Chinese White Dolphin - Our work | WWF Hong Kong

Chinese White Dolphin - Our work



In order to conserve the Chinese white dolphin population in Hong Kong and the Pearl River Estuary, WWF-Hong Kong is taking conservation actions in a number of areas:
 
	© Samson So
Chinese White Dolphin
© Samson So
Policy Advocacy
  1. WWF-Hong Kong intends to initiate cross-boundary collaboration with mainland authorities on conservation of the Chinese white dolphin. As well, we are advocating for the formulation of a cross-border Chinese white dolphin Conservation Action Plan that encompasses management measures for the entire Pearl River Estuary, including the collaboration among adjacent authorities.
  2. We will urge the Hong Kong Government to implement the designation of Southwest Lantau and Soko Islands Marine Park, an outstanding 2002 proposal to protect the important dolphin habitats. We will also monitor the progress of the designation of The Brothers Islands Marine Park, which is a proposed compensation due to the construction of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge.
  3. We are advocating for a review the current mechanism in the environmental impact assessment process in Hong Kong. We wish to ensure the assessment of cumulative impacts are fully evaluated and addressed by each project proponent for the future infrastructure projects that may encroach on dolphin habitats.
  4. We are also advocating for a comprehensive Strategic Environmental Assessment for the Hong Kong western waters. This should be conducted by the Government to ensure developments are avoiding ecologically sensitive areas, such as the habitats for the Chinese white dolphins and other species of conservation importance, such as horseshoe crabs and seagrass bed.
  5. We are supporting the introduction of sustainable fisheries management through the Save Our Seas (SOS) campaign. The goal is to reduce the threats of decreasing food supply for marine mammals.
Reducing Impacts from Developments
  1. We are providing comments and suggestions so that potential environmental impacts can be avoided, reduced and mitigated using best practices, in order to ensure any possible impact on the dolphin habitats is kept to the minimum.
  2. We are striving to ensure cumulative impacts from developments in environmentally sensitive areas are adequately addressed.
  3. We will campaign for greater dolphin protection in response to major infrastructure developments.
 
	© Third Institute of Oceanography
Chinese White Dolphin
© Third Institute of Oceanography
Research and seminar
In 2008, WWF Hong Kong partnered with the Whale and Dolphin Conservation Society (WDCS), organized “2008 Marine Mammal Experts Workshop - A Decade of Management Plans, Conservation Initiatives and Protective Legislation for Chinese White Dolphin”. We brought together a range of national and international Chinese white dolphin experts to review the information collected on the population, gauge the stage of knowledge of the dolphin’s biology and threats, and map out future directions for research.

The panel made 25 recommendations from this workshop. They are now acting as WWF’s roadmap to ultimately contribute to the formulation and implementation of a science-based cross-boundary Chinese white dolphin management plan. A number of research based on several of the recommendations have been completed or are ongoing, including the research started in 2010 in the south of China.

Since early 2010, WWF has been working with two mainland scientific institutes, South China Sea Fisheries Research Institute (SCSFRI) and Third Institute of Oceanography, to conduct a one-year Chinese white dolphin study in the south of China. The study aims to investigate the distribution, abundance and habitat use of the Chinese white dolphin in the western extent of Pearl River Estuary (PRE) areas through vessel surveys. As well, the institutes are interviewing fisherman in order to collect information related to the occurrence of Chinese white dolphins along the coast from PRE to Xiamen.

Information obtained from the survey will help fill in the data gaps in knowledge for the extent of dolphin population in western part of the PRE. This is essential for developing future conservation management. Click here to know the research details.
 rel=
WWF-Hong Kong's No Go At Soko campaign
© WWF-Hong Kong

Success Story

No Go at Soko Campaign  – In 2006, China Light and Power (CLP) announced plans to build a Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) Receiving Terminal at South Soko Island, which is one of the most frequently used habitats of the Chinese white dolphin in Hong Kong. WWF engaged in extensive dialogue with the Hong Kong government and launched a campaign to help make the public aware of this threat. Over 20,000 signatures supporting WWF’s petition were submitted during the environmental impact assessment public consultation period. In September 2008, CLP announced its decision to stop the LNG Terminal project at the Soko Islands.

