Chairman-CEO Message | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

© WWF-Hong Kong

Chairman-CEO Message

 
WWF-Hong Kong’s conservation strategy articulates the issues, places and species that will form the heart of our work in the years ahead. Our work is a mix of science-based solutions, investment, advocacy and timely action. We are governed by science, transparency, pragmatism and strong ethics. Our conceptual models of complex conservation issues and theories of changes are supported by engagement with the public, government and business.
 
Over the past 40 years, our work has served to encourage and secure the decisions, behaviours and actions that are required to achieve long-lasting conservation impact and our vision of transforming Hong Kong into Asia’s most sustainable city.
 
Since WWF-Hong Kong’s establishment in 1981, we have achieved numerous significant conservation outcomes in partnership with the public, business and government. The ban on trawling in coastal water in 2012; the upcoming 2021 ban on ivory sales; and the effective management of Mai Po Nature Reserve as a keystone site of the East Asian-Australasian Flyway for birds are three notable examples.
 
“Change the Way We Live” has become our mantra for educating and raising awareness of conservation issues throughout Hong Kong. Our work supports the government’s and other stakeholder’s efforts to achieve meaningful conservation outcomes identified in Hong Kong’s Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (BSAP).

主席及行政總裁的話 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

© WWF-Hong Kong

主席及行政總裁的話

 
世界自然基金會香港分會的保育策略闡明了有待解決的問題、急需保護的地點和物種,這些將是我們未來工作的核心。同時,我們在工作中還會將基於科學的解決方案、投資、倡議及行動融為一體。本會崇尚科學、透明、實用主義和道德,從各類保育議題的概念模型,到改變理論,均得到了公眾、政府、商界的支持和參與。
 
過去40年來,我們一直鼓勵透過決策和行動達至長遠的保育目標,推動香港成為亞洲最可持續的城市。
 
本會自1981年成立以來,一直與公眾、商界及政府合作,並取得多項重要保育成果,如2012年的禁止沿岸水域拖網捕魚;2021年即將實施的象牙銷售禁令;以及米埔自然保護區的有效管理,成為候鳥東亞-澳大拉西亞遷飛路線上不可或缺的一環等。
 
如今,「改變生活,變好世界」已成為我們在全港推行教育及保育工作的口號。本會將繼續為政府和其他持份者提供支援,以實現香港《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》(BSAP)中的保育目標。