A species of bird new to Hong Kong and mainland China found at Mai Po Nature Reserve | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

Our News

A species of bird new to Hong Kong and mainland China found at Mai Po Nature Reserve

On 19 April, for the first time ever in Hong Kong and mainland China, a Buff-breasted Sandpiper – a “near threatened” species on the IUCN Red List – was found at a high-tide waterbird roost at Mai Po Nature Reserve.

On 19 April, for the first time ever in Hong Kong and mainland China, a Buff-breasted Sandpiper – a “near threatened” species on the IUCN Red List – was found at a high-tide waterbird roost at Mai Po Nature Reserve.
 
This migratory bird – which nearly went extinct in the 1920s due to hunting – belongs to the Central American Flyway. It breeds in the Arctic Circle during summer and normally migrates through the central part of Americas to reach its wintering ground on the southeast coast of South America. This is the first time the species has ever been sighted in Hong Kong; the closest place being Taiwan in the 1980s.
 
“Because Hong Kong is completely out of its natural range, this bird is regarded as a vagrant. However, scientists do not consider it unusual for long-distance migratory birds to turn up in unexpected locations. Historically, there have been more than 30 recorded instances of a Buff-breasted Sandpiper vagrant on the East Asian-Australasian Flyway. Possible reasons include unusual weather, such as strong monsoons; and the fact that sometimes a bird joins the flock of a related species during migration. The bird was seen by Mr Lo Chun-fai, a local birdwatcher, on the morning of 19 April but it has not been re-sighted since. This leads us to believe it continued migrating north and is on its way back to the Arctic Circle,” said Ms Katherine Leung, Senior Reserve Officer for WWF-Hong Kong.
 
Spring migration at Mai Po this year has been exceptionally productive, with new Hong Kong high counts being set for several species such as the Bar-tailed Godwit and the Gull-billed Tern. Besides the spectacular arrival of migratory waterbirds, spring also marks the start of the breeding season for resident species in Hong Kong. WWF is delighted to announce the natural establishment of an egretry with at least 40 pairs of Great Egrets and 10 pairs of Black-crowned Night Herons nesting in mangrove trees at the seaward end of a traditionally-managed shrimp pond. This phenomenon has not been observed at the Reserve for over 20 years. It is uncommon for these species to breed in the Deep Bay area and 12 years since the last pair of Night Herons have breed in the Bay.
 
“After many years of trying to get these birds to nest, we are delighted that they have made the decision to return. As the only egretry located inside the Mai Po Inner Deep Bay Ramsar Site it is important to help the birds successfully complete their breeding cycle and raise their young. This will encourage their return next year. This will be achieved by preventing human access in areas close to the egretry and by draining down a handful of shrimp ponds to provide food during the critical stage of rearing their young”, said Mr Bena Smith, WWF-Hong Kong’s Mai Po Centre Manager.
 
By taking part in a guided tour to Mai Po Nature Reserve, the public will be able to meet the spring migratory waterbirds and see the new egretry. For details, please visit: http://www.wwf.org.hk/en/getinvolved/gomaipo .
 
Buff-breasted Sandpiper profile
Scientific name: Tryngites subruficollis
Conservation status: Globally “Near threatened”
Physical features: Buff colour on head and breast; darker colour on back and crown; legs are yellow; black bill is relatively short and straight; feathers around its big black eyes are lighter in colour, making it seem as though it has an eye ring
Average Size: 20cm
Habitat: Shallow water wetlands, particularly favours inland short grassy areas
Diet: Insects and worms
Fun fact: They breed on the tundra; the male bird uses a special dance to attract a group of females
 
Great Egret profile
Scientific name: Ardea alba
Conservation status: Regional concern
Physical features: Large size egret with white body and long neck; facial skin is yellowish green in colour; bill is long and yellow; legs are long and black
Average size: 90cm
Habitat: Shallow coastal wetland, intertidal mudflat, fishpond
Diet: Mainly fish, sometimes shrimps and crabs
Fun fact: During breeding season, ornamental plumes are developed on the back and their facial skin turns apple green while the bill turns black
 
Black-crowned Night Heron profile
Scientific Name: Nycticorax nycticorax
Conservation status: Local concern
Physical features: Medium-sized; feathers on crown and back are dark blue; face and breast are white with grey colour wings; black thick bill; legs are pink.
Average size: 61cm
Habitat: Mangrove and fishpond
Diet: Mainly fish, also shrimps and frogs
Fun fact: Mainly active in evening and at night, their irises are red which enable them to see clearly under low light condition
 
 

Share This!

