discover more about what you can do.

Never buy products that contain endangered species!

Hong Kong is the world’s largest retail market for ivory. Regrettably, the ivory business is still thriving in our city and it is directly fuelling Africa’s elephant poaching crisis. On top of this, due to cultural backgrounds and ingrained – but outdated – beliefs, some people still believe that certain animal body parts, including those from endangered species, like tiger bones and rhino horns, have medicinal uses. Despite being untrue, these beliefs have had, and continue to have, a devastating effect on populations of animals all over the world, causing them to fall victim to illegal hunting and poaching. Some species have even been driven to the edge of extinction. We can help stop the illegal wildlife trade by never purchasing products that contain parts from endangered species.
 / ©: Alex Wong/WWF Hong Kong
WWF
© Alex Wong/WWF Hong Kong

Choose FSC products

Look around you. Many of the day-to-day objects that surround us are made from timber – the paper in our books, much of our product packaging, our wooden furniture and even our children’s toys to name just a few. An alarming amount of timber used in Hong Kong, however, lacks sufficient certification or comes from potentially illegal sources. Of course, WWF encourages the “3Rs” – Reduce, Reuse and Recycle – when it comes to paper and other wooden products. But if you need to purchase other timber products, wood for a home improvement project for example, you should always choose products that are certified by a credible organization, like the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) , which guarantees that their timber is sourced from certified and sustainably-managed forests.
 / ©: N.C. TURNER  WWF
WWF
© N.C. TURNER WWF

Become a WWF volunteer

Why not call or stop by the office and become a volunteer? Volunteering for WWF is not only a rewarding experience, it’s also a great way to become directly involved in our day-to-day work and activities. We welcome volunteers in most aspects of our work, from providing administrative support in our offices to participating in coastal cleanups and helping conduct field work in Mai Po Nature Reserve. Click here to find out more about how you can join us and make a difference.

Go above and beyond – donate, join an event or be a green advocate!

WWF is a non-profit, non-governmental organization. Our mission is to transform Hong Kong into the most sustainable city in Asia. To do this, we need a steady flow of financing which will fund our conservation and education projects now and into the future, allowing us to create the greatest, most positive impacts we can for the generations that follow us.

By donating to WWF, you can directly contribute to our work and help realize our goals. You can also help by taking part in our events! Each year we hold a number of events and we usually invite the entire Hong Kong community to get involved. From outdoor events like Walk for Nature and the Big Bird Race to global events like Earth Hour, taking part is a great way for families, friends and company staff to unite, mingle, network and show their support for the environment.

Want to do even more? You can always become a WWF green advocate by sharing our conservation messages and promoting our green initiatives amongst your friends, family, and even colleagues in your workplace! 
 
 / ©: WWF / HKPPA
WWF
© WWF / HKPPA

身體力行 | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© WWF Climate Energy

身體力行

任何時候,你都可以為保護地球出一分力

如果地球所有人口都按照香港人的生活模式生活,將需要3.9個地球才能滿足我們 。其實,我們只需要在日常生活中作出小改變,便可以扭轉這個局面。香港作為國際大都會,與地區其他城市緊密連繫,條件充裕,理應為環境、為下一代付出更多。以下有幾個行動建議,除跟隨實行,你更可以花點心思將之升級至更具特色、更具意義的環保活動!

我們會為大家奉上最新的綠色資訊,請訂閱本會電子報

選購環保海鮮

在香港,大量來自世界各地的海鮮於市面任君選擇,供應仿似源源不絕。然而,在我們享受這便捷的口腹之慾之際,卻讓海洋環境付出沉重代價。香港人每年人均消耗71.6公斤海鮮,人均海鮮消耗量是全亞洲第二。然而,因為過度捕撈,大量海產數量大幅減少。選購環保海鮮,有助舒緩魚類物種數目下降的壓力,並有助恢復海洋資源。立即查看《海鮮選擇指引》 ,並參考「鯊魚保育行動」 ,了解更多我們如何令環保海鮮變得更普及,成為港人飲食主流。

實踐低碳生活

實踐低碳生活,讓你可以為氣候變化問題出一分力。要實踐低碳生活,方法既簡單又廣泛。你可以從日常生活開始, 盡量以公共交通工具代替駕駛私家車、離開房間時關掉電燈或選購高能源效益標籤電器。想知道更多身體力行的方法,可以參考本會資料

拒絕瀕危野生生物產品

香港是全球最大的象牙製品零售市場,無庸置疑,本地象牙貿易仍然興盛,直接加劇非洲大象的盜獵危機。此外,基於文化背景及根深蒂固的觀念──即使它們早已過時,很多人堅信某些動物的身體部分,包括一些來自瀕危物種的部位,如虎骨及犀牛角具有藥效。撇開其真確性不談,這些想法切實持續對世界上各物種造成致命的影響,令牠們成為盜獵的受害者。有物種更因此被推向絕種的邊緣。拒絕購買瀕危野生生物產品,我們便可以協助制止非法野生生物貿易
 
	© Alex Wong/WWF Hong Kong
WWF
© Alex Wong/WWF Hong Kong

選用FSC認證產品

在日常生活中,我們不難發現身邊有大量木製品,包括書本、產品包裝、木製傢具,以至小朋友的玩具。香港對木材的需求龐大,卻缺乏有效的認證系統,市面上的木材甚至有可能來自非法渠道。除了在使用紙張及木製品時,奉行3R廢物管理原則,做到「物盡其用、廢物利用、循環再用」外,你可以盡量在選購有森林驗證標籤的木製品,確保木材來自獲國際森林驗證組織,如林業管理公會 (FSC) 認可的,以可持續原則管理的森林。
 
	© N.C. TURNER  WWF
WWF
© N.C. TURNER WWF

成為WWF義工

何不成為本會義工? 成為WWF義工不僅是一個獲益良多的體驗,更是直接投入本會工作與活動的好方法。我們歡迎義工參與多方面的工作,如行政支援、海岸清潔,甚至親赴米埔自然保護區協助野外工作等。立即按此 ,了解更多你可以如何協助我們作出改變。

了解更多/ 參與更多──捐款、參與活動或成為環保倡導者

世界自然基金會香港分會是非牟利、非政府機構,我們的理念是致力推動香港成為亞洲最可持續發展的城市。為此,我們需要穩健的資金來源支持我們現行及將來的保育及教育項目,讓我們繼續為下一代帶來最廣大、最正面的影響。

捐款予本會 ,你也可以透過參與本會活動支持我們。每年,我們都會舉辦不同的活動,並誠邀廣大市民參加。由戶外活動,如「步走大自然」、「觀鳥大賽」,以至「地球一小時」等全球最大型環保行動等 ,都適合與親友結伴參與,齊齊為環保出一分力。

想再進一步?請與親友分享我們的環保資訊及行動,再進一步更可將各環保訊息帶到你的公司分享!
 
 
	© WWF / HKPPA
WWF
© WWF / HKPPA