Nature with No Barriers | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

Nature with No Barriers

© Lew Young

An infrastructure upgrade and improvement programme is currently underway at Mai Po Nature Reserve, creating universal access and providing opportunities to empower people from different backgrounds and all sectors of society with important knowledge about wetland and environmental protection as well as sustainable development.

The most extensive of these works is funded by a HK$347.86 million grant from the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust. The project has been in the planning stages since 2016. Construction kicked off on 10 September 2018, with the start of internal renovations at the Mai Po Education Centre.

The project will create an enhanced exhibition area with interactive learning for young people, wet/dry laboratories that offer students and researchers the opportunity to interact with flora and fauna, conduct research and collect citizen science data, augmented reality, and tactile and auditory experiences. The first phase will be ready in late-2020.

Part of the upgrade includes the construction of a new Peter Scott Field Studies Centre and the building of two tower hides, one in the northwest and another, south of the reserve. Supporting the visitor experience, a one-kilometre natural boardwalk linking the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department post and the Education Centre will replace the existing path and provide universal access facilities.

Our Nature with No Barriers project, sponsored by HSBC in 2015, has enabled us to expand universal accessibility at Mai Po Nature Reserve. The facilities upgrade focused on bird hides and visitor paths.

Nature with No Barriers has helped to make the reserve more accessible to people with physical disabilities and to underprivileged communities. Over the years, hundreds of tours were organised with specially trained educators using enhanced site infrastructure, including universal access at two bird hides and along the main visitor path.

New facilities include 3D bird models, education panels and a mobile app. The six 3D bird models (black-faced spoonbill, black kite, common kingfisher, Eurasian wigeon, Eurasian curlew, spotted dove) include braille information panels and sound clips of the bird calls.

A portable digital telescope system was developed to enable visitors, especially those in wheelchairs, to observe birds close-up using tablets. Under the programme, we also installed a wireless live camera at a floating bird hide on the mudflat to provide views of birds and mudskippers.

樂聚自然無障礙 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?


樂聚自然無障礙

© Lew Young

米埔自然保護區現正進行設施升級及改善工程,全面增設了無障礙設施,讓社會上不同背景、不同界別的人士都能夠親近大自然,加深對濕地、環境保育及可持續發展的認識。

承蒙香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐助3億4,700萬港元,本會得以展開大規模的翻新工程。此計劃由2016年開始籌劃,2018年9月10日正式動工,首階段是為米埔教育中心進行內部翻新。

我們會在教育中心內興建一個展覽廳,為公眾帶來一個嶄新的多元化學習平台。學生及研究人員則可利用乾 / 濕實驗室接觸更多動植物,為研究及公民科學項目搜集數據。此外,中心將新設多項互動學習設施,包括提升無障礙體驗的設備。首階段工程預計在2020年底完成。

計劃的另一重點,是重建斯科特野外研習中心,並翻新教育中心及兩座觀鳥屋(分別位於保護區西北及南方)。為提升訪客體驗,計劃亦會擴闊主要行人小徑,並把連接現時漁農自然護理署站崗及米埔教育中心的一公里小徑翻新為木棧道,方便傷健人士來訪參觀。

承蒙香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司(滙豐)自2015年慷慨贊助的「樂聚自然無障礙」計劃,本會得以在米埔自然保護區加建一系列無障礙通道設施。區內提升的設施集中於觀鳥屋及行人小徑,讓所有參觀人士可更舒適安全地體驗米埔。

「樂聚自然無障礙」計劃讓傷健人士及其他弱勢社群更輕鬆地參觀保護區。多年來,數百團訪客在受過特別培訓的生態導賞員帶領下使用改善後的主設施,包括兩間觀鳥屋的無障礙通道及區內主行人徑。

米埔的新設施還包括3D雀鳥模型、教育展板以及手機程式。六隻3D雀鳥模型包括:黑臉琵鷺、黑鳶(麻鷹)、普通翠鳥、赤頸鴨、白腰杓鷸及珠頸斑鳩,模型還附設凸字資訊展板以及雀鳥的聲音片段。

我們亦研發了便携數碼望遠鏡系統,令行動不便人士可以在平板電腦上觀賞雀鳥特寫。我們還在泥灘上的觀鳥屋設置了無線攝錄機,讓參觀者可以即時觀賞雀鳥及彈塗魚。