Help us spread the message

米埔自然保護區錄得中港新雀鳥品種 鷺鳥林20年後再現米埔 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

Our News

米埔自然保護區錄得中港新雀鳥品種 鷺鳥林20年後再現米埔

觀鳥人士在4月19日於米埔自然保護區的潮漲棲息地發現一隻黃胸鷸,是在香港及中國大陸的首個紀錄。黃胸鷸在國際自然保護聯盟紅色名錄(IUCN Redlist)中屬近危物種。

觀鳥人士在4月19日於米埔自然保護區的潮漲棲息地發現一隻黃胸鷸,是在香港及中國大陸的首個紀錄。黃胸鷸在國際自然保護聯盟紅色名錄(IUCN Redlist)中屬近危物種。
 
黃胸鷸在1920年代因遭到大量捕獵而瀕臨絕種;牠們是屬於中美洲飛行航道的遷徙候鳥,夏季於北極圈繁殖,然後沿著美洲中部南遷,到南美洲東南沿岸度冬。此雀鳥品種是首次在香港出現,而在最鄰近香港紀錄到其蹤影的地區則是台灣,時為80年代。
 
世界自然基金會香港分會高級保護區主任梁嘉善表示﹕「由於香港不是黃胸鷸自然分布的範圍,故此鳥被視為『迷鳥』。不過,科學家認為長途遷徙候鳥出現在意想不到地方的情況並非罕見;至今在東亞—澳大拉西亞飛行航道已有超過三十項發現黃胸鷸迷鳥的紀錄。異常的天氣如強烈季候風,甚至雀鳥有時在遷徙期間不小心加入其他與牠們相似鳥種的隊伍,都可能是牠們成為迷鳥的原因。此鳥是首先被本地觀鳥人士勞浚暉先生於4月19日早上發現,但此後已失去蹤影,故我們相信此黃胸鷸已繼續北飛,正在遷移回到北極圈的旅途上。」
 
今年米埔春季遷徙的狀況良好,好幾個雀鳥品種如斑尾塍鷸及鷗嘴噪鷗的數目都錄得新高。春天除了是水鳥遷移到港的高峰期,亦是本地留鳥的繁殖季節。世界自然基金會(WWF)很高興在本會以傳統方式管理的基圍內發現自然而成的鷺鳥林,當中有至少40對大白鷺及10對夜鷺在基圍內靠海一方的紅樹林上築巢。這兩個品種並不常在后海灣內繁殖,對上一次在灣內發現夜鷺繁殖已是12年前,在保護區內發現鷺鳥林更已是超過20年前。
 
世界自然基金會香港分會米埔保護區經理施百納(Bena Smith)表示:「我們多年來一直致力吸引鷺鳥到保護區內築巢繁殖,對於牠們選擇歸來,我們十分鼓舞。由於此乃米埔內后海灣拉姆薩爾濕地範圍內唯一的鷺鳥林,能確保牠們完成繁殖和育雛,以鼓勵牠們來年重臨米埔十分重要。我們會避免讓參觀人士靠近鷺鳥林所在的區域,更會在夏季這個育雛的關鍵時刻輪流放乾數個基圍以便牠們覓食。」
 
公眾如希望到米埔自然保護區觀賞春季候鳥及新發現的鷺鳥林,歡迎參加米埔導賞團。詳情請瀏覽http://www.wwf.org.hk/getinvolved/gomaipo/
 
黃胸鷸檔案
學名﹕Tryngites subruficollis
保護狀況:全球性「近危」
身體特徵:擁有杏色的頭部和胸部;背部及頭頂較深色;擁有黃色的腳;黑色、短而直的喙;黑眼睛周圍的羽毛顏色較淡,看起來像有眼圈一樣
平均體長:20cm
生境:淺水濕地,特別鍾愛內陸短草地區
食物:昆蟲和蠕蟲
有趣資料:在凍原繁殖,雄鳥會以特殊的舞蹈吸引異性群
 
大白鷺檔案
學名﹕Ardea alba
保育狀況:區域性關注
身體特徵:體型大的鷺鳥,全身白色,長頸;面部黃中帶綠;擁有黃色的長喙及黑色的長腳
平均體長:90cm
生境:近岸淺水濕地,潮間帶泥灘,魚塘
食物:主要是魚類,有時也會食用蝦和蟹
有趣資料:在繁殖季節大白鷺的背上會長出「飾羽」,面部變成蘋果綠色,鳥喙變黑
 
夜鷺檔案
學名﹕Nycticorax nycticorax
保育狀況:本地關注
身體特徵:中等身型;頭頂及背上長有深藍色羽毛;面上及胸前白色,擁有灰色翅膀、黑色的厚大鳥喙及粉紅色的腳
平均體長:61cm
生境:紅樹林及魚塘
食物:主要是魚類,有時也會食用蝦和蛙類
有趣資料:主要在傍晚及夜間活動;紅色的虹膜讓牠們能在陰暗的環境下維持良好視力

Share This!

Help us spread the message