Mai Po Nature Reserve | WWF Hong Kong


 
© Neil Fifer

Mai Po Nature Reserve

As a haven for tens of thousands of migratory waterbirds each year, Mai Po Nature Reserve and the surrounding Inner Deep Bay wetlands sets a prime example of conservation success for regional wetlands, and offers visitors a close look at wildlife and a chance to appreciate nature’s beauty.

Located on the northwestern corner of Hong Kong, the Mai Po and Inner Deep Bay wetlands have been recognised as a Wetland of International Importance under the prestigious Ramsar Convention since 1995. The 1,500-hectare area serves as a key way station and wintering site along the East Asian-Australasian Flyway (EAAF) along which 50 million migratory waterbirds travel each year.

The six main habitats in Mai Po Nature Reserve and the surrounding area – gei wai, freshwater pondsinter-tidal mudflats, mangroves, reedbeds and fishponds – are home to a host of wildlife.

An infrastructure upgrade and improvement programme is currently underway at Mai Po Nature Reserve, creating universal access and providing opportunities to empower people from different backgrounds and all sectors of society with important knowledge about wetland and environmental protection as well as sustainable development.

The most extensive of these works is funded by a HK$347.86 million grant from the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust. The project has been in the planning stages since 2016. Construction kicked off on 10 September 2018, with the start of internal renovations at the Mai Po Education Centre.

The project will create an enhanced exhibition area with interactive learning for young people, wet/dry laboratories that offer students and researchers the opportunity to interact with flora and fauna, conduct research and collect citizen science data, augmented reality, and tactile and auditory experiences. The first phase will be ready in mid-2019.

Part of the upgrade includes the construction of a new Peter Scott Field Studies Centre and the building of two tower hides, one in the northwest and another, south of the reserve. Supporting the visitor experience, a one-kilometre natural boardwalk linking the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department post and the Education Centre will replace the existing path and provide universal access facilities.

Read more
 
© Anthony Sun
Aerial shooting of Mai Po Nature Reserve
© Anthony Sun

米埔自然保護區 | WWF Hong Kong


 
© Neil Fifer

米埔自然保護區

米埔自然保護區及周邊的后海灣濕地被譽為候鳥天堂,它不但是區內濕地保育工作的典範,也是讓參觀者接觸野生生物及欣賞大自然之美的好地方。

米埔及內后海灣濕地位於香港西北面,佔地約1,500公頃,並於1995年獲《拉姆薩爾公約》 劃為「國際重要濕地」。米埔位處每年有五千萬隻遷徙水鳥使用的東亞 — 澳大拉西亞飛行航道上,是水鳥遷徙的重要中途站及越冬地。

保護區內及周邊共有6種濕地生境,包括基圍 、淡水池塘 、潮間帶泥灘 、紅樹林 、蘆葦叢 及魚塘,為不同種類的野生生物提供棲息之所。

米埔自然保育區現正進行基礎設施升級和改善工程,期望令社會上更多不同背景的人士,均有機會認識濕地、環境保育及可持續發展。承蒙香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐助3億4,700萬港元,本會得以展開大規模的翻新工程。此計劃由2016年開始籌劃,2018年9月10日正式動工,首階段是為米埔教育中心進行內部翻新。

我們會在教育中心內興建一個展覽廳,為公眾帶來一個嶄新的多元化學習平台。學生及研究人員則可利用乾 / 濕實驗室接觸更多動植物,為研究及公民科學項目搜集數據。此外,中心將新設多項互動學習設施,包括提升無障礙體驗的設備。首階段工程預計在2019年中完成。

計劃的另一重點,是重建斯科特野外研習中心,並翻新教育中心及兩座觀鳥屋(分別位於保護區西北及南方)。為提升訪客體驗,計劃亦會擴闊主要行人小徑,並把連接現時漁農自然護理署站崗及米埔教育中心的一公里小徑翻新為木棧道,方便傷健人士來訪參觀。