Clam gauge | WWF Hong Kong

Clam gauge



Unregulated clam-harvesting can lead to overexploitation of marine resources. Clams that are big enough to spawn are frequently being taken away in large numbers, leaving the remaining clams with limited potential to reproduce and supply new clams. Likewise when small clams that have yet to reach maturity are harvested, there will be no clams left to grow and reproduce. Targeted clams will drop in numbers drastically, eventually leading to changes in community structure and a clash in clam diversity1

Based on data from citizen science surveys and research findings, WWF has formulated clam gauges to serve as reference for the public. As an interim measure before clam-digging activity is officially managed, WWF recommends that clam diggers not collect clams  smaller than the clam gauge. Give clams a chance to reproduce and let the small ones grow!

Principles behind clam gauge design
  1. Based on literature reviews to understand the relationship between sizes and maturity for different clam species; the suggested clam gauge size is the size of over half of the individuals of that species deemed mature
  2. Takes reference from the statutory minimum size of catches of the same species in other regions
  3. Based on a comparison of data obtained from WWF citizen science ecological surveys, to ensure the designated sizes on the clam gauges are applicable to local shores
  4. In the long term, clam gauges will be reviewed regularly to accommodate for any changes in the status of the local clam community.
Take the most commonly harvested clam species at Shui Hau decades ago, the Asiatic hard clam (Meretrix spp.) as an example. The largest clam collected by villagers 20 years ago would reach 130 mm in shell length, and weighed as much as a papaya. Clams nowadays, however are becoming fewer and smaller in size, very likely due to unregulated clam-digging activity.
 
WWF has designated a minimum size for capture to be 4 cm. The size chosen covers a wide range of Asiatic hard clam species found in Asia, with reference to WWF’s citizen science surveys.


 
For the four other clam species below, WWF has designated the minimum size for capture to be 30 mm (or 3 cm). This can be applied to other clam-digging hotspots other than Shui Hau.
To manage clam resources, overseas regulatory authorities have implemented fishery plans to control clamming activity. Measures include annual population surveys, exploitation plan, monitoring and control2. Exploitation plans include a permit system limiting the harvest season, zoning, number of people, gear and catch, such as the clam quota and size3.
1Gaspar, M.B.; Barracha, I.; Carvalho, S.; Vasconcelos, P. Clam Fisheries Worldwide: Main Species, Harvesting Methods and Fishing Impacts. In Clam Fisheries and Aquaculture; Da Costa González, F., Ed.; Nova Science Publishers: Hauppauge, NY, USA, 2013; pp. 291–327.

2Gaspar, M.B.; Barracha, I.; Carvalho, S.; Vasconcelos, P. Clam Fisheries Worldwide: Main Species, Harvesting Methods and Fishing Impacts. In Clam Fisheries and Aquaculture; Da Costa González, F., Ed.; Nova Science Publishers: Hauppauge, NY, USA, 2013; pp. 291–327.

3Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Government of Canada. Notice to recreational fishermen.
http://www.glf.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/Gulf/FAM/Recreational-Fisheries/New-Conservation-Measures-Clams accessed: June 2018

蜆類保育尺 | WWF Hong Kong

蜆類保育尺



不受規管的掘蜆活動會導致海洋資源過度開發,體型大至可繁殖的蜆隻經常被大量掘走,剩餘在泥灘的蜆類繁殖力有限,減少繁衍機會。若然還未長至成熟的細小蜆隻亦同時被帶走,泥灘便沒有足夠蜆隻繼續成長以繁衍後代。經常成為採集目標的蜆隻品種和數量更會持續減少,影響種群結構,最終導致泥灘蜆類多樣性下降1

本會以公民科學生態調查數據和文獻回顧為基礎,製作了蜆類保育尺,給予公眾作為參考,作為此活動受正式規管前的保育措施。若掘蜆人士收集的蜆隻長度未及所制定的測量圈直徑,建議將該蜆隻放回原處,讓細小蜆隻有機會繼續成長及繁殖!


蜆類保育尺設計原則

  1. 進行文獻回顧,了解各蜆類品種的體形與生理成熟之間的關係;保育尺所建議的尺寸,乃為過半該品種蜆隻測定為生理成熟的尺寸
  2. 參考其他地區為同一品種法定的最小收採尺寸
  3. 比對本會公民科學生態調查數據,以確定保育尺建議尺寸適用於本港泥灘
  4. 長遠而言,蜆類保育尺會作定期更新,確保切合該品種的實際存護情況
例子:
文蛤 (Meretrix spp.)﹝又稱沙白﹞是數十年來水口灣最常被採集的品種。二十年前,當地村民掘到最大的文蛤外殼長達130毫米,重量可跟一個木瓜相比。然而現時掘到的蜆隻不單數量漸減,體形也愈來愈小。原因之一,相信與掘蜆活動未受規管有關。 

本會建議文蛤應至少達40毫米(相等於4厘米)長方可被採集。這個尺寸標準根據亞洲廣泛分佈的文蛤品種調查,再配合本會的公民科學生態調查歸納得出。
以下四款蜆類,本會則建議其體形至少長大至30毫米(相等於3厘米)方可被採集。此建議適用於水口及香港其他掘蜆熱點。
為妥善管理海岸資源,其他地區的政府部門會採取一些漁業措施以管制掘蜆活動,例如進行季度蜆類數目調查、採捕計劃、監測及漁業控制2。採捕計劃可以包括推出許可證制度,限制掘蜆的季節、區域、掘蜆人數、工具及收獲,例如指定蜆類的數目和尺寸3

1Gaspar, M.B.; Barracha, I.; Carvalho, S.; Vasconcelos, P. Clam Fisheries Worldwide: Main Species, Harvesting Methods and Fishing Impacts. In Clam Fisheries and Aquaculture; Da Costa González, F., Ed.; Nova Science Publishers: Hauppauge, NY, USA, 2013; pp. 291–327.
 

2Gaspar, M.B.; Barracha, I.; Carvalho, S.; Vasconcelos, P. Clam Fisheries Worldwide: Main Species, Harvesting Methods and Fishing Impacts. In Clam Fisheries and Aquaculture; Da Costa González, F., Ed.; Nova Science Publishers: Hauppauge, NY, USA, 2013; pp. 291–327.


3Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Government of Canada. Notice to recreational fishermen.
http://www.glf.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/Gulf/FAM/Recreational-Fisheries/New-Conservation-Measures-Clams accessed: June 2018