Community Action | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

Community Empowerment

© Milos Bicanski WWF-UK

WWF launched the ECF Sea Without Litter project in 2016 to promote the idea of marine litter source reduction through engagement with the marine recreational industry, fisheries industry and schools. To continue this spirit of empowering society to more proactively solve the marine litter problem, a community-based approach -- by training community leaders and implementing demonstration projects -- was launched in November 2018.
 
The Blue Ocean Incubator programme seeks to implement innovative and sustainable projects in our community, with WWF offering support in the form of training, mentorship and HK$50,000 funding. Six teams were selected to implement their pilot projects starting in September 2019.
 

Blue Ocean Incubator

© WWF-Hong Kong

Litter-Free Alliance

© WWF-Hong Kong

The sources of Hong Kong’s marine litter can differ widely across the territory, depending on the area’s geographical location, orientation and human uses. Understanding the sources of marine litter in the different districts is important in developing more targeted strategies and tactics. To achieve this goal, WWF has been partnering since 2017 with various local community groups including fishermen, community centres, owners’ corporation and district councillors in 10 districts. Through coastline surveys and clean ups, as well as conducting community workshops and forums, we aim to formulate solutions to tackle our marine litter problem.
 
Our partner community, Tai O, has traditional stilt houses that often trap marine litter underneath. Working with the local community, WWF installed a refuse boom in 2018 to prevent marine litter from flushing into the village. The project has helped to engage the local community to take a more active role in environmental protection.

社區培力 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?


社區充權​

© Milos Bicanski WWF-UK

WWF在2016年開展「環保基金—攜手護海洋」計劃,向海上康樂團體、漁業界別及學校師生推廣從源頭減少海洋垃圾。為了進一步深化社區自主精神,WWF在2018年11月推出了全新社區計劃,以培育更多社區領袖去發掘及開展具潛力的民間方案,為解決海洋垃圾問題尋找出路。
 
「藍海守護者種子計劃」旨在發掘有創意、具潛力、可持續的社區方案,讓每個人都能成為藍海守護者。WWF為參加者提供一系列培訓及指導,並提供5萬港元的資助。最終脫穎而出的6支隊伍,從2019年9月起將各自方案付諸實踐。

 

藍海守護者種子計劃

© WWF-Hong Kong

社區護海洋

© WWF-Hong Kong

受地理位置、水流方向及人為活動等因素影響,香港各處海洋垃圾的源頭各有不同,而這些差異對制定針對性的「減塑」策略非常重要。為實現這一目標,WWF自2017年起分別聯同10個地區的漁民、社區組織、業主立案法團和區議員等持份者,進行海岸生態和垃圾調查,並舉辦多場社區研討會和論壇。透過接觸不同持份者,我們希望構建出減少海洋垃圾的完善方案。​

與我們合作的大澳社區,遍佈傳統棚屋,而棚屋之下經常積聚海洋垃圾。本會與當地持份者合作,於2018年安裝了海上浮欄,項目不單有效防止垃圾沖入村莊,過程中亦增強了當地社區在保護環境方面的積極及自主性。​