Mai Po & Wetlands | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

Mai Po & Wetlands

© WWF-Hong Kong

The wetlands scattered along the coasts of East and Southeast Asia represent stop-over and wintering habitats for tens of millions of waterbirds—represented by hundreds of species—to rest, feed and replenish energy reserves while undertaking the arduous journey of over 13,000 km, from breeding grounds as far north as the Arctic Circle to overwintering grounds as far south as Australia. Of the world's nine migratory flyways, the East-Asian Australasian Flyway (EAAF) is the migratory route with the greatest number and diversity of birds, including the greatest number of threatened species.
 

WHY DOES IT MATTER

Apart from serving as vital habitats for tens of millions of waterbirds, wetlands provide a range of ecosystem services that are vital for human and other species' survival. Wetlands also serve as a natural defence to protect communities from climate change-induced disasters .

Our climate change impact model suggests that the remaining coastal wetlands in Mai Po will be important to provide future habitats for birds and support the EAAF migrations, and act as coastal buffers against climate change-driven sea level rise and storm surges.


 

Did you know?

Mai Po and the Inner Deep Bay provide food and habitat for over 60,000 birds from more than 400 species each year

© WWF-Hong Kong

WHAT IS WWF DOING?

We are managing Mai Po Nature Reserve to be a staging and wintering ground for migratory waterbirds along the EAAF and for threatened indigenous biodiversity, and are striving to ensure that it is resilient to climate change.

The reserve also showcases the practice of gei wai as an example of traditional wise-use of wetlands, and is a regional centre for knowledge and awareness on wetland conservation.

WWF-Hong Kong will continue to develop and implement innovative strategies and approaches that contribute to a climate adaptation plan for the Mai Po Inner Deep Bay Ramsar site to secure its conservation into the future.


 

WHAT YOU CAN DO

Help our wetland conservation work by taking part in our flagship events at Mai Po, whether it's Walk for Nature, Big Bird Race or one of our Mai Po eco-visits!

米埔及濕地 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?

米埔及濕地

© WWF-Hong Kong

東亞沿岸的濕地是數千萬水鳥的中轉站和渡冬之地。遷徙過程中,數百種的水鳥往返北至北極圈的繁殖地、南至澳洲的越冬地,總里程超過13,000公里,而沿途的濕地就是牠們休息、進食、補充能量之所。在世界上九條遷飛路線中,東亞—澳大拉西亞遷飛路線(EAAF)是鳥類數量及種類最多的路線,當中的受威脅品種亦是最多。

 

為何如此重要

濕地不僅是數以千萬計水鳥不可或缺的越冬和繁殖棲息地,亦為人類及其他物種提供賴以生存的生態服務。濕地的自然防禦作用同時能保護社區免受氣候變化引發的災害影響。

我們的氣候變化影響模型推算在未來,米埔現存的沿岸濕地在提供鳥類棲息地及支持EAAF候鳥遷徙上,將發揮至關重要的作用;作為沿岸緩衝區,它們亦有助應對氣候變化所引致的海平面上升和風暴潮。
 

你知道嗎?

米埔及內后海灣每年為70多個品種、超過60,000隻水鳥提供食物和棲息地。

© WWF-Hong Kong

最新進展

我們一直致力於米埔自然保護區的管理工作,使其能夠持續為EAAF上的遷徙水鳥提供棲息地、保護受威脅的本地生物多樣性,並確保米埔有適應氣候變化的能力。

保護區還展示了善用濕地的傳統作法——基圍養殖,以及成為區內讓人們了解濕地保育知識及其重要性的中心。

本會將不斷通過創新的策略及方法,為米埔內后海灣拉姆薩爾濕地制定氣候適應計劃,確保它在未來仍受保護。



 

你能做些什麼

參加米埔舉行的各類活動,無論是「步走大自然」、「香港觀鳥大賽」,還是「米埔自然遊」,都有助我們的濕地保育工作!