27% of species in the IUCN Red List at risk of extinction WWF calls for enforcement of illegal trade on wildlife | WWF Hong Kong

27% of species in the IUCN Red List at risk of extinction WWF calls for enforcement of illegal trade on wildlife

Posted
22 July 2019


In the International Union for Conservation of Nature latest update to their Red List of Threatened Species (the ‘IUCN  Red List’), almost 9,000 new species have been assessed as facing threats of extinction.  According to the IUCN Red List, 28,338 species are threatened with extinction, out of total 105,732 species being assessed. Not a single species was recorded as having improved in conservation status. WWF urges for urgent enforcement to deter illegal trade on wildlife in order to alleviate this dangerous loss of nature that underpins all life on Earth. 
 
According to IUCN, human activities are pushing an increasing number of species to the edge of extinction. Overfishing has led to two entire families of extraordinary rays to teeter on the brink, while illegal logging has put Madagascar’s endangered rosewoods at greater risk.   
 
Wedgefishes and giant guitarfishes, collectively known as ‘Rhino Rays’, are now the most imperilled marine fish families in the world. Closely related to sharks, Rhino rays are found in shallow warmer waters around the world.  Rhino ray meat is sold locally where caught, but the fins are highly valued and internationally traded for shark fin soup, where Hong Kong accounts for about 40% of the shark fin trade globally, we have a major role to play to reduce shark fin consumption. "The extent of the Rhino rays declines is shocking. We need to do more to protect these species in the water," said Dr Andy Cornish, WWF's global coordinator for sharks and rays. "There is very little scope for sustainable fishing rather we need to urgently find and protect their most important habitats. But, above all, the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of wild fauna and flora (CITES) must act quickly to list these species, in order to regulate international trade. The next meeting of the Conference of the Parties to CITES (CITES CoP18) will take place in August, and will consider proposals to regulate trade in these species." 
 
The Hong Kong Government has an important role in wildlife conservation.  Brian Gonzales, WWF-Hong Kong's Head of Protection of Endangered Species, “In 2018 alone, Hong Kong authorities seized over 225 tonnes of endangered rosewood with an estimated black market value of almost HK$16 million. The IUCN Red List remains a leading diagnostic tool in upgrading species onto CITES protection. Criminal syndicates are tenacious, but adopting tools commonly used to fight drug lords and other forms of organized crime, including anti-money-laundering techniques and financial investigation help us chip-away at the very fabric that keeps them strong. The government must continue to strictly implement CITES, ensuring that the relevant regulations are effectively and comprehensively enforced at port and at business level. Hong Kong’s wildlife crime offences should be included under Schedule 1 of the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (OSCO) to further deter transnational criminal enterprises who use Hong Kong as a route for wildlife smuggling.”
 
Official Press Release issued by IUCN: https://www.iucn.org/news/species/201907/unsustainable-fishing-and-hunting-bushmeat-driving-iconic-species-extinction-iucn-red-list

《瀕危物種紅色名錄》27%物種面臨絕種威脅 WWF促加強執法 打擊非法買賣 | WWF Hong Kong

《瀕危物種紅色名錄》27%物種面臨絕種威脅 WWF促加強執法 打擊非法買賣

發表日期
22 July 2019


世界自然保護聯盟(IUCN《瀕危物種紅色名錄》(下稱《名錄》)是對物種狀況最權威的評估。IUCN剛公布最新《名錄》並新加入了9,000種受絕種威脅的物種。總共被評估的105,732物種中,有28,338種被評為受絕種威脅。而且,沒有任何物種的保育狀況錄得改善。世界自然基金會(WWF)促請儘快執法遏止非法野生生物的貿易,減低損害野生生物及人類賴以生存的大自然系統。
 
IUCN指出人類活動導致越來越多生物面臨滅絕危機。過度捕撈將兩個稀有的魚類科目推向瀕臨絕種的邊沿;另外,非法砍伐亦令馬達加斯加正處於瀕危的黃檀木面對更大威脅。
 
鱟頭鱝和銀蓋銼鰩(統稱Rhino rays)是現時全球最受威脅的兩個魚類科目。Rhino rays 棲息在世界各地較暖及淺水的水域,與鯊魚的關係密切。Rhino rays 的魚鰭具高市場價值,遭捕撈後魚鰭會被出售至其他國家以製作成魚翅,魚肉則留下在當地市場販賣。全球約百分之40的魚翅貿易於香港進行,因此我們在減低魚翅消耗方面有重要的角色。世界自然基金會全球鯊魚項目總策劃鄺力存博士表示︰「Rhino rays 數量下降的程度令人震驚,需要有更多的海洋保育工作去保護這些物種。事實上,單以可持續捕撈方式來保育並不足以解決問題,當務之急是找出牠們棲息最重要的生境地並且作出保育。更重要的是把這些物種儘快列入《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES,下稱《公約》),以規管國際間的貿易。《公約》締約國(CITES CoP18)下次會議於8月舉行,將就管制有關物種的貿易提交建議。」
 
香港政府在野生生物保育可扮演重要的角色。世界自然基金會香港分會瀕危生物保護主管Brian Gonzales表示︰「僅在2018年,香港當局已截獲超過225公噸瀕危木材如黃檀木,估計黑市市值約1,600萬港元。IUCN的《名錄》一直是權威的評估工具,為生物應否納入《公約》規管的指標。現今犯罪集團十分強大,當局如採用有關工具用作打擊毒枭或其他有組織罪案,例如追究與野生生物罪行相關的洗黑錢活動或商業罪案,將有助逐步瓦解此等行為。政府亦須繼續嚴格執行《公約》,確保相關法規有效及全面地於出入境口岸及商業層面執行。我們認為政府應將瀕危生物有關罪行列入《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》(OSCO),以進一步遏止跨國犯罪集團利用香港來走私野生生物。」
 
參閱IUCN最新《瀕危生物紅色名錄》官方新聞稿︰https://www.iucn.org/news/species/201907/unsustainable-fishing-and-hunting-bushmeat-driving-iconic-species-extinction-iucn-red-list