What would you like to search for?

Waterbird & Flyway Conservation

© WWF-Hong Kong

Mai Po and Inner Deep Bay lie at the heart of the East Asian-Australasian Flyway (EAAF), which extends 13,000 km from the Arctic Circle through East and Southeast Asia to Australia and New Zealand. The EAAF is home to more than 50 million migratory waterbirds from over 250 different populations. Each year these birds fly between their breeding and wintering grounds, and rely on a network of wetland way stations to rest and feed before embarking on the next leg of their journey.

The population of waterbirds in the EAAF is in rapid decline due to loss of wetland habitats to development, pollution and hunting. To restore and maintain the ecological integrity of the EAAF, WWF has set up several projects and are collaborating with other organisations as a member of the EAAF Partnership.
 

As one of the nine global flyways, the East Asian-Australasian Flyway is crucial to the 50 million migratory waterbirds that travel through each year.

© Leung Wai Ki / WWF-Hong Kong

More than 80 per cent of East and Southeast Asia’s wetlands are classified as threatened from being converted, fragmented and degraded by anthropogenic drivers of environmental change.

They have resulted in population declines in 88 per cent of waterbird species in the EAAF, with some rates of decline being among the highest reported for any suite of species in any ecosystem. The challenge therefore is to identify and conserve a network of wetlands along the EAAF that will serve as stepping-stone corridors to sustain and maintain the ecological functionality of the flyway, and of Mai Po.

WWF-Hong Kong will provide technical capacity to identify flyways networks, facilitate its process, and train wetland managers to manage the wetlands.

Our active involvement in the Asian Flyways Initiative will enable Hong Kong to influence and contribute significantly to flyway conservation, and by extension, to Mai Po.
 

Wetland Management Training Programme

Read more
© WWF-Hong Kong

水鳥與遷飛路線保育 | WWF Hong Kong

What would you like to search for?


水鳥與遷飛路線保育

© WWF-Hong Kong

東亞─澳大利西亞遷飛路線覆蓋範圍廣闊,由北極圈經東南亞,一直伸延至澳洲及紐西蘭延綿13,000公里,為逾5千萬隻來自超過250個不同族群的遷徙水鳥提供棲息地。每年,水鳥往返繁殖地及越冬地,並在中途站歇息和補給,再繼續其長途遷徙旅程。米埔及內后海灣正位處東亞─澳大利西亞遷飛路線的中心。

可是,東亞—澳大利西亞遷飛路線的環境狀況正急劇轉差,濕地生境受發展、污染及捕獵活動等影響逐漸消失。身為東亞—澳大利西亞遷飛路線夥伴計劃成員之一,世界自然基金會進行多項有關東亞─澳大利西亞遷飛路線的項目及活動,務求維持航道的完整。

東亞─澳大利西亞遷飛路線作為全球9條飛行航道其中之一,其完整性對每年5千萬隻途經此路的遷徙水鳥相當重要。

© Leung Wai Ki / WWF-Hong Kong

人為導致的環境轉變,正令超過80%的東亞和東南亞濕地面臨改造、破碎化及退化的威脅,同時使東亞—澳大利西亞遷飛路線(EAAF)上88%的水鳥種群的數目減少,有些品種的減少速度甚至超越任何生態系統中的任何物種。因此,我們需要識別並保育EAAF上的重要濕地,令它們繼續成為遷徙水鳥的踏腳石,維持遷飛路線及米埔的生態功能。

世界自然基金會香港分會將繼續識別遷飛路線上的重要濕地,並培訓相關人員改善濕地管理。

我們積極參與「亞洲遷飛路線保育行動」,在保育米埔之餘,令香港亦能為遷飛路線的保育作出貢獻。
 

濕地管理培訓

了解更多
© WWF-Hong Kong