中華白海豚 - 本會工作 | WWF Hong Kong


 
© Samson So

本會工作


世界自然基金會香港分會已採取下列措施,保護香港及珠江河口的中華白海豚

建議採取的政策
  1. 本會建議政府與中國內地作跨境合作,保育中華白海豚,並制定跨境的保育計劃,與鄰近負責的當局,合作管理珠江河口整個地區。
  2. 本會要求政府,盡快落實在大嶼山西南部及大小鴉洲,增設海岸公園。政府早於2002年已建議增設海岸公園,以保護海豚重要生境。我們亦監察大小磨刀洲增闢成海岸公園的進度;增闢大小磨刀洲海岸公園的建議,是政府就興建港珠澳大橋造成的生態影響的補償方案
  3. 促請政府檢討現行的環境影響評估制度,確保累積影響會計算在評估內,並要求基建工程項目倡議者,處理對擾亂海豚生境地帶來的影響。
  4. 政府應為香港西部海域制定綜合性環境策略評估,確保發展項目要避開環境敏感地區,如中華白海豚的生境,及需保護物種如馬蹄蟹、海草床等的生境。
  5. 透過「拯救海洋大行動」(Save Our Seas),推動可持續發展的漁業管理,讓海洋裡的哺乳動物有更多食物供應。
 
© Lindsay Porter / WWF-Hong Kong
中華白海豚
© Lindsay Porter / WWF-Hong Kong
減低發展項目對海洋生態的影響
  1. 提供意見及建議,指出項目對環境的潛在影響,並提供避免、減少、紓緩影響的最佳方法,令海豚生境受影響的程度減至最低。
  2. 爭取並確保發展項目對環境敏感地區的累積影響,減至最低。
  3. 如有大型基建進行,策劃行動以爭取加強海豚的保育力度。
科學研究及研討會
2008年,本會與鯨豚保護協會合作,舉行了「鯨豚專家研討會-十年的中華白海豚管理計劃,保育措施及保護立法」,邀請了國際知名的中華白海豚專家進行研討會,審閱所蒐集的關於該種群的各種信息,對海豚的生物學知識發展階段和面臨的威脅予以估計,並詳細制定了未來研究方向。

研討會上,該專家小組提出了25項建議,是本會中華白海豚保育工作的重要參考意見,本會將以此制定一套以科學為基礎的跨境中華白海豚管理計劃,並貫徹實施。專家小組其中的建議部分已完成工作或正進行中,本會於2010年在南中國海進行的中華白海豚研究。

自2010年初,本會與內地的南海水產研究所及國家海洋局第三海洋研究所,在南中國海進行為期1年的中華白海豚研究。研究在船上進行,旨在了解中華白海豚在珠江河口西部的分佈、數量及生境習慣,並訪問漁民,收集中華白海豚由珠江河口至廈門的相關資料。研究結果將有助制定保育管理政策。

 關於歐珀萊贊助之「中華白海豚保護項目」
 
© Third Institute of Oceanography
汕頭水域的中華白海豚
© Third Institute of Oceanography

成功個案

反對在大鴉洲興建液化天然氣站計劃 (No go at Soko) — 2006年,中華電力宣佈計劃在大鴉洲南部興建液化天然氣接收站,而該處正是中華白海豚其中一個最常出沒的生境。

世界自然基金會與香港政府多番周旋,更推出反對在大鴉洲興建液化天然氣站計劃的大規模公眾行動,增加公眾對事件的關注。在環評報告的公眾諮詢期內,本會收集到逾20,000個簽名支持請願行動。結果在2008年9月,中電宣布放棄在大小鴉洲興建天然氣接收站的計劃。
 
© WWF-Hong Kong
反對在大鴉洲興建液化天然氣站計劃
© WWF-Hong Kong