WWF-Hong Kong Advises on New Climate Impact Initiative for Investors | WWF Hong Kong

WWF-Hong Kong Advises on New Climate Impact Initiative for Investors

Posted
18 March 2020


WWF-Hong Kong is pleased with the announcement of the launch of Climate Impact Asia Fund (Fund) established by Milltrust International (Milltrust) and managed by Environmental Investment Services Asia Limited (EISAL).  
 
As the environmental consultant to the Fund and a key member of the Investment Advisory Committee, WWF-HK monitors the Fund’s climate objectives, provides environmental expertise and deep knowledge on climate policies and access to a global network of contacts from academia, industry, government and civil society to enhance the Fund’s impact. 
 
Jean-Marc Champagne, Head of Environmental Finance at WWF-HK said: “Our mission is to encourage financial flows into investments that make a positive impact on the environment. We are delighted to collaborate with Milltrust and EISAL on this important initiative, and we look forward to supporting the fund’s efforts to address climate and biodiversity issues.”
 
The Asia-Pacific region is responsible for almost half of global carbon dioxide emissions, and is the region most exposed to climate risks.  The Fund invests in leading Asian-listed companies that make a positive impact against climate change and environmental degradation. Beyond climate action and the objective to maximize investor returns, the fund seeks to optimize its contributions to the wider United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. The Fund will make revenue-based donations to support WWF’s conservation programs in Hong Kong and across Asia.
 
This initiative will increase the resources available for investments in environmentally positive projects, connect investment flows with measurable environment impact, and expand the perceived range of mainstream green investments beyond renewable energy.

Alexander Kalis, Managing Partner at Milltrust International LLP and Investment Advisor to the Fund, said: “Time is running out for urgent climate action. It is imperative to mobilise the investment world to take action to solve our climate emergency. We are thrilled to have been selected by WWF-Hong Kong and to benefit from their active collaboration on The Climate Impact Asia Fund, along with the environmental investment specialists at EISAL. The fund will give professional investors around the world the opportunity to invest and make a difference.”

Jeremy Higgs, Managing Director at EISAL and Investment Manager to the Fund, said: “Through our long experience managing environmental investments in Asia, there has never been a better time to find market-leading and innovative companies that can not only deliver strong performance but also make a real impact against climate change and other environmental issues. Through our De-Carbon Asia Impact Investing Index, we have proven that a portfolio of low-carbon environmental goods and services companies can deliver superior performance. We are excited about the strong partnership established with Milltrust and look forward to collaborating with the Environmental Finance Team at WWF-Hong Kong for this initiative.”

「氣候影響亞洲基金」推出WWF擔任環境顧問 | WWF Hong Kong

「氣候影響亞洲基金」推出WWF擔任環境顧問

發表日期
18 March 2020


世界自然基金會(WWF)對Milltrust International Group(Milltrust)宣佈推出「氣候影響亞洲基金」(基金)表示高興, 基金由環境投資服務亞洲公司(EISAL)負責管理。
 
WWF為基金的環境顧問, 亦是其投資顧問委員會其中一位成員, 提供與環境保育相關的專業意見, 審視基金制訂的應對氣候變化目標, 聯繫全球科研學界, 業界, 政府及社會組織, 協力增加基金對環境的效益。
 
世界自然基金會香港分會環境融資主管Jean-Marc Champagne表示︰「我們一直參與環境融資和資本市場的工作,目標是鼓勵資金流向能夠為環境帶來正面的影響。我們很高興能夠與Milltrust 和EISAL合作, 我們期待在氣候變化及生物多樣性的議題上支持基金的工作。」
 
亞太地區的二氧化碳排放量佔全球的總排放量近一半,亦是全球受氣候風險影響最嚴峻的地區,基金將投資於為應對氣候危機及環境衰退帶來正面影響的亞洲主要上市公司。基金成立之目的, 除了回應氣候行動和為股東帶來最大回報外,基金亦致力於為聯合國可持續發展目標(SDGs)帶來最大的貢獻。基金亦會以其收入計算向WWF作捐贈,以支持WWF在本地及亞洲區的保育項目。
基金為可用於保育項目的投資增加資源,促進投資流向對環境有可衡量並正面影響的項目,並在可再生能源以外擴大主流綠色項目的投資範圍。
 
Milltrust管理合夥人及「氣候影響亞洲基金」投資顧問Alexander Kalis 表示︰「氣候危機迫切需立即行動,時間已所餘無幾。動員投資界以行動應對氣候變化乃當務之急。我們十分高興與來自EISAL的環境投資專家合作。基金為來自世界各地的專業投資者提供機會,並一同為環境帶來正面的改變。」

EISAL總經理及「氣候影響亞洲基金」投資經理Jeremy Higgs表示︰「我們管理亞洲環境投資多年並擁有豐富的經驗,再沒有比現在更好的時機可找到在市場領先及創新的公司。這些公司不僅具有出色的業績表現,更為氣候變化及其他環境議題帶來真正的改變。透過我們的《減碳亞洲影響投資指標》,證明了由一些提供低碳環境產品及業務的公司而組成的投資產品的確有卓越的投資表現。我們十分高興能與Milltrust及WWF的環境融資部門在是次計劃上緊密合作。」