About the Chinese White Dolphin Conservation Project funded by AUPRES | WWF Hong Kong

About the Chinese White Dolphin Conservation Project funded by AUPRES



Introduction

 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
The kick-off ceremony of Aupres Chinese white dolphin conservation video shooting activity, 14 September 2010
© WWF-Hong Kong
The Chinese white dolphin (Sousa chinensis – internationally known as the Indo-Pacific humpback dolphin) – occurs in shallow, nearshore habitat, usually close to river mouths. In Asia, limited information on population distribution exists, with the species confirmed from a few isolated areas in China, Vietnam, Singapore, Thailand, and the islands of Borneo and Java.

In China, historical sightings tell us that the species used to extend from the East China Sea, near Shanghai, to the Gulf of Tonkin in southernmost China. China coastal area has been greatly modified in the last few decades, and its marine resources have been depleted and degraded. Today, distribution has shrunk along the coast of mainland China and only five populations are known to remain in east and northern South China Sea;
  • the Jiulong River, Xiamen (Fujian Province),
  • the Pearl River Estuary, Hong Kong and Zhuhai (Guangdong Province), 
  • Sanniang Bay, Beihei (Guangxi Province), 
  • Zhanjiang Bay, Leizhou (Guangdong Province) and,
  • Jhuoshuei and Daan Rivers, between Miaoli and Tainan Counties (Taiwan) [this subpopulation was listed as critically endangered by the World Conservation Union (IUCN) in August 2008] 
It is possible that other lesser-known remnant populations may still exist between these known populations, thus WWF proposed a three year conservation project that aims to define the true current extent of this species along the mainland coastline and to assess its status.

This project, generously funded by Shiseido – AUPRES, will promote academic exchange between marine mammal researchers from throughout China, will assist regional conservation efforts for Chinese white dolphins and will also increase public awareness on the plight of this extra-ordinary pink dolphin.

Researches on Chinese White Dolphin

 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Aupres dolphin watching trip at Tai O, 15 September 2010
© WWF-Hong Kong
Since early 2010, WWF has been contracting two mainland scientific institutes, namely South China Sea Fisheries Research Institute (SCSFRI) and Third Institute of Oceanography (TIO) for the conduction of a one-year Chinese white dolphin (CWD) study in the south of China. Data on distribution, abundance and habitat use of CWD in the western extent of Pearl River Estuary areas (WPRE) through vessel surveys, as well as those information related to CWD occurrence along the coast from Xiamen to PRE through fishermen interviews have been collected. Using both line transect and photo-identification techniques, WWF hope to understand more of this species latest population size, distribution and status.

關於歐珀萊贊助之「中華白海豚保護項目」 | WWF Hong Kong


 
© Samson So

保護項目

 關於歐珀萊贊助之「中華白海豚保護項目」

簡介

中華白海豚在國際間又名印度太平洋駝背豚(Sousa chinensis),一般在近河口的淺水近岸生境出沒。在亞洲,只有少量有關種群分佈的資料,但已肯定物種零散分佈在中國、越南、新加坡、泰國,以及婆羅洲和爪哇的島嶼。

在中國,更曾被目睹在遠至東海近上海一帶,以及中國最南端的東京灣出沒。但在過去數十年間,中國沿岸地區經歷了很大的改變,海洋資源遭破壞,環境出現惡化。時至今日,在中國沿岸的海豚分佈已大大萎縮,東海和南中國海北部只剩下五個已知的種群:
  • 廈門九龍江(福建省)、
  • 珠江河口、香港和珠海(廣東省)、
  • 北海三娘灣(廣西省)、
  • 雷州湛江灣(廣東省)及
  • 苗栗縣和台南縣之間的濁水溪及大安溪(台灣)[這子種群已於2008年8月被世界自然保育聯盟列為極度瀕危類別]
本會相信除了這些已知的種群外,還可能存在一些較鮮為人知的少數種群,故建議推行為期三年的保育項目,以確定中華白海豚在目前中國沿岸出沒的範圍,並評估牠們的現況。

本會承蒙資生堂旗下品牌「歐珀萊」慷慨贊助此項目,一同推動中國各地海洋哺乳類研究人員的學術交流,支持中華白海豚的地區性保育工作,同時提高大眾對這獨特的粉紅海豚所面臨的困境的認識。
 
© WWF-Hong Kong
由歐珀萊贊助之「中華白海豚保護視頻拍攝活動」在2010年9月14日進行開幕儀式
© WWF-Hong Kong

中華白海豚的研究工作

本會於2010年初邀請了南海水產研究所和第三海洋研究所進行進行船隻調查,收集關於珠江河口地區西部水域中華白海豚種群分佈、數量和棲息地利用的數據,並通過漁民訪談,收集中華白海豚在廈門至珠江河口之間沿岸的出現狀況資料。最後會分析利用所得的樣條線和照片辨認技術數據,進一步了解物種於珠江河口至廈門一帶水域最新的數量、分佈和保育情況。
 
© WWF-Hong Kong
2010年9月15日,在大澳舉行的「歐珀萊」觀賞海豚之旅
© WWF-Hong Kong